$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

3 stars
View map of 790 Eighth Avenue, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
321 out of 321
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
UK
Nov 30, 2009

Good location close to every thing.

On arrival hotel computer system was down and initially we were allocated x2 rooms already occupied' 3rd allocation was to a smoking room that had to be changed the next day to non smoking as per booking. Reception staff not good under pressure. That said most staff friendly / helpful, very good location and I would stay there again. Alan Payne.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the two day bus tour ticket and go to Ellis / Liberty Island early.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rossross
Couples
London, UK
Nov 27, 2009

Fantastic!

We have stayed in many New York hotels and are always a bit concerned about booking as NY hotels are not always known for quality and size. However the Hilton Garden Inn was fantastic and affordable. From a tourist's point of view it is the best location you could get being only a few minutes walk to Times Square. The staff were so friendly and always pleasant when going in and out. I will definitely be staying at the Hilton Garden Inn next time I'm in NY. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rossross
Couples
London, UK
Nov 27, 2009

Fantastic!

We have stayed in many New York hotels and are always a bit concerned about booking as NY hotels are not always known for quality and size. However the Hilton Garden Inn was fantastic and affordable. From a tourist's point of view it is the best location you could get being only a few minutes walk to Times Square. The staff were so friendly and always pleasant when going in and out. I will definitely be staying at the Hilton Garden Inn next time I'm in NY. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
frankiepro
Family
fla,connecticut
Nov 26, 2009

hilton garden in ntc

great ,staff was fun,and respectful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

little italy

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Hartford, CT
Nov 23, 2009

You'd be a fool for not staying here

Hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. One block walking distance to Times Square. You are in the middle of it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks a few store fronts over was a great idea for a snack/small meal without spending a ton of money.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
W. Bloomfield, Mi.
Nov 6, 2009

An okay place to stay

We were given a room on the 2nd floor where we could hear the subway which ran underneath the hotel. We realized this too late during our 1st night stay. We requested a different room higher up and the only rooms that were available were smoking rooms. No good for us since we both suffer from allergies. They did provide us with ear plugs which took care of the noise. We were also provided with a complimentary breakfast the next morning in their restaurant. They also had offered to switch our room during the next day and would move our belongings for us. We decided to stay where we were and use the ear plugs. Overall, it's a great location if you're going to the theatre and shopping. The room was rather small and we did expect to at least have a couple of chairs to sit in besides the one at the desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Antonio, Texas
Oct 22, 2009

Subway noise?

We liked the location. It was easy to find for taxi's and centrally located to all we wanted to see. No single taxi ride was too expensive. The food situation was EXPENSIVE. Average $28 for two to have breakfast and NOT included in the price of the hotel. The food and service in the restaurant was average. The bed in the room had a hump in the middle, so we were constantly waking up to try to not fall out of bed. The staff of the hotel were very friendly and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a NYC City Pass. Worth the money and the time savings. Cut down on standing in lines a lot.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Friday Night Knitting Club
Friends
St. Paul, MN
Oct 12, 2009

Great Hotel Rooms, Excellent Service"

Very friendly and accomodating front desk staff and concierge staff. Excellent location and very close to times square and broadway. The restaurant was over priced and the service was average at best. We waited over 15 minutes at the bar before being asked what we would like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Grey Line Bus Tours are an excellent way to see lots of sights in a short period of time! There is a stop right outside the hotel doors.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Omaha, NE
Oct 4, 2009

Great Theatre District Hotel

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square. The service was outstanding! I felt safe with someone always checking room keys before allowing us to enter the elevator. The concierge was very kind and helpful. The room was very comfortable. The linens were crisp, clean and of good quality. The firmness of the bed is adjustable. The location is the best. It is within a few blocks of most theatres. My favorite restaurant in the area is Ristorante Il Melograno on the northwest corner of 51st and 8th Avenue, a 10 minute walk. A small family owned Italian restaurant with delicious food and friendly service. The prices are reasonable too. The only negative thing I was in room 207. It was right behind the elevators. I always use earplugs to sleep so it didn't bother me that much. Without them, I wouldn't have gotten much sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TracyMick
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 24, 2009

Great hotel, decent price - Times Square

Great experience at this hotel - highly recommend it to NY visitors. Located at 8th Ave btwn 48-49th Streets, perfect spot for sightseeing and getting around. Blue line subway was one block up, Times Square was a two minte walk away, Rockefeller was 3 blocks over. Room on 6th floor was amazingly quiet and darkening shades blocked out the street lights at night. All hotel staff was incredibly friendly and helpful - great service from the lobby attendant to the front desk to the gift shop. Room with 2 queen beds had plenty of room for four people and suitcases, etc. and the beds were RIDICULOUSLY comfortable, even for picky women! Bathroom was very clean. Have stayed at three other 3-4 star hotels near Times Square and this was the best so far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Patsy's Pizzeria at 8th and 74th on Upper West Side has fantastic oven-fired pizza... also Angelo's in Little Italy was AMAZING though very pricey.....

Back to menu Return to top