$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

3 stars
View map of 790 Eighth Avenue, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
362 out of 362
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KarlaandCharlie
Business
Grand Prairie, TX
Jul 23, 2013

Double Charged

Although I pre-paid for my hotel, the hotel charged my credit card for the full amount. The hotel would not remove it and stated that I had to call my bank to resolve. Their attitude was "oh well, technology mistakes happen". The desk clerk even told me its happened to her, as if that was supposed to make me feel better?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Remember that the Broadway shows are limited on Sunday evenings and Monday nights.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RV1234
Business
New York
Sep 4, 2013

Guest

Good for the price & location, I would recommend it to someone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 20, 2010

Good location for the price

My husband and I wanted to get away for a few days, it was his first time in New York city. I would say the hotel was average, but it was what I was expecting for the money that I'd paid. It was clean with a very comfortable bed, the location was great and the staff was very helpful. Our only complaint was that in the 6th floor you could hear the subway train when it passed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Carolina
May 22, 2009

Good location

The location was great. The only complaint we have is that we were booked in a smoking room even though we had requested a non smoking room when we made the reservation. The room smelled like a wet ashtray. They offered to move us 2 days into our trip but our belongings already reaked of smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ponygal
Business
upstate NY
Nov 27, 2010

A Train Runs Through It . . .

Great location, clean comfortable room, but the rooms that you book through [...] that are on the lower floors (and more affordable) are directly over the subway. So it sounds like a train is coming through your room. About every 20 minutes or so. Desk staff was wonderful - good humored, apologetic. They comped us for breakfasts at the restaurant next door, offered to move us up a floor though we would still hear the train. Just be sure to book a higher floor or call the hotel and ask them in advance for a room without the subway running under it.Otherwise the hotel was great, very clean, decent room, parking next door, plenty of dining choices nearby, great location for Times Square and transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Nov 28, 2010

[...]

Hotel is great and well located [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

PIgalle Restaurant

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NeilOregon
Business
Portland, Or
Apr 11, 2011

Garden Inn in TimeSquare

We were able to hit all the sites from this centrally located hotel...great access to Broadway, Times Square, and multiple Subway stations make it very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Central Park...it's a little bit of a walk, but great time.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario, Canada
Apr 14, 2010

The good and the bad

The staff at the hotel were exceptional. However, I encountered a problem with the bathroom lights. The lights were on motion sensors and kept going out despite movement. If you were in the shower, they went out. If you were at the sink or toilet they went out. Light switch was outside the bathroom and to turn lights back on you had to open bathroom door. Management was aware but could do nothing to fix these lights. Very inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant was noisy but good. Try and get prepaid breakfast when making reservations. Dinner menu had a fixed price option that was good.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
UK
Nov 30, 2009

Good location close to every thing.

On arrival hotel computer system was down and initially we were allocated x2 rooms already occupied' 3rd allocation was to a smoking room that had to be changed the next day to non smoking as per booking. Reception staff not good under pressure. That said most staff friendly / helpful, very good location and I would stay there again. Alan Payne.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the two day bus tour ticket and go to Ellis / Liberty Island early.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
No Longer a Hilton Honors Member
Business
Washintgon, DC
Jul 12, 2010

Great location -- Bad Room

The location is great -- right off Times Square. The room that we had was adjacent to the linen closet and all night long the staff was banging around in the room so it was hard to get a good night's sleep. Also, the pillows sucked -- it was like sleeping on a towel instead of a pillow -- far below the standards to which I would hold a Hilton establishment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top