$229 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

3 stars
View map of 343 West 39th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
140 reviews
best experience

i would come back to this hotel and this hotel only in times square. very affordable for what you get! See full review

  • sm
  • Apr 12, 2015
Nice location

Great location to walk to times square. Conveniently located near the subway. See full review

  • Akki
  • Jan 15, 2015

This Midtown hotel in the Fashion District is near Times Square, the Theater District and the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. The high-rise hotel has a comfortable lobby with large seating area. It also provides key amenities such as free breakfast, free Internet and fitness and business centers.

Location

Famous Broadway shows are nearby. Times Square is a few blocks from the hotel. Travelers will find a huge concentration of bars, restaurants and shops, including some unique experiential stores, such as the Toys "R" Us with a Ferris wheel inside. The hotel is in the Garment District, the center of the fashion industry in New York. Find stores with large amounts of fabrics, buttons and other sewing necessities in the surrounding streets. Major designers like Calvin Klein and Vera Wang have offices or showrooms in the neighborhood.

Rooms

The 210 rooms at the Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square have either one king bed or two double beds. The decor is basic. Expect rooms with light-colored walls, white bedding and light-colored wood furniture. Guest rooms have free high-speed Internet access, 32-inch flat-screen TVs, coffee makers and irons and ironing boards.

Property features

The hotel offers concierge services and complimentary continental breakfast. Guests have complimentary access to the hotel fitness center and business center.

Highlights
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Located about three blocks from Times Square and the convention center
Nearby attractions
  • Times Square (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Theater District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (0.6 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.6 mi/ 0.8 km)
Transportation
  • Penn Station
  • La Guardia Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
  • Newark International Airport
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 42nd Street - Port Authority

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE also booked these hotels.

★★★
$152
4.4 / 5 284 reviews
★★★★
$118
4.3 / 5 218 reviews
★★★
$130
3.7 / 5 186 reviews
★★★★
$134
3.7 / 5 187 reviews
★★★
$139
4.1 / 5 139 reviews
★★★
$114
3.6 / 5 1,363 reviews
★★
$139
3.6 / 5 103 reviews
★★★★
$143
4.2 / 5 390 reviews

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi

Dining

Tir Na Nog
Tir Na Nog is the closest off site restaurant, just a few doors down from the hotel. Serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, with happy hour and bar specials.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
love2bfree
Single
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Great service, Great Everything

Lets start off with the service.... The service was great. Everyone was very friendly. On our way back to the airport they offered their transportation which was very flexible and convenient. They looked after our bags before and after checkout. Breakfast was good, hotel was clean.. It was just a perfect stay and we will continue booking at this location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EELIE
Couples
Pittsfield
Jan 20, 2014

Good Value

Good Value & Customer service. Convenient location and friendly staff clean room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Heidi2014
Friends
MA
Feb 2, 2014

Superbowl weekend

I was very impressed with this hotel. The price was great, staff was friendly and the room was clean. Furthermore we arrived 4 hours prior to check and were immediately given a room. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mkstylist6
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 12, 2014

Great location

Excellent location with a great staff and good continental breakfast! Would definitely book here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tur na nog was a great Irish bar/resteraunt. Excellent food and just a couple steps from the hotel

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AskYvonneC
Family
Silver Spring, Maryland
Mar 17, 2014

Very nice hotel with excellent and friendly staff!

Great location, nice clean rooms, well kept hotel. All staff is courteous and friendly while professional!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AskYvonneC
Family
Silver Spring, Maryland
Mar 27, 2014

Great time

Friendly and professional staff, hotel rooms are very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paul N
Couples
Frederick, MD, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Excellent Couples Weekend

Wonderful hotel! My wife and I are both flight crews, so we stay in hotels 2 to 3 nights a week. This was the cleanest hotel we have stayed in! (And yes, we stay in the more upscale hotels as well as the lower end chains.) The room was small, but perfect for a couple, and not any smaller than most other NYC hotel rooms. The staff was wonderful. Free hot breakfast, free internet. Convenient to Penn Station and Times Square. Would highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kenny Cool
Family
Manchester UK
May 8, 2012

Great

A great Hotel in a fantastic location and nothing was every too much trobule for the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mommy of Five
Couples
Leander, Texas
Dec 5, 2012

GREAT Hotel Experience!

Our vacation in NY was for a 4 day stay and we could not have picked a better location than Holiday Inn Express! Extremely clean room/lobby, Outstanding Customer Service, Very attentive service by all staff, Prompt Check-In/Check-Out, and last but definitely not least....Great Breakfast! We enjoyed our stay at Holiday Inn Times Square and would recommend it and also stay again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joey Dixon
Couples
Columbus, Ohio
May 1, 2013

Best hotel in NYC!

We have been to NYC a couple times and stayed in 3 different hotels. We loved this hotel! The free breakfast, the staff, the rooms, and the location! We loved it. The only complaint we have is the elevators. 6 rooms on a floor, 30 some floors. It's a little wait to get the elevator but that is no big deal. Jaime was excellent. He even remember our names the next day, just from our 2 minute check in the day before! He helped us find the nearest Dunkin Donuts, we loved the staff! The location is a little walk from Times Square but nothing bad! For the price walking a few blocks to get there is nothing. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This is a great hotel for the price. We try to save money where we can and this was the best deal we found! And the nicest hotel. We have tried other hotels around this price and REGRET staying there. Holiday Inn is the best hotel for your money.

Back to menu Return to top