$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 22, 2015 Check-out: Mar 23, 2015

Hilton Times Square

4 stars
View map of 234 West 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
208 reviews
Night In The City

The Hilton Times Square is a great location! It's less the a 10 minute walk from Penn Station and... See full review

  • Danaespo
  • Feb 3, 2015
Early Anniversary Trip

We had booked this hotel for our early Anniversary trip. We had tickets to go see Jake Gyllenhaal... See full review

  • Gyllenhaalic
  • Jan 22, 2015
The sleek, modern facade of this 44-story building makes it a notable Times Square attraction, and many of its 460 rooms look out over vibrant Times Square, the New York City skyline and the Hudson River. Visit Pinnacle Bar in the lobby for coffee, cocktails and other delectable beverages, and enjoy innovative, Zagat-rated fare at Restaurant Above, which overlooks the iconic digital screens and billboards below. Hilton Hotels & Resorts have been wowing guests since 1919, and the Hilton Times Square houses 24-hour business and fitness centers, plus modern event spaces and a freshly revitalized lobby.
Key Facts
  • 460 guestrooms
  • 5,500-square-feet of conference and event space
  • 44 floors
  • Gift shop
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Restaurants, bar and room service available
  • 24-hour business center
  • Pet friendly policy (charges apply)
Neighborhood
Thanks to its prime location on 42nd Street, between 7th Avenue and 8th Avenue in Midtown Manhattan, the Hilton Times Square immerses guests in the middle of New York's dining, nightlife, entertainment and cultural attractions. Ripley's Believe It Or Not Museum, Madame Tussaud's Wax Museum, Radio City Music Hall and the 24/7 nexus of Times Square are all nearby. Shoppers can give their credit cards a workout by hitting the shops along Fifth Avenue, and cuisine-lovers can dine on Restaurant Row before taking in a musical at one of the Broadway theaters surrounding the hotel.
Hints and tips
Whether you want to see Wicked, The Sound of Music or Phantom of the Opera, check in at the theater ticket desk for help purchasing Broadway tickets.

Early risers should head over to Rockefeller Center at the crack of dawn to watch a live taping of the Today Show.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Times Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Theater District: 0.1 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.1 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Theater District: 0.1 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.1 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (208)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Times Square

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Soobi
NewJersey
Dec 25, 2012

great time

Great location Top Hotel Brand Attractions,resturants,shows and much more around the corner Strongly Recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Danaespo
Business
WEST ISLIP
Feb 3, 2015

Night In The City

The Hilton Times Square is a great location! It's less the a 10 minute walk from Penn Station and the subway is right on the corner. We had a cornor king room which was extremely spacious compared to other hotels I've been in in the city. Out view was breath taking! You could see the Empire State Building, World Trade Center, and Statue of Liberty from our room! I would recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sarah williams
Business
N/A
Feb 3, 2015

great location

Skyline tours is right across the street which was awesome. Close to everything. Great view. no shampoo in room. Took 45 minutes to get do we started day off later than planned. Staff was nonchalant. However wait staff was super nice. Breakfast is pricey but good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Super easy to get to with AirTran and then the train into nyc. Total cost 12.50. Short walk once in the city. Loved sky line tours and it was right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gyllenhaalic
Business
Taylorsville
Jan 22, 2015

Early Anniversary Trip

We had booked this hotel for our early Anniversary trip. We had tickets to go see Jake Gyllenhaal and Ruth Wilson in Constellations (awesome play, by the way). The hotel staff was super friendly Rodney was really helpful as we arrived and graciously assisted us with valet parking (we were a little frazzled by the time we arrived). It was especially nice to have an Applebee's at the bottom of the hotel that served breakfast as it was a rainy, ugly day on Sunday. The only complaint I could possibly have was the hand-held shower head had pretty bad water pressure and was really pretty basic for a "fancy" hotel room. Other than that, everything was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bubba Gump Shrimp Company was a wonderful eating experience. We were very well pleased.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
laura q
Business
Miami Beach
Jan 14, 2015

An escape in Times Square

In the midst of the craziness of Times Square is a narrow entrance to an elevator that whisks you up to the sky lobby of the Hilton Times Square. Clean, classy, all you expect from a Hilton greets you when you step out of the elevator. The room had a great view. If you are a traveler who wants to be close to Broadway show action (which I am not), this would be an amazing location for you. I don't give it 5 stars for a few reasons. First, I really prefer the free wi-fi and complimentary coffee I find at other chains, which this Hilton did not offer. Also the showerhead was wacky. On a very cold winter weekend, a hot shower is a must. And the showerhead sprayed water in all the wrong places. The room also felt cold, even with the heat turned up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tamyra
Business
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

Hilton Times Square

Overall the location of this hotel is SPOT ON! We did a city view and got the empire state building which was lovely with water to pur right side. I was a bit disappointed with the fact that the parking for so expensive without any type of discount for Hilton reward members. The hotel was very clean and well maintenance. BUT I must say, a few things found in our room were a bit gross like a fake eyelash stuck inside one of the room towels. There was also hair in the shower. Luckily we always take Clorox wipes with us to clean the bathrooms. Other than that, our stay was peaceful and unborthered

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Instead of using the hotel to park, find a parking garage cheaper un a close proximity. Leave your car there and just walk or take a taxi. There are NO in and outs at parking garages for customers which is also another annoyance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
anglejones
Business
North Carolina
Dec 8, 2014

Best thing is location, rest only ok

This Hilton is mediocre for a 4 star, full service hotel. The lobby is poorly designed (after you get to it from an elevator at street level), crowded, unattractive. The hotel bar is less appealing, right in the middle of the lobby and elevator area with zero ambiance. If you want to spend time at the hotel bar and restaurant, this one is not the one, but if you are just going to sleep and shower there, it's fine. We went to another hotel bar to meet friends instead. The staff are nice enough when you ask for something, but do not seem to have the 'make sure the customer is happy' attitude. Room service was ok, but badly set up; no plates or bowls and creamer in a drinking glass with no spout. The best thing about this place is the location to the Broadway shows and Times Square, which is as good as it gets. Overall, not up to Hilton quality for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay near the area you intend to spend most of your time in because the city can get jammed up for driving and that is a real problem for being on time to shows and dinners. There were several 'demonstrations' the weekend we were there and walking or the subway were the only options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Poker Fitz
Business
Charlotte, NC
Dec 3, 2014

Excellent Location - Heart of Manhattan!

I was there for a convention at Jacob Javitz Center. Fifteen minute walk from hotel to convention center. Perfect! Didn't need to wait for crowded convention buses or taxis. Wonderful hotel! huge room; clean; quiet. Excellent staff. Excellent value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tuchas
Business
Miami
Nov 27, 2014

Always accomadating staff and personel

Clean hot cider friendly bell service always knows your name! Smikes at the desk. Clean restrooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wolfgangs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Max Coo
Business
MD
Nov 26, 2014

Good Location

Great location, near time squre, lots of people, enough said

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jslice
Business
Southeastern PA
Oct 29, 2014

Beautiful hotel

Right in the heart of Times Square but without the noise! Though I room didn't face Times Square, we could see from our window The Statue of Liberty, the Freedom Tower and the Empire State building. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top