Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

3 stars
343 WEST 39TH STREET, NEW YORK CITY, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
224 reviews
Great hotel

Great location . Close to Times Square . Awesome breakfast as well See full review

  • Slim goodie
  • Jun 4, 2014
Great time

Friendly and professional staff, hotel rooms are very clean. See full review

  • AskYvonneC
  • Mar 27, 2014
Free breakfast, Internet near Times Square and convention center

This Midtown hotel in the Fashion District is near Times Square, the Theater District and the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. The high-rise hotel has a comfortable lobby with large seating area. It also provides key amenities such as free breakfast, free Internet and fitness and business centers.

Highlights
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Located about three blocks from Times Square and the convention center
Location

Famous Broadway shows are nearby. Times Square is a few blocks from the hotel. Travelers will find a huge concentration of bars, restaurants and shops, including some unique experiential stores, such as the Toys "R" Us with a Ferris wheel inside. The hotel is in the Garment District, the center of the fashion industry in New York. Find stores with large amounts of fabrics, buttons and other sewing necessities in the surrounding streets. Major designers like Calvin Klein and Vera Wang have offices or showrooms in the neighborhood.

Rooms

The 210 rooms at the Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square have either one king bed or two double beds. The decor is basic. Expect rooms with light-colored walls, white bedding and light-colored wood furniture. Guest rooms have free high-speed Internet access, 32-inch flat-screen TVs, coffee makers and irons and ironing boards.

Features

The hotel offers concierge services and complimentary continental breakfast. Guests have complimentary access to the hotel fitness center and business center.

Transportation
  • Penn Station
  • La Guardia Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
  • Newark International Airport
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 42nd Street - Port Authority
Attractions
  • Times Square (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Theater District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (0.6 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.6 mi/ 0.8 km)

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Map

40.7563 -73.9931
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 8.65, MI, E; John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.00, MI, NW; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 17.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (224)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
philadelphia
Mar 22, 2011

Not so OK Stay

Greeted by cardboard floors and caution tape blocking access to the front desk. They were laying tile. I was able to check in right away, and the staff was nice. One elevator was out of order, and the other took a VERY long time. Rooms were clean. We were woken up at 8:20 am by house keeping. They announced themselves and I said no, but they still tried to come in. I went to the door and said no. Another person came to the door at 10am and asked when house keeping could come. I asked,"When is check out?" He said 11. I said that's is when they can come back. My friends in the next room didn't get to say no to house keeping. House keeping walked in on them. I told this to the desk at checkout. They said they would follow up with house keeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ithaca, NY
Feb 27, 2011

Unprofessional staff, BAD maintenance

Staff was unprofessional. Lady at check-in was chewing gum like a cow. The staff were just joking around with each other and carrying on conversations, unaware that they were at a workplace. The elevator floor had cracks. I asked for complimentary toiletries that I had forgotten, which took 45 minutes to arrive to my room. At night, someone rang our room doorbell (which is obnoxiously loud and gives off bright white flashes in the room), and when I went to check, there was no one there. Good price. Good location. Horrible staff and maintenance of the building. Would not recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Time Square is nearby. Lots of fun things to do.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ithaca, NY
Feb 27, 2011

Unprofessional staff, BAD maintenance

Staff was unprofessional. Lady at check-in was chewing gum like a cow. The staff were just joking around with each other and carrying on conversations, unaware that they were at a workplace. The elevator floor had cracks. I asked for complimentary toiletries that I had forgotten, which took 45 minutes to arrive to my room. At night, someone rang our room doorbell (which is obnoxiously loud and gives off bright white flashes in the room), and when I went to check, there was no one there. Good price. Good location. Horrible staff and maintenance of the building. Would not recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Time Square is nearby. Lots of fun things to do.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kslay
Allentown, Pa
Jan 9, 2011

