$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 17, 2014

Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

3 stars
337 West 39th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
143 reviews
Chosen for location

Staff could not have been more helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Hotel was like new! All round... See full review

  • JGIBN
  • Aug 2, 2014
Awesome trip to N.Y

Everything was excellent, the room, the Breakfast, walking distant to everything. Expesive parking,... See full review

  • BOSS2011
  • Mar 27, 2014
Times Square budget-friendly hotel with free hot breakfast, Wi-Fi
Convenient location and free amenities draw travelers to this Times Square hotel. The hotel is about four blocks from Times Square and Broadway theaters. It's a short walk to Macy's and Madison Square Garden. There is a free hot breakfast buffet and free in-room Wi-Fi. A fitness center and concierge desk are among the other hotel services.
Highlights
  • Complimentary hot breakfast buffet daily
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Walk to Times Square

 

Location

The hotel puts guests just a few short blocks from Times Square and Broadway theaters. The hotel is in the middle of the Garment District, the fashion center of New York. Parsons the New School for Design is a couple of blocks away, and the surrounding streets are filled with specialty fabric shops.

 

Rooms

The 184 rooms come with either one king or two double beds. Slate-blue accent walls provide a vibrant touch in the otherwise neutral-colored rooms.  Rooms come with 32-inch LCD TVs, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, bath amenities and free Wi-Fi.

Features

The hotel provides a fitness center and concierge desk. Complimentary coffee and tea are available in the lobby. The hotel provides a daily complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Travelers will find plenty of nearby restaurants from which to choose, including local delis, national chains, four-star cuisine and ethnic food of all varieties.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 42nd St. - Port Authority (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Penn Station (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)

 

Attractions
  • Madison Square Garden (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Times Square (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Central Park (1.2 mi/ 2 km)

 

Business
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

40.7563 -73.993
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 15.00, MI, W; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 17.00, MI, W; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 18.00, MI, NE;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Exercise gym
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (143)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carrie982
Frederick, MD, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Good value great location

staff was very friendly and helpful, room was clean and hotel was in a good location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Ayza wine and chocolate bar down the street. It's about a 10 min walk from the hotel and it's amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tampa fla
Oct 18, 2010

the good and the bad

it was room dirty the bathroom was cloged i prefer hampton inn north

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Oct 18, 2010

New York Trip

We took a getaway trip for the weekend to New York City. The hotel was very nice. Nice, Friendly staff. Hotel was nice and clean and also included a free hot breakfast-that was a bonus! It was very close to a lot of attractions. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of fun things to do nearby. Short walk to times square where you can eat catch a broadway show or comedy show. Some many things to do. Just bring good walking shoes!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom taking a break
Business
Indiana
Oct 17, 2010

Hampton Inn Times Square South

The staff was very friendly and was able to accomadate needs. They even went above and beyond in that they helped with directions and gave tips on good places to eat. We didn't spend much time in the room but the time spent there was great. The location was awesome as it gave easy access to the subway lines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pick one fancy, casual or just to buy a slice they are all within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rometti
Business
Toronto, Canada
Oct 14, 2010

The housekeeping was not up to par

The front desk service was very good,the cleaning staff was not up to par they did not make up our bed one evening, and another it took two phone calls to get new towels which they forgot to put in the room when they made the bed.Breakfast could have had more variety.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A map of stores in nearby area would be useful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hhiryu
Business
Quakertown, PA
Oct 11, 2010

Long wait - unimpressive.

We booked this hotel because it had the best value/location for the price at such a short notice time. Staff was unimpressive and not very helpful. They were very polite, but fell short in providing adequate explanation for the two hour delay for our check in. Their only explanation was that someone was "supervising the final stages" of cleaning the room. When we got to the room, it was clean, but not perfectly tidy at all (especially considering the long wait). The bed sheets were crampled and wouldn't fit the entire bed. If you are on a budget, this is a good value for the money, but for a little bit more, you can get a better experience. Breakfast was free, but other than that nothing special. Free high speed internet was a nice addition though - however we did not use it so I can't really say whether it was a good offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
susi super mom
Business
Saint Cloud, MN
Oct 9, 2010

Not Times Square

We booked this hotel because we wanted to be close to Times Square. We assumed that Hampton Inn Times Square meant that it was in Times Square. What we know now is that it should be called Hampton Inn Garmet District. Anything under 40th Street should not be called Times Square. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not get into a black cab. They will tell you that they are "about" the same price as a yellow cab. NOT TRUE!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Tx
Oct 6, 2010

Convenient NY Location

Very good hotel for the price in a good location on the edge of Times Square and the Garment District.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
washington state traveler
Business
Spokane, Washington
Oct 5, 2010

Hampton Inn Times Square South

We enjoyed our hotel. The staff was very helpful and all were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bec_A
Business
Wilmington, DE
Sep 24, 2010

Pretty decent hotel

The room was decently clean, but not spotless. The room was a decent size for Manhattan, and I liked the decor - it was light and white, which is a nice color scheme for hotels. I didn't notice any bags of trash in the halls (mentioned by other reviewers) nor did I have to wait a long time for the elevator (also mentioned by other reviewers), so it seem they have addressed those issues. Weirdly, I don't think the curtains closed over the window (there were sheers), which I didn't like as I sleep much better in a pitch dark room. There were no bed bugs as far as I could tell, which is a MAJOR plus. The front desk staff was exceptionally friendly (especially for NYC) and the fitness center was really nice, albeit small. The breakfast provided was great -- I didn't try the hot items but the breads and cereal and fruit provided were more than enough. The location was fine for daytime, but at night I felt much more comfortable in a cab. I'd definitely consider being a guest again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A Momma and 2 Sisters
Business
Buford, GA
Sep 8, 2010

New York All the Way!

Not surprisingly, the room was small, but hey, it is New York. Aside from that, our stay could not have been more perfect. It was a trip of a lifetime and it did not disappoint. My mother, sister and myself didn't stop laughing. We had the best time at all the tourist attractions, but Ground Zero was definitely the most emotional. It reminded me of what we, as a nation, had lost. We cried while visiting, but saw the hope of the future in the 9/11 Memorial Project. It was the most memorial of all! Thank you New York for the joy you gave us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're going to travel all over, get a Metro pass!It costs $27 for a 7-day pass and it allows unlimited bus and subway travel! Get the Metro Pass! Taxis will run you broke people. May bring convenience but can get expensive fast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top