$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

3 stars
790 Eighth Avenue, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
326 reviews
Awesome!

This was my very first time visiting the big city and I must say the hotel was very affordable and... See full review

  • Bee27
  • Jul 25, 2014
Great Experience

Great location, free wifi, comfortable stay, nice view, friendly staff. See full review

  • traveler5079
  • Jul 4, 2014
Amenities-packed Midtown hotel in Times Square, Theater District
The Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is packed with amenities. Travelers can dine at the on-site French bistro, take in sunset views at the rooftop lounge, and pick up last-minute necessities at the 24-hour convenience store. The free fitness and business centers are open 24 hours. Microwaves, mini refrigerators and free Wi-Fi provide the comforts of home in the rooms.
Highlights
  • Spacious rooms with mini refrigerators and microwaves
  • Free 24-hour fitness center
  • In the heart of the Theater District and Times Square shopping
Location

The Eugene O'Neill Theater is around the corner, and the Gershwin and Brooks Atkinson theaters are within two blocks of the hotel. The Times Square TKTS booth is nearby. Broadway is packed with shops.

Rooms

The spacious rooms are more than 300 square feet and feature beds with 250-thread-count sheets. Amenities include flat-screen TVs with complimentary HBO, free Wi-Fi, mini refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards. Bathrooms have hairdryers and Neutrogena bath amenities. Special PURE rooms are cleaned with anti-allergy cleaners and have improved air quality.

Features

The hotel has a concierge and an on-site, 24-hour convenience store. There is self parking (fees apply).

 

Dining

On-site Pigalle Restaurant is modeled after a 1950s Paris cafe. The restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner from 7 a.m. to 2 a.m. daily. Room service provided by Pigalle is available from 5 to 9 p.m. The hotel provides complimentary coffee and tea service from 6 to 10:30 a.m. daily. Rooftop lounge Highbar features views of sunsets over the Hudson River. Highbar is open Tuesday through Saturday.

 

Times Square boasts hundreds of restaurants to suit every taste. Eateries close to the hotel include Ruby Foo's (Pan-Asian), Dallas BBQ, Café Cielo (Italian) and Pongsri (Thai). Nearby Food Emporium is a full-service grocery store with fresh-baked breads, imported cheeses and fine chocolates.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport (25 minutes)
  • Newark International Airport (30 minutes)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 50th St (1 minute walking)
Attractions
  • Times Square (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Broadway theaters (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • Radio City Music Hall (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center

Hotel Map

40.7614 -73.9865
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 10.00, MI, NE; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 18.00, MI, SE; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 17.00, MI, E;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Garden Inn Times Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (326)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
326 out of 326
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
super sara jane
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 12, 2013

12 hours in NYC

My husband and I flew into LGA (5 hour delay from MSP) and checked into the hotel, the gentleman behind the counter was very pleasant, helpful, and offered me a cookie (awesome). The location was great to take a quick walk to Times Square and admire the lights and people watch. Many restaurants and bars nearby. The hotel was quiet - and they provided earplugs for the light-sleeper (me) but I didn't even need them! We took a $6 cab ride to Penn Station and were on our way to Grandma's 90th birthday in NJ.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Delicious late-night pizza/sandwich shop 1/2 a block away

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelDiva
Atlanta
Nov 16, 2010

NYC

The hotel was nice and convenient to everything. We also enjoyed the restaurant. We had brunch there twice. I'd stay here again and certainly recommend it for the price and convenience to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gypsy
France
Dec 23, 2010

Good Location

We only took the bed option so can't comment on the food. The room was comfortable, and clean with microwave, fridge and coffee maker. Only down side was a small bath, but for a few nights it was fine. 1o mins to Central Park and 5 mins to Times Square, great location. Not to do with the hotel but if you are booking flights too I would strongly suggest using a European carrier so that if the flight is canceled they have to put you up, we were with Continental and had to fend for ourselves, I would not recommend traveling with Continental.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you want to do a few sights buy the city pass it will save you money.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Webster
Pasadena, CA
Jan 10, 2011

