Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

3 stars
View map of 790 Eighth Avenue, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
318 reviews
Fun trip

I've chosen to stay here on 4 different trips because of its perfect location to the theaters and... See full review

  • Feon
  • Jun 7, 2015
nice trip

I stayed over the Christmas eve. Nice room. great value for money. See full review

  • Bing L.
  • Mar 10, 2015
The Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is packed with amenities. Travelers can dine at the on-site French bistro, take in sunset views at the rooftop lounge, and pick up last-minute necessities at the 24-hour convenience store. The free fitness and business centers are open 24 hours. Microwaves, mini refrigerators and free Wi-Fi provide the comforts of home in the rooms.
General
  • Times Square (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Broadway theaters (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • Radio City Music Hall (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
Location

The Eugene O'Neill Theater is around the corner, and the Gershwin and Brooks Atkinson theaters are within two blocks of the hotel. The Times Square TKTS booth is nearby. Broadway is packed with shops.

Dining

On-site Pigalle Restaurant is modeled after a 1950s Paris cafe. The restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner from 7 a.m. to 2 a.m. daily. Room service provided by Pigalle is available from 5 to 9 p.m. The hotel provides complimentary coffee and tea service from 6 to 10:30 a.m. daily. Rooftop lounge Highbar features views of sunsets over the Hudson River. Highbar is open Tuesday through Saturday.

 

Times Square boasts hundreds of restaurants to suit every taste. Eateries close to the hotel include Ruby Foo's (Pan-Asian), Dallas BBQ, Café Cielo (Italian) and Pongsri (Thai). Nearby Food Emporium is a full-service grocery store with fresh-baked breads, imported cheeses and fine chocolates.

Rooms

The spacious rooms are more than 300 square feet and feature beds with 250-thread-count sheets. Amenities include flat-screen TVs with complimentary HBO, free Wi-Fi, mini refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards. Bathrooms have hairdryers and Neutrogena bath amenities. Special PURE rooms are cleaned with anti-allergy cleaners and have improved air quality.

Property features
  • Spacious rooms with mini refrigerators and microwaves
  • Free 24-hour fitness center
  • In the heart of the Theater District and Times Square shopping
Highlights

The Hilton Garden Inn is nestled on 42nd Street between 6th and Broadway, just a few feet away from Times Square. The Garden Grille, a 24-hour Pavilion Pantry, and the lobby bar are great places to grab a drink, or a bite to eat, if you’re staying in. The hotel's prime location puts you within walking distance of several exciting attractions, such as Broadway theaters, Central Park, Madison Square Garden, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Madame Tussauds and Ripley's Believe It or Not.

Restaurant Row is a short strip, consisting of a myriad of different types of high-end and more casual cuisines. Times Square is famous for its outdoor vendors and live entertainment. Public transportation is available with public bus stops and several subway entrances nearby.

Nearby attractions

The hotel has a concierge and an on-site, 24-hour convenience store. There is self parking (fees apply).

 

Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center
Transportation
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center
Entertainment

Amenities-packed Midtown hotel in Times Square, Theater District

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Hotel Map

40.7614 -73.9865
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 10.00, MI, NE; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 18.00, MI, SE; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 17.00, MI, E;

Nearby points of interest

  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (318)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
318 out of 318
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
frankiepro
Business
fla,connecticut
Nov 26, 2009

hilton garden in ntc

great ,staff was fun,and respectful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

little italy

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT
Nov 23, 2009

You'd be a fool for not staying here

Hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. One block walking distance to Times Square. You are in the middle of it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks a few store fronts over was a great idea for a snack/small meal without spending a ton of money.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
W. Bloomfield, Mi.
Nov 6, 2009

An okay place to stay

We were given a room on the 2nd floor where we could hear the subway which ran underneath the hotel. We realized this too late during our 1st night stay. We requested a different room higher up and the only rooms that were available were smoking rooms. No good for us since we both suffer from allergies. They did provide us with ear plugs which took care of the noise. We were also provided with a complimentary breakfast the next morning in their restaurant. They also had offered to switch our room during the next day and would move our belongings for us. We decided to stay where we were and use the ear plugs. Overall, it's a great location if you're going to the theatre and shopping. The room was rather small and we did expect to at least have a couple of chairs to sit in besides the one at the desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Oct 22, 2009

Subway noise?

We liked the location. It was easy to find for taxi's and centrally located to all we wanted to see. No single taxi ride was too expensive. The food situation was EXPENSIVE. Average $28 for two to have breakfast and NOT included in the price of the hotel. The food and service in the restaurant was average. The bed in the room had a hump in the middle, so we were constantly waking up to try to not fall out of bed. The staff of the hotel were very friendly and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a NYC City Pass. Worth the money and the time savings. Cut down on standing in lines a lot.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Friday Night Knitting Club
Business
St. Paul, MN
Oct 12, 2009

Great Hotel Rooms, Excellent Service"

Very friendly and accomodating front desk staff and concierge staff. Excellent location and very close to times square and broadway. The restaurant was over priced and the service was average at best. We waited over 15 minutes at the bar before being asked what we would like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Grey Line Bus Tours are an excellent way to see lots of sights in a short period of time! There is a stop right outside the hotel doors.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Oct 4, 2009

Great Theatre District Hotel

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square. The service was outstanding! I felt safe with someone always checking room keys before allowing us to enter the elevator. The concierge was very kind and helpful. The room was very comfortable. The linens were crisp, clean and of good quality. The firmness of the bed is adjustable. The location is the best. It is within a few blocks of most theatres. My favorite restaurant in the area is Ristorante Il Melograno on the northwest corner of 51st and 8th Avenue, a 10 minute walk. A small family owned Italian restaurant with delicious food and friendly service. The prices are reasonable too. The only negative thing I was in room 207. It was right behind the elevators. I always use earplugs to sleep so it didn't bother me that much. Without them, I wouldn't have gotten much sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TracyMick
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 24, 2009

Great hotel, decent price - Times Square

Great experience at this hotel - highly recommend it to NY visitors. Located at 8th Ave btwn 48-49th Streets, perfect spot for sightseeing and getting around. Blue line subway was one block up, Times Square was a two minte walk away, Rockefeller was 3 blocks over. Room on 6th floor was amazingly quiet and darkening shades blocked out the street lights at night. All hotel staff was incredibly friendly and helpful - great service from the lobby attendant to the front desk to the gift shop. Room with 2 queen beds had plenty of room for four people and suitcases, etc. and the beds were RIDICULOUSLY comfortable, even for picky women! Bathroom was very clean. Have stayed at three other 3-4 star hotels near Times Square and this was the best so far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Patsy's Pizzeria at 8th and 74th on Upper West Side has fantastic oven-fired pizza... also Angelo's in Little Italy was AMAZING though very pricey.....

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Sep 23, 2009

Sleeping over the subway!!

No exhaust vents or makeup mirrors in the bathroom Bathroom ceiling leaked causing stuff to fall into the tub. Our room was on the second floor. The rumble from the subway was extremely annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sydney, Australia
Sep 16, 2009

Fantastic location!

Convenience plays an important part whilst on vacation. Hilton Garden Inn is situated just minutes from Times Square. Everything you will ever need while in NYC is just minutes away. The staff were friendly, free wireless internet, rooms were clean, and the refrigerator and microwave in the room made the stay a little more enjoyable. It's funny how you appreciate the simple things in life while on vacation. Definately will be coming back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Trinidad
Sep 16, 2009

Good location

Close to all the action; Broadway, Time Square, Sight seeing etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top