$131 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

3 stars
View map of 343 West 39th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
177 out of 177
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mommy of Five
Leander, Texas
Dec 5, 2012

GREAT Hotel Experience!

Our vacation in NY was for a 4 day stay and we could not have picked a better location than Holiday Inn Express! Extremely clean room/lobby, Outstanding Customer Service, Very attentive service by all staff, Prompt Check-In/Check-Out, and last but definitely not least....Great Breakfast! We enjoyed our stay at Holiday Inn Times Square and would recommend it and also stay again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Devo K
Business
Paducah Ky
Apr 18, 2011

Nice hotel

My mother and I stayed here last week during our vacation. The hotel was very clean. Great locations, just a few blocks from times square. Hotel rooms are really small but that is typical for NYC... I enjoyed the staff and breakfast. I will stay here again. Thank you Holiday Inn [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Apr 13, 2011

Great hotel

Great place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia
Mar 22, 2011

Not so OK Stay

Greeted by cardboard floors and caution tape blocking access to the front desk. They were laying tile. I was able to check in right away, and the staff was nice. One elevator was out of order, and the other took a VERY long time. Rooms were clean. We were woken up at 8:20 am by house keeping. They announced themselves and I said no, but they still tried to come in. I went to the door and said no. Another person came to the door at 10am and asked when house keeping could come. I asked,"When is check out?" He said 11. I said that's is when they can come back. My friends in the next room didn't get to say no to house keeping. House keeping walked in on them. I told this to the desk at checkout. They said they would follow up with house keeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ithaca, NY
Feb 27, 2011

Unprofessional staff, BAD maintenance

Staff was unprofessional. Lady at check-in was chewing gum like a cow. The staff were just joking around with each other and carrying on conversations, unaware that they were at a workplace. The elevator floor had cracks. I asked for complimentary toiletries that I had forgotten, which took 45 minutes to arrive to my room. At night, someone rang our room doorbell (which is obnoxiously loud and gives off bright white flashes in the room), and when I went to check, there was no one there. Good price. Good location. Horrible staff and maintenance of the building. Would not recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Time Square is nearby. Lots of fun things to do.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kslay
Business
Allentown, Pa
Jan 9, 2011

Pleasant Stay

Saw Broadway shows, and shopped. Needed a room bad, and [...]saved the day. [...], the clerk was phenomenal and he upgraded my room. Being cold and tired....this room was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The TKTS booth at Times Square for half price tickets on Broadway shows

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 6, 2011

New York 12/22/2010-01/04/2011

The hotel was small, but it was worth it because the hotel was so cheap. the staff was friendly and helpful. they had breakfast, but honestly, the food wasn't that good, but I guess you can't complain since it was free. The location is what made this hotel so great. it is just outside of times square, and about a block away from the nearest subway. it was also close to many resturants and bars. We also took the subway to and from the airport, and it saved us $100. Also, it got very cold that sometimes we didn't want to go out, and it was really easy to find local places that would deliver food to us. I recommend the pomodoro italian restaurant and also go go curry, japanese curry. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Holmen, WI
Jan 5, 2011

Great place!

This Hotel was greaat and the staff was supper helpful. Very quiet and close to everything we wanted to see!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Ask the front desk staff for recommendations! They are from the area and know whats good!!

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Little Rock, AR
Jan 3, 2011

Holiday Inn Express Times Square

The overall experience was fine. Friendly, helpful front-desk staff and very efficient check-in, check-out process. Concerns or needs were quickly addressed and concierge steered us to a very good restaurant upon request. Good bed/linens, etc. Only negatives were that our room never got any attention at all, although it was clean to begin with. We were notified that cleaning service would be minimized on Saturday (New Years Day) but no one ever even emptied the trash the whole weekend. We had to ask for clean towels and more coffee packets. But this could have been just because the cleaning staff was short for the holiday. Overall it's a good, economical place to stay to be near the heart of New York city. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good food in Hell's Kitchen area and better priced than Times Square - hotel concierge recommended a great little Italian place call the Trattoria on 39th St right around the corner from the hotel. Food was excellent and they make a delicious homemade Sangria. We ate there two nights in a row.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikeCPI
Business
Green Bay, WI
Jan 3, 2011

Nice compliment to New Year's Eve trip

When my work demands meant we had to shorten our annual New Year's trip to New York City, we selected the Holiday Inn Express after our regular hotel choice expected a minimum three night stay over New Year's Eve. The hotel is just a few blocks off Times Square - essential for our plans. The room was small but very efficiently designed and the view was far from spectacular - but who spends time gazing out the window when all the sights and sounds of the Big Apple await? A big screen HDTV with several channels of HBO as well as basic cable meant you had plenty to watch. Both the wired and wifi Internet access came with the room. There also was a cool LED computer light on the desk that we used to double as a night light. The bath products were nice. I loved the cinnamon shampoo. The bath fixtures were new and the shower had several flow options. Warm water was quick to come even during the morning rush. The hair dryer worked well. The king sized bed with pilow top mattress was very comfortable. The bed also came with a light bedspread to cover up for a quick nap if needed. Two choices of pillows were on the bed with the linens identifying soft and firm. Also important, the room temperature stayed consistent. There was room to hang and store clothing but only one luggage stand. One of the clothing drawers woul not stay shut completely, a minor inconvenience. Room service was quick and efficient. Our requested extra towels showed up in less than 15 minutes. The complimentary breakfast buffet served daily from 7-10 AM was a pleasant surprise. The menu was extensive, offering bacon, mini omlets, sausage, fresh brewed coffee, biscuits, bagels, muffins, cinnamon rolls, juice, fruit, yogurt, cereal and more. Several staff kept the dining area spotless and the buffest well stocked. The hotel offered a basic concierge service. The elevators were zippy and very responsive - just avoid taking them around check out time as they only hold about six people comfortably. Overall we had a very pleasant stay and we've added this Holiday Inn Express to our list of options the next time we visit the Big Apple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Two Seniors
Business
Texas and Maine
Dec 26, 2010

Great Price, Great Location, Very Clean!

A very friendly place! The location was great and within walking distance of many, many attractions, shops, and eateries! Rooms are smallish but very clean, comfortable and very affordable! Breakfast was a real PLUS! A very nice variety of hot & cold cereals, healthy fresh fruit, protein (boiled eggs, omelets, sausage) and sweet treats (muffins, sweet rolls, breads)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

A great convenient breakfast to start the day!!

Back to menu Return to top