$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 31, 2015

Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

3 stars
View map of 337 West 39th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
139 reviews
Garment District Hotel

I enjoyed this hotel in the garment district. It's nice because the area is quiet, and as a big... See full review

  • Laserman
  • Mar 15, 2015
Awesome short weekend in NYC!

Wonderful hotel. Inexpensive. Great location. Will book here again!! See full review

  • Soultree
  • Dec 22, 2014
Convenient location and free amenities draw travelers to this Times Square hotel. The hotel is about four blocks from Times Square and Broadway theaters. It's a short walk to Macy's and Madison Square Garden. There is a free hot breakfast buffet and free in-room Wi-Fi. A fitness center and concierge desk are among the other hotel services.
Location

The hotel puts guests just a few short blocks from Times Square and Broadway theaters. The hotel is in the middle of the Garment District, the fashion center of New York. Parsons the New School for Design is a couple of blocks away, and the surrounding streets are filled with specialty fabric shops.

 

Rooms

The 184 rooms come with either one king or two double beds. Slate-blue accent walls provide a vibrant touch in the otherwise neutral-colored rooms.  Rooms come with 32-inch LCD TVs, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, bath amenities and free Wi-Fi.

Property features

The hotel provides a fitness center and concierge desk. Complimentary coffee and tea are available in the lobby. The hotel provides a daily complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Travelers will find plenty of nearby restaurants from which to choose, including local delis, national chains, four-star cuisine and ethnic food of all varieties.

Highlights
  • Complimentary hot breakfast buffet daily
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Walk to Times Square

 

Nearby attractions
  • Madison Square Garden (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Times Square (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Central Park (1.2 mi/ 2 km)

 

Business
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi
Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 42nd St. - Port Authority (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Penn Station (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)

 

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Exercise gym
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nurse Dena
Business
Manhattan Time Square South
Jul 17, 2013

Time for New York

We have stayed at the Hampton Inn Time square North and loved it, but what a mistake Time square South was. Our sheets smelled of urine. We had called down to the front desk at 0800 and asked to have our room cleaned early. We were told house keeping doesnt come until 10:00. I said ok, well the if we could have it cleaned ASAP after 10:00. We left for several hours and reurned at 1600 to find our room not cleaned. We called the front desk again and complained, as we had hoped to come in and rest before we were to get ready for a Play. Instead we waited in the lobby another hour, ad when I went to see if our room was it still had not been cleaned. We complained and requested to switch to Time Square North. We stayed there the remaining two nights and had a fantastic stay there. Very disatisified with Hapmton Inn Time square South.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 23, 2010

Not what I paid for

The hotel staff was extremely unprofessional. I had a do not disturb sign posted on the door, yet they still took it upon themselves to barge in the room without notice twice within the same hour. Additionally, the cleaning staff began their cleaning at 6 am yelling and singing through the halls. This interrupted everyone's sleep, yet they still did not comply with our request.Cleanliness was also not a top priority. I'm not sure what they did in the rooms, because the bathroom was filthy. residue from the previous visitors were all over the toilet fixture and bathtub. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Especially for the high price you pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Spunkster007
Business
Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Good location rooms too small

Good location great staff but rooms are too small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sleepless in New York
Business
Columbia,SC
Apr 8, 2010

Not a great Hampton

Front Desk people helpful and friendly. Housekeeping never left enough clean towels and had to be called everyday. Pretty sure the room was not vacuumed prior to arrival as was evident from chips next to night stand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shiney10
Business
Rockville, MD
Feb 3, 2014

Great value

The hotel was a short walk to Penn Station. i was clean, responible price and good location. No need for a cab to go to Timkes Square or Penn Station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

in the heart of times square

Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buddie
Business
Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK
Oct 7, 2011

Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

The hotel location was very central and 10/15 minute walk to Times Square and subway. Our room was only cleaned once during our 4 day stay and that was when we requested this otherwise you make your own bed. Be aware that they charge a $75 deposit to your credit card which is refunded a week to 10 days later. The breakfast was good but the dining room does get very crowded in the morning. Free wifi and PC room with printer was very good for checking in for flight and printing facility for printing boarding cards. Overall the hotel was very good but pricey due to location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We booked our attraction tickets with Attractions UK before we left the UK. The World Yacht cruise is good but food average. Book the extra drinks package to be sure of not being charged a fortune.

Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr Clic
Business
Lebanon, PA
Apr 17, 2013

Location was perfect

Close to Port Authority, Javitz Convention center and so many eating and nightlife option. Perfect for the trip I had planned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Saved on cab fare by being centrally located to where I needed to go

Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ABeckett
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 27, 2013

Great Customer Service, Musty room.

The customer service at the hotel was amazing. I sat in the lobby and watched the front desk staff interact with guest and they were great. Front Desk Agent Jennifer especially should be commended. She was excellent. She was pleasant and patient with her guest and a pleasure for customers to interact with. As far as the hotel… Our room unfortunately was very musty and cramped for a double. It was good in a pinch but uncomfortable to stay in. Breakfast is a Zoo! Maybe a small charge would cut down on the traffic. I like to get my butter for my bagel and not have everyone think I'm cutting the line. Too crowded. Overall the location made it worth the value. It's just a shame that the great customer service didn't match the level of the overall hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

TKTS

Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Mom21
Business
Nevada
Nov 18, 2013

Great location, small room

Very nice and helpful staff, good central location. rooms are small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Berlin, WI
Mar 18, 2011

Hampton Inn Time Square South

I have stayed at a number of Hampton Inns over the past couple of years. I have enjoyed the comfortable beds and pillows during each stay. This hotel beds and pillows were okay. I have had better. The location was great, walking distance to Time Square, Theatre District, Empire State building and Rockfeller Center. One complaint is construction across the street from our room. Work began at 6 am. I wish this was noted during reservation. I would have considered a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Purchase tickets before you get to New York. Major shows were sold out. Also purchase New York City pass verse New York pass. New York City pass offers 6 major attraction with fast entry. Avoid the long lines.

Back to menu Return to top