$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 25, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Hilton Times Square

4 stars
234 West 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
199 reviews
Great hotel for business trip

Clean, comfortable newly renovated room in the perfect location for business in Times Square. I... See full review

  • SF Business Traveler
  • Sep 19, 2014
Great location

It's s really nice hotel, great location, the rooms and the service where amazing, we think is a... See full review

  • Isaacntati
  • Sep 13, 2014
The sleek, modern facade of this 44-story building makes it a notable Times Square attraction, and many of its 460 rooms look out over vibrant Times Square, the New York City skyline and the Hudson River. Visit Pinnacle Bar in the lobby for coffee, cocktails and other delectable beverages, and enjoy innovative, Zagat-rated fare at Restaurant Above, which overlooks the iconic digital screens and billboards below. Hilton Hotels & Resorts have been wowing guests since 1919, and the Hilton Times Square houses 24-hour business and fitness centers, plus modern event spaces and a freshly revitalized lobby.
Key Facts
  • 460 guestrooms
  • 5,500-square-feet of conference and event space
  • 44 floors
  • Gift shop
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Restaurants, bar and room service available
  • 24-hour business center
  • Pet friendly policy (charges apply)
Neighborhood
Thanks to its prime location on 42nd Street, between 7th Avenue and 8th Avenue in Midtown Manhattan, the Hilton Times Square immerses guests in the middle of New York's dining, nightlife, entertainment and cultural attractions. Ripley's Believe It Or Not Museum, Madame Tussaud's Wax Museum, Radio City Music Hall and the 24/7 nexus of Times Square are all nearby. Shoppers can give their credit cards a workout by hitting the shops along Fifth Avenue, and cuisine-lovers can dine on Restaurant Row before taking in a musical at one of the Broadway theaters surrounding the hotel.
Hints and tips
Whether you want to see Wicked, The Sound of Music or Phantom of the Opera, check in at the theater ticket desk for help purchasing Broadway tickets.

Early risers should head over to Rockefeller Center at the crack of dawn to watch a live taping of the Today Show.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7566 -73.9882
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 9.00, MI, E; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 18.00, MI, NE; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 17.00, MI, W;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Times Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Theater District: 0.1 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.1 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Theater District: 0.1 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.1 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (199)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Times Square

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 199
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
waterloo, iowa
Aug 31, 2009

anniversary

when checking in our room was not ready and was not available till about 6pm...during check=in we was then told we needed to pay a $600.00 deposit. we were also put in a non smoking room and was told that they couldnt put us in a smoking room till the next day because we went threw a third party to book our room..the next day we was then told we couldnt get a smoking room to the following day. then wednsday our anniversary they finally moved our room across the hall same floor our room had to full size beds which was a dissapointment for us on our anniversary and our room was not available till 8pm. this has been very frustated and an inconvenience to us which caused conflict between the 2 of us as a couple because i made the reservations. at times when i would ask when and if our room was ready i would get attitude from staff..i will never ever recommend hilton time square to any of my friends or family members ...my expierence there was horrible and i am not pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
XJIM
Business
Riverside,ca
Oct 1, 2012

Bad Experience

The hotel it self was ok but the staff were very rude and unfriendly. The wait staff in the bar and restaurante watched the baseball game instead of waiting on customers. The concierge could not be bothered answering any questions. I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cege9
Business
Florida
Oct 17, 2011

Disappointing...

let's start with the positive, the location is excellent, shows, restaurants, times sq, central park, 5 th ave all walking distance. Staff friendly. Unfortunately they were renovating the entrance so it was a bit inconvenient. Secondly the rooms really need an update. Few outlets, cramped bathroom, maid service mid morning only. Cleaning once, no turndown service so each morning we had no coffee or cream bc the maid never replenished. No room service. Way overpriced for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stview woo
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Times Square Hilton

Great location. Centrally located. Gym is well equipped with nice new equipment. Hotel bar and restaurant or just so so. No in room snacks and drinks. Shower tile grout was stained with black mildew. Hardly any interaction with hotel staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Clive and Julianna
Business
Virginia
Feb 14, 2011

This hotel did not disappoint.

As a seasoned traveler, I would rate this higher than a three star but just short of a four. But for the money, it was five-star value. The room was clean and spacious. Half a block to the subway or bus, two blocks to our Broadway theater, plenty of good restaurant choices. The bar on the 15th floor was nice, upscale. Check in and out was very fast. I would come back there with my children as it was a great location for their activities. Times Square is certainly the cleanest it has ever been and very tourist friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

John's Pizzeria on 44th St has phenomenal pizza. They don't sell by the slice. This is a sit down place in between all the Broadway theaters. I love NY pizza and think this is at the top of the list.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Mar 18, 2011

A decent stay for the price

This Hilton is right smack dab in the middle of the Theater district, so it's a great location. You have to navigate two elevators to get to your room, which is not bad because it does take you away from the commotion on 42nd st. Apart from location, the rooms have the usual Hilton amenities. The minus points are the following - very slow Internet connection for the $14/ a day we had to shell out, very limited counter space in the bathroom for two people to keep their toiletry items, no mirror in room - only one in the bathroom, and small TV screen for the size of the room, also with limited cable access. If these things don't bother you, then you are good to go with a great 35th floor view and lots to do as soon as you step out of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Havana Club Cuban restaurant - short 8 minute walk - great food and drinks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M from the District
Business
Washington D.C.
Aug 2, 2014

Nice location

The location was great (right in the middle of Times Square), but our A/C did not work at times (overheating according to the engineer). The staff wasn't that helpful other than for checking in and checking out. Could never give us one answer for our inquiries, such as specifics for our room (complimentary breakfast and what not) we would get different answers depending on who answered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deenchaz
Business
Long Island NT
Jan 18, 2014

Great location! Really where you want to be

We took a mid-week vacation. The service from the desk to the porters were all great. They were all helpful and made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was nothing to write home about. My $15 waffles were not quite warm. So I would not bother with breakfast In the hotel, but it was a great location. We would definitely consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I used my iPhone each time we made a decision about our choices. Yelp for restaurants, retailmenot for shopping and map quest to find everything else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NessaLee
Business
Meriden, CT
Feb 17, 2014

Great location

The location was great!! We were able to walk to every place that we wanted to go. The maids on the other hand got into a big arguement outside of our room that was very disturbing. I thought it was very unprofessional for a hotel like this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dave and Buster and Madame Toussands Wax Museum were literally next door. The BBQ restaurant across the street had great food and was the least expensive of all the restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cmburke
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 24, 2014

GREAT LOCATION & CLEAN!

The hotel is located in a great location. Walking distance to any and everything. I lobby is a great place to hang out and do whatever. Concierge service is very friendly & helpful. Did not eat there, so cannot speak for the food, but I did see a fantastic looking breakfast buffet. Was hoping for a better view of Time Square, based on the description of the location of the hotel, but we did have a limited view. Really bothered me that we had to pay for WiFi access. Even though there was a business center with WiFi access, I feel that internet should be free in the rooms due to the price of the rooms. That is a pet peeve of mine. Only one minor negative: you have to take 2 elevators to go from the ground floor to your room. That got a bit old. Overall, the hotel & rooms were nice and I would consider going back, AFTER checking out other hotels in the Time Square location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The guys on the street selling discount LOL comedy tickets are legit! DO IT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top