Pleasant Stay

Saw Broadway shows, and shopped. Needed a room bad, and [...]saved the day. [...], the clerk was phenomenal and he upgraded my room. Being cold and tired....this room was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The TKTS booth at Times Square for half price tickets on Broadway shows

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kslay
Allentown, Pa
Jan 9, 2011

Pleasant Stay

Saw Broadway shows, and shopped. Needed a room bad, and [...]saved the day. [...], the clerk was phenomenal and he upgraded my room. Being cold and tired....this room was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The TKTS booth at Times Square for half price tickets on Broadway shows

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 6, 2011

New York 12/22/2010-01/04/2011

The hotel was small, but it was worth it because the hotel was so cheap. the staff was friendly and helpful. they had breakfast, but honestly, the food wasn't that good, but I guess you can't complain since it was free. The location is what made this hotel so great. it is just outside of times square, and about a block away from the nearest subway. it was also close to many resturants and bars. We also took the subway to and from the airport, and it saved us $100. Also, it got very cold that sometimes we didn't want to go out, and it was really easy to find local places that would deliver food to us. I recommend the pomodoro italian restaurant and also go go curry, japanese curry. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 6, 2011

New York 12/22/2010-01/04/2011

The hotel was small, but it was worth it because the hotel was so cheap. the staff was friendly and helpful. they had breakfast, but honestly, the food wasn't that good, but I guess you can't complain since it was free. The location is what made this hotel so great. it is just outside of times square, and about a block away from the nearest subway. it was also close to many resturants and bars. We also took the subway to and from the airport, and it saved us $100. Also, it got very cold that sometimes we didn't want to go out, and it was really easy to find local places that would deliver food to us. I recommend the pomodoro italian restaurant and also go go curry, japanese curry. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Holmen, WI
Jan 5, 2011

Great place!

This Hotel was greaat and the staff was supper helpful. Very quiet and close to everything we wanted to see!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Ask the front desk staff for recommendations! They are from the area and know whats good!!

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Holmen, WI
Jan 5, 2011

Great place!

This Hotel was greaat and the staff was supper helpful. Very quiet and close to everything we wanted to see!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Ask the front desk staff for recommendations! They are from the area and know whats good!!

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikeCPI
Green Bay, WI
Jan 3, 2011

Nice compliment to New Year's Eve trip

When my work demands meant we had to shorten our annual New Year's trip to New York City, we selected the Holiday Inn Express after our regular hotel choice expected a minimum three night stay over New Year's Eve. The hotel is just a few blocks off Times Square - essential for our plans. The room was small but very efficiently designed and the view was far from spectacular - but who spends time gazing out the window when all the sights and sounds of the Big Apple await? A big screen HDTV with several channels of HBO as well as basic cable meant you had plenty to watch. Both the wired and wifi Internet access came with the room. There also was a cool LED computer light on the desk that we used to double as a night light. The bath products were nice. I loved the cinnamon shampoo. The bath fixtures were new and the shower had several flow options. Warm water was quick to come even during the morning rush. The hair dryer worked well. The king sized bed with pilow top mattress was very comfortable. The bed also came with a light bedspread to cover up for a quick nap if needed. Two choices of pillows were on the bed with the linens identifying soft and firm. Also important, the room temperature stayed consistent. There was room to hang and store clothing but only one luggage stand. One of the clothing drawers woul not stay shut completely, a minor inconvenience. Room service was quick and efficient. Our requested extra towels showed up in less than 15 minutes. The complimentary breakfast buffet served daily from 7-10 AM was a pleasant surprise. The menu was extensive, offering bacon, mini omlets, sausage, fresh brewed coffee, biscuits, bagels, muffins, cinnamon rolls, juice, fruit, yogurt, cereal and more. Several staff kept the dining area spotless and the buffest well stocked. The hotel offered a basic concierge service. The elevators were zippy and very responsive - just avoid taking them around check out time as they only hold about six people comfortably. Overall we had a very pleasant stay and we've added this Holiday Inn Express to our list of options the next time we visit the Big Apple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top