$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

3 stars
View map of 790 Eighth Avenue, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
321 out of 321
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maefield
Couples
Seymour, Indiana
Jun 18, 2013

Good location

The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. The location was good; near attractions and our tour. Parking was very convenient..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't want to drive yourself? Take the Gray Line Manhattan Experience Tour. It's the best 8 hour tour that covers a LOT of attractions.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Syl O
Family
Northern Ireland
Jun 25, 2013

great location

Great location - close to Times Square, Theatres, Grayline Office almost opposite for purchase of Hop on Hop off tours etc. Turn left when you exit the hotel and cross 49th Street and there is a supermarket selling everything you need downstairs and snacks including croissants salad and fruit bowls and ready meals. The hotel is very clean and staff very helpful. The beds are really comfortable and there is free wi-fi . We were in room 1207 and could here what we think was the air conditioning unit at night - 3 of us didn't mind the sound ,however the 4th person had to buy ear plugs - it wasn't a big issue but it may be for light sleepers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. AJ
Friends
California
Jul 9, 2013

Great value near Times Square and shopping!

Great location, good price, very comfortable and friendly staff. My only complaint was that there was no freezer in the mini fridge, but that is a small thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not use the unmarked black cabs - they charge more and are not under the Yellow Cab regulations and so are not trustworthy. The bellman put our stuff in a black SUV cab, so we naively trusted it, and were charged way too much. A friendly Yellow Cab driver explained to us later in our trip that they work independently and so can charge whatever they want. Always use Yellow Cab!

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC reviewer
Friends
Indiana
Jul 7, 2013

NYC stay

This is the first time I've stayed on this side of NY. It was a block from most of the theaters. A deli and the best pizza were across the street. Other than the ice machine on our floor was broken our first night and the coffee maker didn't work, it was a great place to stay. Very helpful and friendly staff were there to answer questions. The highlight on the Fourth of July, after being so tired from touring and walking all day, was that we could see the fireworks from our room. The downside was that the hotel didn't carry the TV station that was broadcasting it. I would recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bonydoc
Family
Glasgow, UK
Jul 21, 2013

Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Very good. Clean rooms. Good lobby. Excellent location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AllanY
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 10, 2013

Awesome all around

I had to split up my stay in NY between two hotels, and you can't help compare. Although the other hotel was also a 3-star, the Hilton Garden Inn really overachieved. Great location, super clean room, friendly and accommodating staff...all of it really made a difference. A special shout-out to the Friday night, shift at the front desk...he disclosed that it's been a rough evening, but still provided a smile while checking us in. THAT STILL MAKES A DIFFERENCE in when you are a weary traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Italian food is close by via Patzeria.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chief Buff
Family
York, PA
Jun 8, 2013

All was good

We were treated well by staff, the room was clean and modern. We were close to everything we needed to be close to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kent M.
Family
Little Rock
Aug 14, 2013

Great Trip

The Hilton Garden was a great place to stay. It was close to everything and a block from Time Square. Great places to eat all around the hotel. The bus stop to catch the sight seeing buses was on the corner. The hotel was clean all the time and the people were nice. I will stay here next time I come to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make a reservation unless you eat early.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marksv01
Family
Upstate NY
Aug 26, 2013

NYC Getaway

I took my daughters (15 and 11) for an end of summer getaway. We stayed 3 nights and our stay at the Hilton Garden Inn at Times Square was excellent. Even my 15 year old said how nice and pleasant the staff was. That says a lot coming from a 15 year old !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SpecialOccasionVisitor
Family
DC
Aug 27, 2013

Really good place

The staff, from housekeeping to concierge and front desk staff, were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable - even the fold out couch for our 3rd person. Location is great for catching tour bus or anything in Times Square (and convenient to the train and bus terminals). Room was quiet as well. Great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Our wait for the Empire State building tour was over 45 minutes - a great view but not really worth it.

Back to menu Return to top