$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

3 stars
790 Eighth Avenue, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
326 reviews
Awesome!

This was my very first time visiting the big city and I must say the hotel was very affordable and... See full review

  • Bee27
  • Jul 25, 2014
Great Experience

Great location, free wifi, comfortable stay, nice view, friendly staff. See full review

  • traveler5079
  • Jul 4, 2014
Amenities-packed Midtown hotel in Times Square, Theater District
The Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is packed with amenities. Travelers can dine at the on-site French bistro, take in sunset views at the rooftop lounge, and pick up last-minute necessities at the 24-hour convenience store. The free fitness and business centers are open 24 hours. Microwaves, mini refrigerators and free Wi-Fi provide the comforts of home in the rooms.
Highlights
  • Spacious rooms with mini refrigerators and microwaves
  • Free 24-hour fitness center
  • In the heart of the Theater District and Times Square shopping
Location

The Eugene O'Neill Theater is around the corner, and the Gershwin and Brooks Atkinson theaters are within two blocks of the hotel. The Times Square TKTS booth is nearby. Broadway is packed with shops.

Rooms

The spacious rooms are more than 300 square feet and feature beds with 250-thread-count sheets. Amenities include flat-screen TVs with complimentary HBO, free Wi-Fi, mini refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards. Bathrooms have hairdryers and Neutrogena bath amenities. Special PURE rooms are cleaned with anti-allergy cleaners and have improved air quality.

Features

The hotel has a concierge and an on-site, 24-hour convenience store. There is self parking (fees apply).

 

Dining

On-site Pigalle Restaurant is modeled after a 1950s Paris cafe. The restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner from 7 a.m. to 2 a.m. daily. Room service provided by Pigalle is available from 5 to 9 p.m. The hotel provides complimentary coffee and tea service from 6 to 10:30 a.m. daily. Rooftop lounge Highbar features views of sunsets over the Hudson River. Highbar is open Tuesday through Saturday.

 

Times Square boasts hundreds of restaurants to suit every taste. Eateries close to the hotel include Ruby Foo's (Pan-Asian), Dallas BBQ, Café Cielo (Italian) and Pongsri (Thai). Nearby Food Emporium is a full-service grocery store with fresh-baked breads, imported cheeses and fine chocolates.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport (25 minutes)
  • Newark International Airport (30 minutes)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 50th St (1 minute walking)
Attractions
  • Times Square (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Broadway theaters (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • Radio City Music Hall (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center

Hotel Map

40.7614 -73.9865
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 10.00, MI, NE; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 18.00, MI, SE; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 17.00, MI, E;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Garden Inn Times Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (326)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
326 out of 326
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, Ga
Sep 23, 2009

Sleeping over the subway!!

No exhaust vents or makeup mirrors in the bathroom Bathroom ceiling leaked causing stuff to fall into the tub. Our room was on the second floor. The rumble from the subway was extremely annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington
Sep 13, 2008

Basic

The title says it all. No particular quality stands out. An overnight trip to NYC and no standouts which could be a good thing but ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Master
Miami ,Florida.
Aug 16, 2011

An acepptable hotel

Clean somewhat small rooms. Very well located. Staff helpful. In generic I would recommend it. Maybe somewhat expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Anchorage, AK
Jul 31, 2011

Convenient location; our room was noisy

Stayed in a king room with a couch bed with my two grown kids in mid-July 2011. We have all traveled extensively both in the U.S. and abroad. Bed was comfy and adjustable; couch bed was a little firm because it was just a pleather fouton, no mattress, made up with two flat sheets and a blanket from the closet. Second floor corner room with a very bad view of a broken generator next to some HVAC equipment. Felt the vibrations from the subway, and heard lots of street noise. Bathroom amenities included ear plugs, as well as Neutrogena products. Bathroom was a little small, but it was very clean. Refrigerator and microwave were very clean and handy. Free wi-fi was very convenient, and there were a lot of electrical outlets. Did not eat at the restaurant; chose instead to go across the street to the grocery store/deli for $4 breakfast sandwiches and snacks, and out for lunch and dinner. Property was very convenient to subway stations, theaters, and nice dinner restaurants: within easy walking distance to all. Easy (for us) walking distance to upper Midtown attractions such as Grand Central and Rockefeller Center. One stop from Columbus Circle/Central Park, two or three from Union Square. Felt very secure since there were often two very competent-looking employees asking to see room keys before guests could enter the elevator. Check in was maybe 5 minutes; check out was maybe 1 minute. The one concierge I spoke with about theater tickets was very helpful, professional, and knowledgeable. (In the end, however, I decided to use my Playbill discount, and not the concierge service.) The 24-hour convenience store within the hotel was stocked with just about one of everything, from tummy medicines to protein bars to I Heart NY nail files, and the clerks were friendly and helpful. I would stay there again, but request a room above the third or fourth floor, because of the noise and vibration.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery store across the street offered egg sandwiches and a cuppa joe for a few dollars, as well as microwavable nationally-branded soups and noodle bowls. Lots of street food carts in the area as well. Some good lunch and dinner restaurants nearby, which we found by carefully reading reviews posted to social media apps and websites.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
W. Bloomfield, Mi.
Nov 6, 2009

An okay place to stay

We were given a room on the 2nd floor where we could hear the subway which ran underneath the hotel. We realized this too late during our 1st night stay. We requested a different room higher up and the only rooms that were available were smoking rooms. No good for us since we both suffer from allergies. They did provide us with ear plugs which took care of the noise. We were also provided with a complimentary breakfast the next morning in their restaurant. They also had offered to switch our room during the next day and would move our belongings for us. We decided to stay where we were and use the ear plugs. Overall, it's a great location if you're going to the theatre and shopping. The room was rather small and we did expect to at least have a couple of chairs to sit in besides the one at the desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
Jul 16, 2010

Great Locarion

We were close to the subway stations, Time Square, good restaurants, all the Broadway shows, drugstores, grocery stores, package stores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black widow
melbourne, fl
Jan 3, 2014

excellent location

excellent location and friendly staff for good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cmgp
Lima, Peru
Jan 8, 2014

Great place to stay

Very central, nice staff, great price! Def. a place to stay in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller Jupiter
Jupiter, Florida
Jan 13, 2014

Great location

The location was great, great value for y.our money . Easy access to time square. I will book the same hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Theaters

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Dude
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 20, 2014

Great bargain - better than full blow hilton hotels

Had a great stay, super value. Room was in better condition than the Hilton Midtown, for less than half the price. Highly recommended from a frequent business traveler

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search