$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

3 stars
337 West 39th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
144 reviews
Excellent budget hotel

We stayed for a night and I look forward to going back. Very friendly staff; great breakfast... See full review

  • LoveTravleling
  • Oct 31, 2014
Chosen for location

Staff could not have been more helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Hotel was like new! All round... See full review

  • JGIBN
  • Aug 2, 2014
Times Square budget-friendly hotel with free hot breakfast, Wi-Fi
Convenient location and free amenities draw travelers to this Times Square hotel. The hotel is about four blocks from Times Square and Broadway theaters. It's a short walk to Macy's and Madison Square Garden. There is a free hot breakfast buffet and free in-room Wi-Fi. A fitness center and concierge desk are among the other hotel services.
Highlights
  • Complimentary hot breakfast buffet daily
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Walk to Times Square

 

Location

The hotel puts guests just a few short blocks from Times Square and Broadway theaters. The hotel is in the middle of the Garment District, the fashion center of New York. Parsons the New School for Design is a couple of blocks away, and the surrounding streets are filled with specialty fabric shops.

 

Rooms

The 184 rooms come with either one king or two double beds. Slate-blue accent walls provide a vibrant touch in the otherwise neutral-colored rooms.  Rooms come with 32-inch LCD TVs, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, bath amenities and free Wi-Fi.

Features

The hotel provides a fitness center and concierge desk. Complimentary coffee and tea are available in the lobby. The hotel provides a daily complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Travelers will find plenty of nearby restaurants from which to choose, including local delis, national chains, four-star cuisine and ethnic food of all varieties.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 42nd St. - Port Authority (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Penn Station (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)

 

Attractions
  • Madison Square Garden (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Times Square (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Central Park (1.2 mi/ 2 km)

 

Business
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Exercise gym
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (144)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
New York
Aug 12, 2010

Disappointed

When we arrived at the hotel, two women who appeared to be prostitutes were sitting on the bench outside the hotel and yelled a profane comment to one of my friends. As I was traveling with a group of girlfriends, this experience understandably made us uncomfortable walking alone in the area, especially at night. The hotel staff moved extremely slow, but we did appreciate that they called up to the room within 15 minutes to check on our satisfaction with the accommodations. Our room had a peculiar smell of either bleach or mold (or both). The temperature was freezing, so we raised the thermostat four degrees. Within five minutes, we smelled a strong burning smell coming from the wall unit. So, we lowered the thermostat by a few degrees and remained cold in the room. Also, there were only two elevators in this rather large hotel and they moved very slowly. We had to wait at least three minutes each time - even when we came to our room at 4:00 a.m. When we arrived on our floor at 4:00 a.m., there was a man walking the hall (we hoped he worked for the hotel, but weren't sure) and he carried a walkie talkie that blasted loud comments that could be heard from inside the room. Lastly, the public restrooms, gym, and vending machines for the hotel are on the basement level. However, when we took the elevator to the basement, there were at least ten unfriendly employees standing around, talking loudly, socializing, crowding the hallway, which forced customers to meander through and walk around them to get to hotel facilities. I have stayed at several hotels in Midtown Manhattan, and this was, by far, the worst hotel experience I have ever had. I have stayed at other Hampton Inns across the country and even in the same part of town, and have always had a much more positive experience. Needless to say, I will never return to this hotel or recommend it. I would much rather pay more money to have a friendlier, cleaner, safer stay while visiting New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you need to store your luggage after checkout, the hotel will put it in a locked room until you need it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nurse Dena
Business
Manhattan Time Square South
Jul 17, 2013

Time for New York

We have stayed at the Hampton Inn Time square North and loved it, but what a mistake Time square South was. Our sheets smelled of urine. We had called down to the front desk at 0800 and asked to have our room cleaned early. We were told house keeping doesnt come until 10:00. I said ok, well the if we could have it cleaned ASAP after 10:00. We left for several hours and reurned at 1600 to find our room not cleaned. We called the front desk again and complained, as we had hoped to come in and rest before we were to get ready for a Play. Instead we waited in the lobby another hour, ad when I went to see if our room was it still had not been cleaned. We complained and requested to switch to Time Square North. We stayed there the remaining two nights and had a fantastic stay there. Very disatisified with Hapmton Inn Time square South.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 23, 2010

Not what I paid for

The hotel staff was extremely unprofessional. I had a do not disturb sign posted on the door, yet they still took it upon themselves to barge in the room without notice twice within the same hour. Additionally, the cleaning staff began their cleaning at 6 am yelling and singing through the halls. This interrupted everyone's sleep, yet they still did not comply with our request.Cleanliness was also not a top priority. I'm not sure what they did in the rooms, because the bathroom was filthy. residue from the previous visitors were all over the toilet fixture and bathtub. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Especially for the high price you pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas
Dec 30, 2009

Smaller then expected

Had a very hard time getting elevator from the 22nd floor. Not in the best location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Spunkster007
Business
Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Good location rooms too small

Good location great staff but rooms are too small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sleepless in New York
Business
Columbia,SC
Apr 8, 2010

Not a great Hampton

Front Desk people helpful and friendly. Housekeeping never left enough clean towels and had to be called everyday. Pretty sure the room was not vacuumed prior to arrival as was evident from chips next to night stand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shiney10
Business
Rockville, MD
Feb 3, 2014

Great value

The hotel was a short walk to Penn Station. i was clean, responible price and good location. No need for a cab to go to Timkes Square or Penn Station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

in the heart of times square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Regular traveller
Business
Brasilia, Brazil
Jun 18, 2010

Expensive, but OK

The hotel is OK, but the rooms are REALLY small. One doesn't expect (and certainly doesn't deserve) Hong Kong room sizes in Times Square, New York. Second: the location is great, near all attractions and transportation, but the street on which the hotel is located is not that good. Too much construction and carparks nearby, a night club just two doors away, garbage collection points and traffic is quite intense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
ma
Jun 22, 2010

not bad

it was ok.it is very nice for single night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PALAM
Business
ATLANTA GA
Jun 29, 2010

Over Raited

We were not happy at all. we ask for refund and cancle our reservation for next four days, but they didnot do it. It was very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top