$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

3 stars
View map of 790 Eighth Avenue, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
321 reviews
LOVE MIKE & ERNEST, Great hotel

First of all the staff, Mike & Ernest were unbelievably helpful. They gave me a top floor room with... See full review

  • Blake K.
  • Aug 6, 2015
Getaway with my daughter

This was a wonderful hotel. Great location. Lots of good restaurants close by. The restaurant in... See full review

  • Jules
  • Jul 29, 2015
The Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is packed with amenities. Travelers can dine at the on-site French bistro, take in sunset views at the rooftop lounge, and pick up last-minute necessities at the 24-hour convenience store. The free fitness and business centers are open 24 hours. Microwaves, mini refrigerators and free Wi-Fi provide the comforts of home in the rooms.
General
  • Times Square (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Broadway theaters (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • Radio City Music Hall (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
Location

The Eugene O'Neill Theater is around the corner, and the Gershwin and Brooks Atkinson theaters are within two blocks of the hotel. The Times Square TKTS booth is nearby. Broadway is packed with shops.

Dining

On-site Pigalle Restaurant is modeled after a 1950s Paris cafe. The restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner from 7 a.m. to 2 a.m. daily. Room service provided by Pigalle is available from 5 to 9 p.m. The hotel provides complimentary coffee and tea service from 6 to 10:30 a.m. daily. Rooftop lounge Highbar features views of sunsets over the Hudson River. Highbar is open Tuesday through Saturday.

 

Times Square boasts hundreds of restaurants to suit every taste. Eateries close to the hotel include Ruby Foo's (Pan-Asian), Dallas BBQ, Café Cielo (Italian) and Pongsri (Thai). Nearby Food Emporium is a full-service grocery store with fresh-baked breads, imported cheeses and fine chocolates.

Rooms

The spacious rooms are more than 300 square feet and feature beds with 250-thread-count sheets. Amenities include flat-screen TVs with complimentary HBO, free Wi-Fi, mini refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards. Bathrooms have hairdryers and Neutrogena bath amenities. Special PURE rooms are cleaned with anti-allergy cleaners and have improved air quality.

Property features
  • Spacious rooms with mini refrigerators and microwaves
  • Free 24-hour fitness center
  • In the heart of the Theater District and Times Square shopping
Highlights

The Hilton Garden Inn is nestled on 42nd Street between 6th and Broadway, just a few feet away from Times Square. The Garden Grille, a 24-hour Pavilion Pantry, and the lobby bar are great places to grab a drink, or a bite to eat, if you’re staying in. The hotel's prime location puts you within walking distance of several exciting attractions, such as Broadway theaters, Central Park, Madison Square Garden, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Madame Tussauds and Ripley's Believe It or Not.

Restaurant Row is a short strip, consisting of a myriad of different types of high-end and more casual cuisines. Times Square is famous for its outdoor vendors and live entertainment. Public transportation is available with public bus stops and several subway entrances nearby.

Nearby attractions

The hotel has a concierge and an on-site, 24-hour convenience store. There is self parking (fees apply).

 

Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center
Transportation
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center
Entertainment

Amenities-packed Midtown hotel in Times Square, Theater District

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Garden Inn Times Square also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$118
4.3 / 5 218 reviews
★★★
$152
4.4 / 5 284 reviews
★★★★
$199
4.2 / 5 279 reviews
★★★★
$143
4.2 / 5 390 reviews
★★★
$114
3.6 / 5 1,363 reviews
★★★★
$155
4.0 / 5 210 reviews
★★
$139
3.6 / 5 103 reviews
★★★
$126
3.2 / 5 408 reviews
★★★
$130
3.7 / 5 186 reviews

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
321 out of 321
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scabole
Couples
PA
Nov 10, 2013

Great location, close to many things in walking distance

Staff were friendly and accommodating. Was allowed to check baggage prior to and after check out with train reservations prior to check in and after check out. For 1st time visit to NY city they made it a positive one,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

David Letterman Show was great and more than we expected. Shopping, Rockefellar Center was nice as well as the many stores we offered. Friendly City.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Adem H
Single
NC
Jan 12, 2014

Not good

Breakfast area was terrible. Waiter named Juan was rude and irrespectful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chopper Dale
Couples
Winchester, KY
Jan 23, 2014

Disappointment

When we arrived we were not given our breakfast vouchers. We were unaware of needing them which lead to a embarrassing situation the next morning at the restaurant the next morning. Our room was next to the linen closet and elevator. We did not get one good nights sleep out of the four we stayed there. The refrigerator in the room did not work and the microwave would cracket and pop when used. All the activities in NYC was great as usual and we will be back to NYC in the summer but not at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

For an experience not to be missed is to eat at The Russian Tea Room. It is a little expensive, but well worth it. The food is excellent as is the service and the interior is too beautiful to describe.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tiffi Cartier
Friends
Alabama
Dec 9, 2013

Great location

Room was a nice size but on second floor overlooking all air conditioners with absolutely horrible view. The breakfast information described was very misleading since it is only free available for Hilton Gold members . Two nights we had to call for toliet tissue because no extra rolls were left by housekeeping. Plumbing issues in hotel caused toliets and all running water to be disgustingly brown and the toliets looked like backed up sewage which hotel described as sludge. Did send bottled water to room so I could take medication. As far as location...It is great for theater and Times Square. Management did present restaurant certificates after I complained and breakfast was very good. You can not earn hotel points when boking with third party ! Lesson learned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sarah Happy birthday Lee
Couples
Baltimore, Maryland
Feb 1, 2014

First time in the city

Great location nice size room thin walls (I could hear everything outside my door) Right over the subway (I heard it every 10 minutes)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IrishEyes
Friends
Ireland
Aug 15, 2011

Great location, but a bit expensive

On the plus side, hotel was nice and clean and in a really good location. The staff were fine. The ergonomic chair was sold as a big plus, but is probably more suited to business clients. On the minus side, the lighting in the room was very poor and the coffee maker was difficult to fill, because of its position - these are two problems that could easily be fixed with a little thought. I discovered too late that the New York Today newspaper is included in the hotel price as a default, and guests have to opt out or they are charged. This is petty and wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Check out the New York Pass if you're thinking of seeing the big tourist sites - Met, MoMA, Empire State, Liberty, etc. as you may save money if you're doing all 6 of them!

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eng.
Couples
Mayaguez,PR
Oct 26, 2011

Couple nice place.

We were at a Broadway theater,and the hotel is at a perfect location. We have already decide to go back to this hotel on our next trip to NY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pete Nelson
Single
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Feb 9, 2012

Too many noise but is New York

Staff Aplus...free internet great!!!..near subway stop...great!!!...city noise to load!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KarlaandCharlie
Family
Grand Prairie, TX
Jul 23, 2013

Double Charged

Although I pre-paid for my hotel, the hotel charged my credit card for the full amount. The hotel would not remove it and stated that I had to call my bank to resolve. Their attitude was "oh well, technology mistakes happen". The desk clerk even told me its happened to her, as if that was supposed to make me feel better?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Remember that the Broadway shows are limited on Sunday evenings and Monday nights.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RV1234
Couples
New York
Sep 4, 2013

Guest

Good for the price & location, I would recommend it to someone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 20, 2010

Good location for the price

My husband and I wanted to get away for a few days, it was his first time in New York city. I would say the hotel was average, but it was what I was expecting for the money that I'd paid. It was clean with a very comfortable bed, the location was great and the staff was very helpful. Our only complaint was that in the 6th floor you could hear the subway train when it passed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top