$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

3 stars
790 Eighth Avenue, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
326 reviews
Awesome!

This was my very first time visiting the big city and I must say the hotel was very affordable and... See full review

  • Bee27
  • Jul 25, 2014
Great Experience

Great location, free wifi, comfortable stay, nice view, friendly staff. See full review

  • traveler5079
  • Jul 4, 2014
Amenities-packed Midtown hotel in Times Square, Theater District
The Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is packed with amenities. Travelers can dine at the on-site French bistro, take in sunset views at the rooftop lounge, and pick up last-minute necessities at the 24-hour convenience store. The free fitness and business centers are open 24 hours. Microwaves, mini refrigerators and free Wi-Fi provide the comforts of home in the rooms.
Highlights
  • Spacious rooms with mini refrigerators and microwaves
  • Free 24-hour fitness center
  • In the heart of the Theater District and Times Square shopping
Location

The Eugene O'Neill Theater is around the corner, and the Gershwin and Brooks Atkinson theaters are within two blocks of the hotel. The Times Square TKTS booth is nearby. Broadway is packed with shops.

Rooms

The spacious rooms are more than 300 square feet and feature beds with 250-thread-count sheets. Amenities include flat-screen TVs with complimentary HBO, free Wi-Fi, mini refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards. Bathrooms have hairdryers and Neutrogena bath amenities. Special PURE rooms are cleaned with anti-allergy cleaners and have improved air quality.

Features

The hotel has a concierge and an on-site, 24-hour convenience store. There is self parking (fees apply).

 

Dining

On-site Pigalle Restaurant is modeled after a 1950s Paris cafe. The restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner from 7 a.m. to 2 a.m. daily. Room service provided by Pigalle is available from 5 to 9 p.m. The hotel provides complimentary coffee and tea service from 6 to 10:30 a.m. daily. Rooftop lounge Highbar features views of sunsets over the Hudson River. Highbar is open Tuesday through Saturday.

 

Times Square boasts hundreds of restaurants to suit every taste. Eateries close to the hotel include Ruby Foo's (Pan-Asian), Dallas BBQ, Café Cielo (Italian) and Pongsri (Thai). Nearby Food Emporium is a full-service grocery store with fresh-baked breads, imported cheeses and fine chocolates.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport (25 minutes)
  • Newark International Airport (30 minutes)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 50th St (1 minute walking)
Attractions
  • Times Square (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Broadway theaters (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • Radio City Music Hall (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center

Hotel Map

40.7614 -73.9865
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 10.00, MI, NE; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 18.00, MI, SE; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 17.00, MI, E;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Garden Inn Times Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (326)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 326
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Very flexible guy
Orange county Ca
Aug 10, 2010

"Too Noisy"

Very friendly staff, clean room, great locations. They gave us a room on 2nd floor on a Sunday night stay. It was horribly noisy. Not being familiar with New York, it took us a while to realize that the noise was due to the Subway passing under ground. As my 5 year old commented, the subway noise was not very disturbing outside of the hotel, but inside it was a different story. Got some sleep after mid-night on Sunday night and woke up very early Monday morning due to subway noise. According to the Staff, the noise is not as bad on higher floors. If so, then they should not have any rooms on 2nd floor and dedicate the entire floor to sport center or for other purpose. The room had a view over looking the 8th Ave, but not a whole lot to see on 8th Ave. Bad experience. Family was looking forward for a nice stay, but totally dis-appointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KarlaandCharlie
Grand Prairie, TX
Jul 23, 2013

Double Charged

Although I pre-paid for my hotel, the hotel charged my credit card for the full amount. The hotel would not remove it and stated that I had to call my bank to resolve. Their attitude was "oh well, technology mistakes happen". The desk clerk even told me its happened to her, as if that was supposed to make me feel better?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Remember that the Broadway shows are limited on Sunday evenings and Monday nights.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ponygal
upstate NY
Nov 27, 2010

A Train Runs Through It . . .

