$142 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

3 stars
View map of 343 West 39th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lajari
Business
Minneapolis, Mn.
Dec 16, 2010

Holiday Inn Express - Times Square

Friendly & helpful staff; good breakfast buffet; good location; clean room - small but we didn't spend that much time in the room;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping and sightseeing were close by. We walked to Macy's, walked to the theatre, Rockefeller Center, Times Square, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport, RI
Dec 1, 2009

Holiday Inn Express W39th St NYC

Excellent hotel - rooms a little small but adequate for our needs. Location good -just 4 blocks from Penn Station. Breakfast good but crowded - it was TGiving weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikeCPI
Business
Green Bay, WI
Jan 3, 2011

Nice compliment to New Year's Eve trip

When my work demands meant we had to shorten our annual New Year's trip to New York City, we selected the Holiday Inn Express after our regular hotel choice expected a minimum three night stay over New Year's Eve. The hotel is just a few blocks off Times Square - essential for our plans. The room was small but very efficiently designed and the view was far from spectacular - but who spends time gazing out the window when all the sights and sounds of the Big Apple await? A big screen HDTV with several channels of HBO as well as basic cable meant you had plenty to watch. Both the wired and wifi Internet access came with the room. There also was a cool LED computer light on the desk that we used to double as a night light. The bath products were nice. I loved the cinnamon shampoo. The bath fixtures were new and the shower had several flow options. Warm water was quick to come even during the morning rush. The hair dryer worked well. The king sized bed with pilow top mattress was very comfortable. The bed also came with a light bedspread to cover up for a quick nap if needed. Two choices of pillows were on the bed with the linens identifying soft and firm. Also important, the room temperature stayed consistent. There was room to hang and store clothing but only one luggage stand. One of the clothing drawers woul not stay shut completely, a minor inconvenience. Room service was quick and efficient. Our requested extra towels showed up in less than 15 minutes. The complimentary breakfast buffet served daily from 7-10 AM was a pleasant surprise. The menu was extensive, offering bacon, mini omlets, sausage, fresh brewed coffee, biscuits, bagels, muffins, cinnamon rolls, juice, fruit, yogurt, cereal and more. Several staff kept the dining area spotless and the buffest well stocked. The hotel offered a basic concierge service. The elevators were zippy and very responsive - just avoid taking them around check out time as they only hold about six people comfortably. Overall we had a very pleasant stay and we've added this Holiday Inn Express to our list of options the next time we visit the Big Apple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fl
Nov 30, 2009

great hotel

it was great, small halls to get to breakfast and elevator, but manageable would stay again, nice staff, good service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

get the car service to airport...Song, [...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Dakota
Jul 24, 2010

Good value - for New York

Very friendly and helpful front desk. Hotel in a convenient location. Breakfast was good but would have preferred a 6am start time. Compared to other Manhattan Hotels, the price was right. Would certainly recommend to anybody on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Attended "Memphis" on Broadway. Excellent show!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, North Carolina
Nov 29, 2009

Wonderful staff, great hotel.

Hotel is convenient to Macy's parade, Times Square, and 34th Street shopping. Walking anywhere is easy! Staff is VERY accommodating and helpful, especially the concierge, offered help with theatre tickets and any other NYC attractions. Rooms are small but comfortable and well equipped---nice towels. Great to have business center to print boarding passes. We had a fabulous stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Let the hotel get you a car to the airport. By the time you pay a taxi driver, who may or may not take you the "long way", the valet can get a car for you that is reserved at a reasonable price. Especially good for early morning flights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. Terraca
Business
Tennessee
Jun 18, 2014

Vacation

The view was beautiful on the 36th floor. The room in small and the bathroom. However, when in NewYork the room us for sleeping. The people were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Room too small for kids. Tour on the hop and hop off buses.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous99
Business
Boston
Jul 11, 2014

weekend getaway

The location is perfect with restaurants and stores within walking distance. Elevators could get hold you sometimes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Low Rider 63
Business
Worcester, MA
Aug 7, 2014

Holiday Inn Times Square

The hotel was located two blocks from Times Square, and the area was fairly quiet by comparison. The rooms were immaculate, the food served for breakfast in the morning was hot and delicious, and the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The only downside was the elevator availability. It seems there are only two elevators to accommodate 35+ floors of hotel rooms, which created a bottleneck problem every morning and long waits to get an elevator. Other than that, everything was wonderful, and we would definitely stay at this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carol C.
Business
N/A
Dec 31, 2014

last minute stay

I was in town visiting for the day but decided last minute to stay. I looked at a few other hotels and this one seemed the best. Im glad I stayed here. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean. They use bath and body works products, which is nice and the bed was very comfortable. I would definitely go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top