$122 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

3 stars
343 West 39th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
160 reviews
Great hotel

Great location . Close to Times Square . Awesome breakfast as well See full review

  • Slim goodie
  • Jun 4, 2014
Great time

Friendly and professional staff, hotel rooms are very clean. See full review

  • AskYvonneC
  • Mar 27, 2014
Free breakfast, Internet near Times Square and convention center

This Midtown hotel in the Fashion District is near Times Square, the Theater District and the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. The high-rise hotel has a comfortable lobby with large seating area. It also provides key amenities such as free breakfast, free Internet and fitness and business centers.

Highlights
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Located about three blocks from Times Square and the convention center
Location

Famous Broadway shows are nearby. Times Square is a few blocks from the hotel. Travelers will find a huge concentration of bars, restaurants and shops, including some unique experiential stores, such as the Toys "R" Us with a Ferris wheel inside. The hotel is in the Garment District, the center of the fashion industry in New York. Find stores with large amounts of fabrics, buttons and other sewing necessities in the surrounding streets. Major designers like Calvin Klein and Vera Wang have offices or showrooms in the neighborhood.

Rooms

The 210 rooms at the Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square have either one king bed or two double beds. The decor is basic. Expect rooms with light-colored walls, white bedding and light-colored wood furniture. Guest rooms have free high-speed Internet access, 32-inch flat-screen TVs, coffee makers and irons and ironing boards.

Features

The hotel offers concierge services and complimentary continental breakfast. Guests have complimentary access to the hotel fitness center and business center.

Transportation
  • Penn Station
  • La Guardia Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
  • Newark International Airport
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 42nd Street - Port Authority
Attractions
  • Times Square (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Theater District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (0.6 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.6 mi/ 0.8 km)

Hotel Map

40.7563 -73.9931
Nearby airports
John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.00, MI; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 17.00, MI; LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 8.65, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (160)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mkstylist6
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 12, 2014

Great location

Excellent location with a great staff and good continental breakfast! Would definitely book here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tur na nog was a great Irish bar/resteraunt. Excellent food and just a couple steps from the hotel

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Heidi2014
MA
Feb 2, 2014

Superbowl weekend

I was very impressed with this hotel. The price was great, staff was friendly and the room was clean. Furthermore we arrived 4 hours prior to check and were immediately given a room. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
huso
boston, ma
Jan 21, 2014

It's a good place to stay

Hotel is close to times sq and port authority 15 min by walking. Staff is nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EELIE
Pittsfield
Jan 20, 2014

Good Value

Good Value & Customer service. Convenient location and friendly staff clean room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Madison WI Mommy
Madison, WI
Jan 5, 2014

Adventure Mommy

I've stayed uptown before, but didn't want to spend that much on a hotel this trip. This hotel was great. We took the Amtrak in and out of the city and this was just blocks away. It was clean and safe. The breakfast during peak time was crazy. But worth the money saved rather than going out. Staff was helpful and nice. It was a nice a place me and my small children... Or for me and my husband on a future trip. Would stay here again. Room was small, but it's NYC!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baltimore Glass Decorator
Business
Baltimore
Dec 14, 2013

work trip

Awesome employees, shower is amazing, clean rooms, great location, normal sized room for new York. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shubug
Florida
Dec 9, 2013

enjoyed

We were very happy with this hotel. The staff was very helpful and the room was very clean. The breakfast was very good. The hotel was a little further away from Times Square than where we stayed two years ago but we got to stay four nights with breakfast this time instead of three with no breakfast. The walk was very interesting and you got to experience New York City on the way to your adventures.I would stay here again if I ever get the chance again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We bought the explorer pass. We should have read the information better on where to redeem your pass better. . We got to the Statue of Liberty ticket window and found out you had to go back somewhere else to get your ticket. My husband was not to happy about that and he paid extra not to have to go redeem the ticket somewhere else.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KY Gurls
Somerset, KY
Dec 9, 2013

No Complaints

After the trip we had into the city, anything would have been welcomed...but this hotel was right off the heart of all that was happening and inviting. Twenty-seven floors up gave us a respite from the noise. The room was clean with no funky stains or smells. The air/heat really worked. Good water pressure in the shower. The room was small, but really serviceable for three women. The view was non-descript. Breakfast was bustling and food was good. We had never been to a hotel that gave you little recyclable food trays so the food could be brought to your room!!! Good move Holiday Inn!! The hotel was tall and narrow but all the space was efficiently used. The in-room safe was handy. If I could express one less than fantastic aspect...the free WiFi was spotty at best - but there are two computers in the lobby if necessary. A plus is that they checked our bags when we checked out and kept them free of charge the whole day!!! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will stay there again if I have the chance. It is too close to everything to pass up!! If I may offer a suggestion....the garbage carts out front are really ugly and detract from the loveliness of the facility. I understand that space is limited...but right outside the front door??? Holiday Inn Express Times Square is a really good hotel. It isn't the Ritz or the Waldorf Astoria and there are no mints on your pillows or golden elevators - but for three traveling girls from KY - you couldn't ask for much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use public transit and learn how to hail a cab. Bring extra money for transportation and DO NOT dine at The American Museum of Natural History....Unless you don't mind spending $25+ per person. Don't set rigid plans because you cannot control traffic or the weather....be flexible.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raquel S
Toronto
Dec 1, 2013

Nice Place to stay

If it weren't for only having two elevators i would rates this place higher. For 36 floors the wait was very long had to plan for that delay, even missed elevators as they were too full. Location was easy for downtown, any taxi knew where it was, room was clean and efficient and very quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Kutshers Tribeca, delicious food and nice ambiance. Jewish american comfort food.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reallyyou need a nickname
Scottsdale, AZ
Nov 7, 2013

Great place

Great location, clean rooms, good service. The only downsides are no fridge and tiny room. I expected the tiny room because of the location so that wasnt to big of a deal. A fridge really would have been awesome though. I would stay here again! oh others complain about the elevators being so slow... Ive experienced much slower elevators in smaller hotels. Oh and the elevators felt safer than other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's tons of small stores on 9th ave for basics like feminine products, snacks, etc. Go there instead of Broadway where they upcharge everything. OH and theres plenty of cheap, tasty pizza in that area!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search