$161 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY FIFTH AVENUE

3 stars
View map of 15 West 45th Street, New York, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY FIFTH AVENUE

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY FIFTH AVENUE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lady lord
Business
York, Maine
Jan 11, 2014

Excellent value in perfect location!

This was the perfect fit for our needs - a quick trip with a friend to see art on 5th Ave, visit relatives in Soho and walk on the High Line. All were easily accessible by public transport from this location, as was Grand Central for our train connections. The room was spotless, beds comfortable and bathroom well-supplied. All facilities were new, attractive and undamaged. The staff was extremely pleasant and accommodating - held luggage on early arrival and day of departure, provided hot breakfast in clean and comfortable dining area, provided directions, answered questions pleasantly and politely. Not a fancy lobby, but for less than $200/night, it was a great value - just what we were looking for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fun food choices on the dining level of Grand Central - Chinese to kosher pastrami, take out or comfortable seating!

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY FIFTH AVENUE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sky tha limit
Business
Brooklyn , ny
Jan 7, 2014

Good vibes

I loved it the staff was very nice made sure I was comfortable ....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY FIFTH AVENUE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ApLeeGrif
Business
Denver, CO
Jan 7, 2014

Within Walking Distance to Major Attractions!

First of all, my husband and I got stranded elsewhere on our way to NYC and the staff was incredibly helpful in changing our reservations. They were very gracious about the whole matter. Upon arrival a bell hop quickly came out to the taxi with a luggage cart to help us into the hotel. The staff quickly got us checked in and off to our room. Secondly, we loved the location! It is within walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, and the Empire State building (although it's a long walk). Since we arrived late we only had one day to explore the city and fit in all our "must sees." It was easy for us, upon arrival, to take a quick jaunt up to Times Square and Rockefeller. We were able to see both of these within two hours. Yes, the rooms are a bit small, but we were just there to sleep so it didn't make too much difference. We had two large suitcases that were difficult to maneuver but we managed. We brought our pug with us. There was no issue with allowing her into the hotel and she had plenty of time to chill by herself. It was difficult to find a potty place for her though (if you're bringing a pet, maybe ask the front desk the best place for potty relief). Breakfast in the morning was packed, but it was Christmas Eve so I'm sure the hotel was busy busy. The breakfast consisted of bagels and other pastries, eggs, sausage, and bacon, plus yogurts, and various fruits. There was a juice dispenser plus coffee and tea. If you've stayed at Holiday Inn before than you know what to expect. At the end of our stay the staff offered up car service to JFK. It cost $70 (plus tip) to get back to the airport, but it was better than trying to drag our stuff to the corner and hail a taxi ourselves (which would still cost around $50 +tip anyway). Overall, if you can deal with having a small room, I would highly recommend this hotel for it's location, convenience, and the quality of the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square and Rockefeller Center are close.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY FIFTH AVENUE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
smprasad
Business
CA
Dec 30, 2013

New York City Visit

Small room but was very clean and had all the amenities. Walking distance to Times Square. Perfect place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY FIFTH AVENUE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vinylosis
Business
Ohio
Dec 26, 2013

Great location - but that's about it.

This is a wonderful location, very central to midtown Manhattan - and you pay for the location. But it is a small, cramped space, with lots of in-and-out activity in the smallish lobby (designed more for assembly-line breakfasts than for relaxation). The staff knows this is not a "real" hotel, so they do really well in being helpful in making the most of your stay - directions, recommendations for restaurants and transportation (bus routes), etc. I would stay here again, if I needed the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk around the block to a row of Brazilian restaurants - you'll find a variety with good atmosphere, prices and good food!

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY FIFTH AVENUE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rev. LAH
Business
Peninsula, VA
Jun 23, 2013

Great place to stay on a budget

I don't want to stay in my room much when I am in NYC, but when I am in my room I want it very clean and comfortable with a clean updated bathroom. This is one of the best buys in NYC if you are on a budget and want a nice, clean, centrally located place to stay. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We were allowed to check in as soon as a room became available (which was before 3pm) and even before we could check in we were invited to the breakfast. Eggs, pancakes, cereals, bacon sausage, chipped beef, coffee, tea, water, yoghurt, fruit really was a great way to start the day without spending more money and plus the convenience of being in our hotel. The lobby does not look like much and the rooms are small but quite adequate for two and maybe two with a small child.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a couple of blocks to Times Square and Broadway Shows

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY FIFTH AVENUE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ralphard
Business
Chicago, Il
May 9, 2013

Good Location, Clean, Helpful Staff and Sticky Buns.

For a Holiday Inn, you want clean and you get clean. The staff was very helpful and courteous. They really were. Some even had a sense of humor. They used common sense when dealing with customers. I was impressed in that they went out of their "job roles" to be helpful. For example, the worker behind the desk was able to get our previously-stored luggage on of storage and later ran in to the street to check on our ride to the airport. (Way to go Erika!) The staff members handled the crowded morning breakfast group with aplomb. And the breakfast was good - omlettes, bacon, yogurt, bananas, sticky buns, etc. The room we had was functional. It's a little small. The location was good -an easy walk to Time Square and the theater disrict. The business area in the basement enabled us to print our boarding passes - for FREE! So all in all, the place is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY FIFTH AVENUE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
claudio milano
Business
Milano
Dec 26, 2012

good but too little

good place , very close to Downtown but to much compact ..... for that moneys my expectations are more

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY FIFTH AVENUE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moose76
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Aug 23, 2012

Times Square 3-day

The Holiday Inn Express 5th Avenue was easily reached on foot, less than 2 avenue (long) blocks from 45th St & Broadway. The included breakfast and wireless internet were the features I was seeking, and both were satisfactory. With only 6 rooms per floor and 22 floors, the elevator performance is very important -- both of the two elevators were fast and quiet, but one of the two was under repair for several hours during a morning breakfast period. This led to uncomfortable waits and crowds in the remaining unit. The bed, bathroom and towels were very fresh and clean (most outstanding features). Getting around the bathroom door was interesting: with this door open, room entry required walking into the bathroom, closing the room door and then walking out into the room (tight spaces). Finally, the TV cable box was DOA when I arrived, but was repaired while I was out for dinner a few hours and then worked perfectly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Perfect Pint irish pub (W. 45th St between 7th and 6th Aves) was a favorite for beer & food, a little expensive at $7/pint, but both bar area on the first floor and the (much quieter) dining room on the second floor featured fast and friendly service and very tasty food.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY FIFTH AVENUE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Small town Family
Business
Ohio
Aug 18, 2012

Hotel was just right!

The hotel was small, but the staff and cleanliness made up for the lack of space in the lobby and dining area. We stayed in a King Suite on the 10th floor and it was perfect for myself, husband and teenage son. I could not believe how quiet the room was during the night. The staff was great during our 5 night stay. They accommodated every request we made (especially Dennis and the bellman). It was easier to take breakfast back to the room than to navigate the crowd in the AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square and the subway entrance were each about 3 blocks. Catching cabs on Fifth Avenue was easy. There is a lot of construction in the area as well the entire city. Look out for scaffolding everywhere, but we did not hear street sounds in the room.

Back to menu Return to top