$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

3 stars
View map of 343 West 39th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OnyaC
Business
Canada
Apr 4, 2012

Good Value for the family

From the minute you walk in the door the friendly staff are waiting to help you enjoy your stay and ensure that you have everything you need. Although the lobby isn't large it is well appointed, the Concierge is friendly and helpful and all of this with breakfast included is a great value. Free WIFI service is also provided, the rooms are very clean and the beds and pillows are so comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Nizza's. Just around the corner on 9th Avenue. They cater to food allergies and the food tastes great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Egb2
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 3, 2012

Great Value for Weekend Trip

The hotel was a great value for our last minute weekend trip. The complimentary breakfast added to the exceptional value. Our main destination (Madison Square Garden) was in walking distance. Just far enough away to let us pass several stores, and get a taste of shopping. The room was clean, and the staff friendly, and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPS and SGF
Business
Charleston, SC
Feb 16, 2012

Honeymoon

Great value for what you get. Enjoyed the free American breakfast although go earlier than later to avoid waiting for a seat. Only negative thing was there are only two elevators (no express) for a hotel with 36 floors. Be prepared to wait for a lift. Rooms are small but comfortable (you are in NYC). Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indian Joe
Business
SC
Feb 7, 2012

Performance by friend's son at Carnegie Hall

everything was fine. Staff was very helpful. The breakfast had a very good choice. Just needs to add a little more fruit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BNolan
Business
Summerfield, NC, USA
Jan 17, 2012

to NYC to family wedding

Definitely adequate for what we needed. Clean, nicely furnished. Great location with easy access to most of the attractions. Great value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ladyprofessor
Business
south carolina
Jan 9, 2012

good location

The staff was great; rooms small but clean.quiet, free wifi, they need to upgrade the TV offerings. Please include MSNBC! overall very positive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You will be close to the subway, Times Square, theaters and to good shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paul N
Business
Frederick, MD, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Excellent Couples Weekend

Wonderful hotel! My wife and I are both flight crews, so we stay in hotels 2 to 3 nights a week. This was the cleanest hotel we have stayed in! (And yes, we stay in the more upscale hotels as well as the lower end chains.) The room was small, but perfect for a couple, and not any smaller than most other NYC hotel rooms. The staff was wonderful. Free hot breakfast, free internet. Convenient to Penn Station and Times Square. Would highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYCVisitor0001
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Dec 12, 2011

NYC getaway

We went to NYC for a little getaway during the Christmas season. We wanted to stay at a hotel that was near all the popular spots and was reasonable in price. We couldn't have done any better than Holiday Inn Express. The location was perfect and the staff was wonderful. They were always pleasant and helpful (even during this busy time of year). Gave us great recommendations for restaurants. Always cheerful and polite when we asked them to hold our luggage while we went exploring the city (before check-in time and after we checked-out). I highly recommend them if you are looking for a reasonably priced place to stay while visiting NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Explorer123
Business
Dhahran Saudi Arabia
Nov 28, 2011

Ideal Hotel close to Times Square

This was my third stay at this hotel during last 18 months and one of the reason choosing this hotel is its location as it is walkable distance to Tmes square, Macy's, Fifth Avenue & other attractions. The hotel itself is pricey due to its proximity to Times Square and the rooms are quite small but neat and clean. However it offers complimentary breakfast and also Coffee during evening hours. It also has concierge so that one can keep their luggage if arriving early and if deaprting late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping at Macy's Departmental store which is to be the largest in the world, especially when discounts are being offered. Visitors from outside US can get Visitor Discount Card (10% off) thru Visitor Center located on first floor

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pizno
Business
Brea, CA
Nov 16, 2011

Clean rooms, great breakfast, helpful staff, good location

This hotel is located about 3 blocks south and 2 blocks west of Times Square/Broadway area. Its close, but not so close that all the action drives you crazy. Lobby is neat and clean with two computers for Guest use, including printing boarding passes. Morning time has the best breakfast which will save you a ton of money rather than running around trying to find something to eat each day before you head out. Rooms are small, but good sized for NYC (from what I've read, never stayed in NYC before this). Very clean, sheets and blankets were clean, bath was kept clean. Not much in the way of views from any angle. Only two elevators in this hotel. We stayed on the 16th floor and had to wait 10 minutes for an elevator in the morning to go down and get breakfast, but going up isnt an issue. Complimentary cookies in the evening was a nice touch. Hotel will hold your luggage after you check out and walk about the town. We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel, would recommend it to others and would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hells Kitchen area is around the corner, lots of great eats! NYC food is expensive! No meal for 2 under $50 here! Try the Italian place across the street from this hotel, its amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top