Great location, clean comfortable room, but the rooms that you book through [...] that are on the lower floors (and more affordable) are directly over the subway. So it sounds like a train is coming through your room. About every 20 minutes or so. Desk staff was wonderful - good humored, apologetic. They comped us for breakfasts at the restaurant next door, offered to move us up a floor though we would still hear the train. Just be sure to book a higher floor or call the hotel and ask them in advance for a room without the subway running under it.Otherwise the hotel was great, very clean, decent room, parking next door, plenty of dining choices nearby, great location for Times Square and transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rodriguez fam.vacation
New Orleans
Jun 1, 2011

first timers to New York

The hotel personnel were very friendly,beds very comfortable. Located in perfect part of town. We were first timers and it was easy to sightsee without getting lost. Very nice[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
ks
Jan 4, 2011

nice location

if i would come back to NY i will book there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, Ga
Sep 23, 2009

Sleeping over the subway!!

No exhaust vents or makeup mirrors in the bathroom Bathroom ceiling leaked causing stuff to fall into the tub. Our room was on the second floor. The rumble from the subway was extremely annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington
Sep 13, 2008

Basic

The title says it all. No particular quality stands out. An overnight trip to NYC and no standouts which could be a good thing but ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Master
Miami ,Florida.
Aug 16, 2011

An acepptable hotel

Clean somewhat small rooms. Very well located. Staff helpful. In generic I would recommend it. Maybe somewhat expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Anchorage, AK
Jul 31, 2011

Convenient location; our room was noisy

Stayed in a king room with a couch bed with my two grown kids in mid-July 2011. We have all traveled extensively both in the U.S. and abroad. Bed was comfy and adjustable; couch bed was a little firm because it was just a pleather fouton, no mattress, made up with two flat sheets and a blanket from the closet. Second floor corner room with a very bad view of a broken generator next to some HVAC equipment. Felt the vibrations from the subway, and heard lots of street noise. Bathroom amenities included ear plugs, as well as Neutrogena products. Bathroom was a little small, but it was very clean. Refrigerator and microwave were very clean and handy. Free wi-fi was very convenient, and there were a lot of electrical outlets. Did not eat at the restaurant; chose instead to go across the street to the grocery store/deli for $4 breakfast sandwiches and snacks, and out for lunch and dinner. Property was very convenient to subway stations, theaters, and nice dinner restaurants: within easy walking distance to all. Easy (for us) walking distance to upper Midtown attractions such as Grand Central and Rockefeller Center. One stop from Columbus Circle/Central Park, two or three from Union Square. Felt very secure since there were often two very competent-looking employees asking to see room keys before guests could enter the elevator. Check in was maybe 5 minutes; check out was maybe 1 minute. The one concierge I spoke with about theater tickets was very helpful, professional, and knowledgeable. (In the end, however, I decided to use my Playbill discount, and not the concierge service.) The 24-hour convenience store within the hotel was stocked with just about one of everything, from tummy medicines to protein bars to I Heart NY nail files, and the clerks were friendly and helpful. I would stay there again, but request a room above the third or fourth floor, because of the noise and vibration.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery store across the street offered egg sandwiches and a cuppa joe for a few dollars, as well as microwavable nationally-branded soups and noodle bowls. Lots of street food carts in the area as well. Some good lunch and dinner restaurants nearby, which we found by carefully reading reviews posted to social media apps and websites.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom of a Dancer
Freeland, MI
Jan 25, 2014

Great Place to stay!

This is a great hotel, very friendly staff, promptly with any needs, helpful with directions. Right in the middle of of theatre district. The only problem is renovation they are doing is 24/7 so no matter what, it is extremely loud and wakes you up several times a night. All though day they are everywhere. Now they do have signs posted so if you happen to be trying to get a room with out a reservation, you would have advanced notice! If you have reservations you will walk around different situations of renovations all day. I'm sure it will be even better hotel with updates. Honestly- it is a Great place to stay & I will stay here again and recommend it to everyone. Best value, we've had in New York, theatre district hotels, by far!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Extremely close to Carmines, great food & atomoshphere with awesome waiters!! Very close walking to lots of theatre's!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search