Good Location, Friendly Staff

We picked this hotel for its location and it was fine for our needs: close to the Theater District with good subway stations close by. The room was clean and well maintained with comfortable beds. The only complaints we had were that the black out curtains did not go all the across the window which was strange and the appliances( coffee maker, microwave, etc) were all black in a dark part of the room. Actually most of the room was dark unless the desk light was on. Reading in bed was difficult.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good Ethiopian Restaurant "Meskerem" on Restaurant Row less than 15 minute walk from hotel( 468 W. 47th Street)

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Felguerina
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Feb 13, 2011

Good place to stay

Great location and friendly employees. It is a great place to stay in the heart of NYC. Close to theaters, shopping, great delis and lots of ethnic restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Switzerland
Feb 15, 2011

Really great experience!!!

We had an absolutely great time at the hilton garden inn! The location is awesome, just a few steps from Times Square and the best Broadway shows in time! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful! The room was great: clean, a lot of space, confortable beds, nice bathroom, an empty fridge to put your own take-out :o) and a microwave to re-heat your leftovers or the food you can buy in the 24 hour shop in the lobby.. in the mornings there is free Starbucks coffee and tea! The staff at the helpdesk is very friendly and gives you honest tips, without trying to convince you to do something you don't really want to do..! The only (minor) minus point would be, that, maybe due to its central location, there are a few noises (subway, building sites, the street...), but it never stopped us from having a good night's sleep! I would recommend the Hilton Garden Inn to anyone! You really get what they advertise for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colum
Not Provided
May 8, 2009

The hotel was nice and the room

The hotel was nice and the room was spacious. We paid something like €270 a night, which was way too much. I notice now the prices are way down. I dunno what the story is. We went late April 2009. I would describe it as good a standard 3 star hotel. The hotel is smack bang in the middle of the threatre district so if that's your gig it's perfect. The hotel staff were very helpful and pleasant but we got wacked for US$17 each for 2 phonecalls home that lasted about 2 minutes each which was annoying. Personally I won't stay on 8th Avenue down to 5th in this Threatre area again if I was going again it's way too busy. But I guess that's NYC and it's a personal view. It might suit others. NYC itself is class and we found it very safe. They are cops everywhere but not intrusive. It's almost part of the buzz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hello tomorrow
Not Provided
Sep 21, 2009

The Hilton Gardens Inn Times Square

The Hilton Gardens Inn Times Square is in a great location - 8th Ave b/w 49th and 48th Streets, only a block or so from Times Square and a short walk to 48th/47th and 8th Ave to where Grayline HOHO buses start. Breakfast wasn't included - considering the price paid it would have been appreciated - but we had a small fridge and a microwave so we bought breakfast needs from a nearby grocery store. Food Emporium on 49th and 8th and has everything you need + more. Free internet connection was good, the bathroom was clean and the size of the room was good. Negatives - the bed was a double, not a Queen by Aussie stds IMO, and the pillows were changed at our request (too high and hard). Vaccuming was hit and miss but other than that, no big issues. Free biscuits (cookies) from about 5.20pm to about 7pm were available at the front desk weeknights and free newspapers supplied only on weekdays to your door. (Couple from Australia, stayed 7 nights in Sept 2009)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kayellen
Wisconsin
Aug 4, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price.

Perfectly located to access everything we wanted to do in New York-bus tours, broadway shows, restaurants on our meal pass, and Times Square Church! The hotel and room were very clean and comfortable. The friendly staff was very helpful. This trip was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We bought tour bus tickets, 2-day meal passes, and shuttle service to and from the airport with our package-that worked out great! It saved trying to figure out where to eat, with some great choices. Don't miss Ellen's Stardust Diner for breakfast-be entertained by talented singing wait staff. Buy theatre tickets after you get there, at the theaters. We even got a half-price coupon for Adams Family while walking down Broadway Street! We got good seats for three wonderful shows.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canuk18
Moss Point, MS, USA
Aug 15, 2011

great new york getaway

Hotel was in a great location. Didn't hear any traffic noise from the room. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Malissa
Texas, USA
Oct 9, 2011

Great place to stay for the money.

everything was great except the bathtub would not drain properly while in the shower. Which left you standing in a couple of inches of water. But the staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Wear comfortable walking shoes and learn how to use the subway.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search