$116 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 12, 2014

Hilton Times Square

4 stars
234 West 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
180 reviews
Great place, nice staff

We loved it. The staff was so nice and the location was nice! See full review

  • Niles225
  • Mar 4, 2014
Best room, we will be back

View was great, wonderful hotel. The doorman helped us get a taxi. room very clean. I liked the... See full review

  • esprit373
  • Feb 25, 2014
Spacious rooms, restaurant with a view in Midtown’s Theater District
The Hilton Times Square offers an excellent location for travelers who want to experience the energy of Times Square or enjoy Broadway shows. Its 42nd Street address puts guests steps from theaters, restaurants and shopping. The hotel has fitness and business centers. Spacious rooms provide plenty of space to relax. Rooms start on the 23rd floor, and many feature views of the skyline. The hotel restaurant also boasts a great view.
Highlights
  • Spacious rooms start at 330 square feet
  • In the heart of the Theater District and Times Square
  • An easy walk to Rockefeller Center, Macy's and more

 

Location

The Hilton Times Square is ideally situated for theater buffs. American Airlines Theater is across the street, and the New Amsterdam Theater is around the corner. Madame Tussauds is next door. The Hilton Times Square is a short walk from Rockefeller Center and Macy's.

Rooms

Spacious rooms at Hilton Times Square start at 330 square feet. Decor is neutral and contemporary with light wood furniture. Every room features original art. Safes, MP3 players, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, Wi-Fi (fees apply) and Crabtree & Evelyn bath products are among the amenities. The hotel has two suites.

Features

Guests have complimentary use of the 24-hour fitness center at the Hilton Times Square. Valet parking is available (fees apply). The hotel has a pet policy (fees apply, call for details).

Dining

Restaurant Above, on the 25th floor of the Hilton Times Square, boasts spectacular city views. The restaurant is open 6:30 a.m. to 10 p.m. weekdays and 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. weekends for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Special fixed menus are available for pre- and post-theater dinners. Room service is available. Nearby restaurants include Sardi's, Bubba Gump, Dave and Busters and Hard Rock Cafe.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 42nd St.-Port Authority (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Penn Station (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.7 mi/ 1.13 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Theater District (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Bryant Park (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • Central Park (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 14 meeting rooms
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Times Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7566 -73.9882
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 9.00, MI, E; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 18.00, MI, NE; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 17.00, MI, W;

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Theater District: 0.1 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.1 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Theater District: 0.1 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.1 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (180)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Times Square

Overall score

4.3 / 5
180 out of 180
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

1
XJIM
Riverside,ca
Oct 1, 2012

Bad Experience

The hotel it self was ok but the staff were very rude and unfriendly. The wait staff in the bar and restaurante watched the baseball game instead of waiting on customers. The concierge could not be bothered answering any questions. I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

1
Hirv
MI
May 21, 2012

Not a Good Experience

Planned a traditional 5yr Birthday weekend for my 2 grandchildren and my 2 daughters. We found this Hilton very inconvenient based on such a smelly and crowded area. The lobby is located on the 15th floor and the elevators went out often. We had to take the stairs both up and down a couple of times with two small children and Grandma with bad knees...terrible!! Then some security guard yelled at us for using the fire stairs without a guide because of the liability which the hotel didn't provide. This ruined my weekend because of my knee pain from then on. We also requested 2 rooms close together and they couldn't accommodate us. My room key didn't work and had to get maintenance up to fix my door...couldn't check in until 6:00pm. All in all a very bad experience. I will never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
waterloo, iowa
Aug 31, 2009

anniversary

when checking in our room was not ready and was not available till about 6pm...during check=in we was then told we needed to pay a $600.00 deposit. we were also put in a non smoking room and was told that they couldnt put us in a smoking room till the next day because we went threw a third party to book our room..the next day we was then told we couldnt get a smoking room to the following day. then wednsday our anniversary they finally moved our room across the hall same floor our room had to full size beds which was a dissapointment for us on our anniversary and our room was not available till 8pm. this has been very frustated and an inconvenience to us which caused conflict between the 2 of us as a couple because i made the reservations. at times when i would ask when and if our room was ready i would get attitude from staff..i will never ever recommend hilton time square to any of my friends or family members ...my expierence there was horrible and i am not pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

2
Muetz
Europe
Jan 2, 2012

in the middle of the theater district

very unfriendly staff. overpriced, especially the breakfast. Buy the breakfast on the street and eat it in your room. very close to Times Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Buford, Georgia
Oct 12, 2009

Nice and good location

My co-worker (another lady and myself) and I went to New York for the weekend. We requested two beds, but could only get a kingsize. We kept requesting a change, but did not get one. I feel like they should have been able to make that change. They didn't seem to make an attempt to change it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I have stayed further into Times Square at the Crowne Plaza....I like the closer location better.....but the Hilton was fine.

Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Mission Viejo, CA
Sep 12, 2010

nice hotel, good location

The room was clean and the service very good. We had an awful trip on a shuttle from the airport. The Bellhop who took us up to our room the first night arranged for a town car for our return trip to the airport. It was cheaper, easier, and a lot more relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Ask about the subway and how to navigate it. Saves time and money. Cabs are great but know where you are going and how far away it is or they will take you the long way and it will cost you. We had a small map and let the cab driver know where were going.

Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Long Valley, NJ
Jan 18, 2011

HiltonTimesSquare-good but not exciting

Nice hotel. Nothing about it says "You have arrived", rather it is more functional [tired looking] than anything else. "Lobby" is on the 21st floor. People are very nice, but we were expecting more due to its name. I would say this is more not like a Hilton than others that I've stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

3
Stview woo
Dallas, TX, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Times Square Hilton

Great location. Centrally located. Gym is well equipped with nice new equipment. Hotel bar and restaurant or just so so. No in room snacks and drinks. Shower tile grout was stained with black mildew. Hardly any interaction with hotel staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

3
Memo Stmichel
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 9, 2013

INTERNET AD GUY

Solid hotel. Nothing real fancy but nothing real disappointing either. I don't really like Times Square so I am biased but it was close enough to the Javitz Center so it was good for business. Anyway, it is a good hotel for conventions but not if you are going to NYC for leisure and want a hotel for lounging.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Have a hired car to pick you up and drop you off at events.

Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

3
Cege9
Florida
Oct 17, 2011

Disappointing...

let's start with the positive, the location is excellent, shows, restaurants, times sq, central park, 5 th ave all walking distance. Staff friendly. Unfortunately they were renovating the entrance so it was a bit inconvenient. Secondly the rooms really need an update. Few outlets, cramped bathroom, maid service mid morning only. Cleaning once, no turndown service so each morning we had no coffee or cream bc the maid never replenished. No room service. Way overpriced for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top