$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Hilton Times Square

4 stars
234 West 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
197 reviews
Great location

It's s really nice hotel, great location, the rooms and the service where amazing, we think is a... See full review

  • Isaacntati
  • Sep 13, 2014
Worth paying a little extra

My daughter and I stayed 5 nights and I was thrilled at the location but nervous that it would be... See full review

  • Aunty sarah
  • Aug 14, 2014
The sleek, modern facade of this 44-story building makes it a notable Times Square attraction, and many of its 460 rooms look out over vibrant Times Square, the New York City skyline and the Hudson River. Visit Pinnacle Bar in the lobby for coffee, cocktails and other delectable beverages, and enjoy innovative, Zagat-rated fare at Restaurant Above, which overlooks the iconic digital screens and billboards below. Hilton Hotels & Resorts have been wowing guests since 1919, and the Hilton Times Square houses 24-hour business and fitness centers, plus modern event spaces and a freshly revitalized lobby.
Key Facts
  • 460 guestrooms
  • 5,500-square-feet of conference and event space
  • 44 floors
  • Gift shop
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Restaurants, bar and room service available
  • 24-hour business center
  • Pet friendly policy (charges apply)
Neighborhood
Thanks to its prime location on 42nd Street, between 7th Avenue and 8th Avenue in Midtown Manhattan, the Hilton Times Square immerses guests in the middle of New York's dining, nightlife, entertainment and cultural attractions. Ripley's Believe It Or Not Museum, Madame Tussaud's Wax Museum, Radio City Music Hall and the 24/7 nexus of Times Square are all nearby. Shoppers can give their credit cards a workout by hitting the shops along Fifth Avenue, and cuisine-lovers can dine on Restaurant Row before taking in a musical at one of the Broadway theaters surrounding the hotel.
Hints and tips
Whether you want to see Wicked, The Sound of Music or Phantom of the Opera, check in at the theater ticket desk for help purchasing Broadway tickets.

Early risers should head over to Rockefeller Center at the crack of dawn to watch a live taping of the Today Show.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7566 -73.9882
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 9.00, MI, E; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 18.00, MI, NE; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 17.00, MI, W;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Times Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Theater District: 0.1 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.1 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Theater District: 0.1 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.1 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (197)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Times Square

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
197 out of 197
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Memo Stmichel
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 9, 2013

INTERNET AD GUY

Solid hotel. Nothing real fancy but nothing real disappointing either. I don't really like Times Square so I am biased but it was close enough to the Javitz Center so it was good for business. Anyway, it is a good hotel for conventions but not if you are going to NYC for leisure and want a hotel for lounging.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Have a hired car to pick you up and drop you off at events.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cege9
Florida
Oct 17, 2011

Disappointing...

let's start with the positive, the location is excellent, shows, restaurants, times sq, central park, 5 th ave all walking distance. Staff friendly. Unfortunately they were renovating the entrance so it was a bit inconvenient. Secondly the rooms really need an update. Few outlets, cramped bathroom, maid service mid morning only. Cleaning once, no turndown service so each morning we had no coffee or cream bc the maid never replenished. No room service. Way overpriced for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eduardo11
Business
Los Angeles
May 9, 2012

Time squaare

The hotel itself is a nice place, typical Hilton good quality. The location is central time sqare, which for me is a bit overwhelming and sardine packed. If you like that then great. Higher floors have average views of times square area but nothing spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Avoid 42nd street entrance crowd by entering building from 41st.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Clive and Julianna
Virginia
Feb 14, 2011

This hotel did not disappoint.

As a seasoned traveler, I would rate this higher than a three star but just short of a four. But for the money, it was five-star value. The room was clean and spacious. Half a block to the subway or bus, two blocks to our Broadway theater, plenty of good restaurant choices. The bar on the 15th floor was nice, upscale. Check in and out was very fast. I would come back there with my children as it was a great location for their activities. Times Square is certainly the cleanest it has ever been and very tourist friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

John's Pizzeria on 44th St has phenomenal pizza. They don't sell by the slice. This is a sit down place in between all the Broadway theaters. I love NY pizza and think this is at the top of the list.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M from the District
Washington D.C.
Aug 2, 2014

Nice location

The location was great (right in the middle of Times Square), but our A/C did not work at times (overheating according to the engineer). The staff wasn't that helpful other than for checking in and checking out. Could never give us one answer for our inquiries, such as specifics for our room (complimentary breakfast and what not) we would get different answers depending on who answered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ramblinrekk
New Orleans, LA
Sep 26, 2013

Nice, but no cigar

Everything was great with the hotel and the room but no wi-fi unless you paid for it. I could go next door to Applebees, but I would prefer my room. Except for that, the stay was amazing. Perfect location for access to all of Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carmines - even if they say they aren't accepting reservations, go anyway. It may be a short wait for the most wonderful family style Italian food. If only two, just get the baked antipasta, if four, get an entre also, but only one. All plates (including salads) are made to feed three. Great food!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Griptyte
Plantation FL
Sep 3, 2013

Labour Day Weekend

We were in town for my daughter to visit NYU and My wife to go to the US open. The hotel is perfect for a long and varied week-end being in a place where it was easy to travel to and from.We relied on the concierge and reception staff for advice, the local restaurants they recommended within a ten minute walk were great. Tony Flynn

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Choose the nationality of the cuisine and then ask the concierge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul Sontag
Business
São Paulo
Oct 28, 2013

Good Well located

I have liked that the tables don't have so much papers and folden cardboards with advices and propagandas on the top that you cannot put you own stuf on it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Carnegie Deli

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marysville
May 26, 2008

Close to Everything

This hotel is crammed in the middle of Times Square - there really is no ground floor lobby and you had to take an elevator to the lobby and another set of elevators to get to your room. The room was quiet and comfortable and we really didn't have much interaction with staff. However, I had requested a rollaway bed and was told no - even though they could have easily removed the chair and footstool and put a single rollaway bed there and there were no available rooms to accommodate us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is within a few feet of several restaurants, Broadway shows, television stations and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Feb 1, 2010

Great Spot

Very clean, efficient, and in an excellent location. Great value, and the size of the hotel made it very managable. Very good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search