$142 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

3 stars
343 WEST 39TH STREET, NEW YORK CITY, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
223 reviews
Great hotel

Great location . Close to Times Square . Awesome breakfast as well See full review

  • Slim goodie
  • Jun 4, 2014
Great time

Friendly and professional staff, hotel rooms are very clean. See full review

  • AskYvonneC
  • Mar 27, 2014
Free breakfast, Internet near Times Square and convention center

This Midtown hotel in the Fashion District is near Times Square, the Theater District and the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. The high-rise hotel has a comfortable lobby with large seating area. It also provides key amenities such as free breakfast, free Internet and fitness and business centers.

Highlights
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Located about three blocks from Times Square and the convention center
Location

Famous Broadway shows are nearby. Times Square is a few blocks from the hotel. Travelers will find a huge concentration of bars, restaurants and shops, including some unique experiential stores, such as the Toys "R" Us with a Ferris wheel inside. The hotel is in the Garment District, the center of the fashion industry in New York. Find stores with large amounts of fabrics, buttons and other sewing necessities in the surrounding streets. Major designers like Calvin Klein and Vera Wang have offices or showrooms in the neighborhood.

Rooms

The 210 rooms at the Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square have either one king bed or two double beds. The decor is basic. Expect rooms with light-colored walls, white bedding and light-colored wood furniture. Guest rooms have free high-speed Internet access, 32-inch flat-screen TVs, coffee makers and irons and ironing boards.

Features

The hotel offers concierge services and complimentary continental breakfast. Guests have complimentary access to the hotel fitness center and business center.

Transportation
  • Penn Station
  • La Guardia Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
  • Newark International Airport
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 42nd Street - Port Authority
Attractions
  • Times Square (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Theater District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (0.6 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.6 mi/ 0.8 km)

Hotel Map

40.7563 -73.9931
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 8.65, MI, E; John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.00, MI, NW; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 17.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (223)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
223 out of 223
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joey Dixon
Columbus, Ohio
May 1, 2013

Best hotel in NYC!

We have been to NYC a couple times and stayed in 3 different hotels. We loved this hotel! The free breakfast, the staff, the rooms, and the location! We loved it. The only complaint we have is the elevators. 6 rooms on a floor, 30 some floors. It's a little wait to get the elevator but that is no big deal. Jaime was excellent. He even remember our names the next day, just from our 2 minute check in the day before! He helped us find the nearest Dunkin Donuts, we loved the staff! The location is a little walk from Times Square but nothing bad! For the price walking a few blocks to get there is nothing. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This is a great hotel for the price. We try to save money where we can and this was the best deal we found! And the nicest hotel. We have tried other hotels around this price and REGRET staying there. Holiday Inn is the best hotel for your money.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Briona
Business
columbia, sc
Apr 22, 2013

Excellent stafg

This hotel has a perfect location in the heart of times square. Easy access to the javitt center and great food. Above all, the staff is helpful, kind and fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food carts!Though the restaurants are great, but the food carts are where its at.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eidu
New York
Mar 11, 2013

It was good

1-Great location, almost three blocks away from Time square. 2- Free breakfast was good. 3- No free parking, and u are not allowed to park your car in front the hotel more than three hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDelmar
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Feb 26, 2013

Perfect for quick NY visit!

Location is perfect; very close to Bus/Subway stations and to places of interest. Hotel cleanliness is remarkable. Room is small but perfect for an "express"hotel concept. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philly Lou
Philadelphia
Feb 25, 2013

NYC Event

The location is right in the middle of everything. Jaime at the front desk was the BEST.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Redwood City Dad
Business
Redwood City, CA
Feb 18, 2013

Toy Fair visit - great location

Clean, efficient, reliable as needed and where we needed to be location wise for Javits fair. Great little Italian place across the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daniel paisa
Medellin Colombia
Jan 22, 2013

Very good for the money

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent, close to public transportation, Times Square etc. Breakfast was OK but a bit crowded at certain hours and it may be difficult to get a table. They inform you about that upon arrival. One of the elevators was out of order for a whole day which was a bit of a nuisance. The overall experience was all right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ColdPlate
Grimblethorpe
Jan 3, 2013

Excellent Staff & Value

Good value, clean, Mid-town hotel with very helpful staff. After a mistake by our travel agent the hotel made our 3 rooms adjacent and were always eager to answer questions. The concierge service was useful along with an included buffet breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mommy of Five
Leander, Texas
Dec 5, 2012

GREAT Hotel Experience!

Our vacation in NY was for a 4 day stay and we could not have picked a better location than Holiday Inn Express! Extremely clean room/lobby, Outstanding Customer Service, Very attentive service by all staff, Prompt Check-In/Check-Out, and last but definitely not least....Great Breakfast! We enjoyed our stay at Holiday Inn Times Square and would recommend it and also stay again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loves Roses
Collingswood, NJ
Nov 12, 2012

Girls night out

Stayed with my 2 sisters and 3 adult daughters. Allowed us to leave out bags early in the day before check in then again after we checked out to we could tour somemore without carrying bags. Breakfast was much more than expected for a continental breakfast! Room was no smaller than expected for NYC. Would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Stopped at Tir Na Nog for drinks after dinner. Was too loud to hold a conversation and music was not Irish. Close, but not worth the stop

Back to menu Return to top