$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 9, 2015

Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

3 stars
337 West 39th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
150 reviews
Awesome short weekend in NYC!

Wonderful hotel. Inexpensive. Great location. Will book here again!! See full review

  • Soultree
  • Dec 22, 2014
Excellent budget hotel

We stayed for a night and I look forward to going back. Very friendly staff; great breakfast... See full review

  • LoveTravleling
  • Oct 31, 2014
Times Square budget-friendly hotel with free hot breakfast, Wi-Fi
Convenient location and free amenities draw travelers to this Times Square hotel. The hotel is about four blocks from Times Square and Broadway theaters. It's a short walk to Macy's and Madison Square Garden. There is a free hot breakfast buffet and free in-room Wi-Fi. A fitness center and concierge desk are among the other hotel services.
Highlights
  • Complimentary hot breakfast buffet daily
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Walk to Times Square

 

Location

The hotel puts guests just a few short blocks from Times Square and Broadway theaters. The hotel is in the middle of the Garment District, the fashion center of New York. Parsons the New School for Design is a couple of blocks away, and the surrounding streets are filled with specialty fabric shops.

 

Rooms

The 184 rooms come with either one king or two double beds. Slate-blue accent walls provide a vibrant touch in the otherwise neutral-colored rooms.  Rooms come with 32-inch LCD TVs, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, bath amenities and free Wi-Fi.

Features

The hotel provides a fitness center and concierge desk. Complimentary coffee and tea are available in the lobby. The hotel provides a daily complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Travelers will find plenty of nearby restaurants from which to choose, including local delis, national chains, four-star cuisine and ethnic food of all varieties.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 42nd St. - Port Authority (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Penn Station (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)

 

Attractions
  • Madison Square Garden (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Times Square (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Central Park (1.2 mi/ 2 km)

 

Business
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Exercise gym
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (150)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Jun 22, 2011

good stay

Good stay. Friendly staff. and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Kentucky
Jun 16, 2011

Hampton Times

Nice Breakfast and convenient location to subway / times square. Staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short Walk to Times square / theatre / subway no need for taxi's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle Washington
May 23, 2011

Excellent NYC Stay

We Shopped We reviewed fashion trends We ate We saw a Broadway show All excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the elevated park walk way in the old meat district

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsville, NJ
May 20, 2011

Hampton Inn Times Square Hotel Review

Very pleased with the hotel. It was in a safe location and convenient to Times Square. We came to town for a concert and had a great experience. While the rooms are a little small they are very well-appointed and have a great look, very comfortable. Bathroom was great. Hotel staff very nice. We would definitely plan another stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A from Queens
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 6, 2011

Great staff, convenient location

Location is Hell's Kitchen and very convenient for Times Square, Garment District area. Lots of shopping, restaurants. Safe and right down the street from Hell's Kitchen Flea Mkt (a fav of mine). Room was small but expected for NYC. Very clean. First room was musty so switched and room was a bit better. Staff was very helpful; a definite asset to the hotel. Elevators are slow and limited so timing is important, i.e., big group checking out on Sunday morning meant a 30 minute wait for the elevator. Free breakfast is convenient but since you are in NYC, don't miss getting a real bagel - any bagel place will do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hell's Kitchen Flea Market - this is a local gig and even if you don't buy anything (not sure how you cannot!) it is still great to wander through and people watch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler Teacher
Business
Mount Vernon, NY
Mar 27, 2011

Wow! Am I in NYC?

I chose this hotel because it was near all of the events for a weekend with friends and we needed something that was reasonably priced. It's a small hotel with small rooms as is common in NYC, but the staff was helpful and accomodating. The "wow" factor for me was that they included a full breakfast at no additional cost. It included eggs, potatoes, juices, hot and cold cereals, waffles, muffins, toast and yogurt. We couldn't ask for anything better. They also offer coffee, tea and hot chocolate 24 hours a day. For the price and the location (close to Times Square), who can complain??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Berlin, WI
Mar 18, 2011

Hampton Inn Time Square South

I have stayed at a number of Hampton Inns over the past couple of years. I have enjoyed the comfortable beds and pillows during each stay. This hotel beds and pillows were okay. I have had better. The location was great, walking distance to Time Square, Theatre District, Empire State building and Rockfeller Center. One complaint is construction across the street from our room. Work began at 6 am. I wish this was noted during reservation. I would have considered a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Purchase tickets before you get to New York. Major shows were sold out. Also purchase New York City pass verse New York pass. New York City pass offers 6 major attraction with fast entry. Avoid the long lines.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
happyab
Business
west Palm Beach
Feb 22, 2011

This was a great place to stay!!!

We were very impressed with this place..besides the location the room was SPOTLESS, the staff were the best and we truly felt like our comfort was important to the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ScubaPalm
Business
Pasadena, MD
Feb 13, 2011

Hampton Inn South TimesSquare

We had a great stay at the Hampton Inn South. The check-in was smooth, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant, and the location was great...just a few blocks from Broadway/Times Square. The room was well appointed and comfortable, not large but certainly fit our needs for our one night stay. The breakfast had an assortment of breads, cereals, and the "make-your-own" waffle bar. There was a bagel with some type of egg/cheese concoction which I wasn't fond of but others in my group thought it was good. You could also have coffee, tea, and hot chocolate at no charge throughout the day. One criticism is they only had one elevator in operation which made for long waits to get to the 28th floor. Overall, great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We made it a point to try Carnegie Deli, a NY institution. Frankly, the food we received was mediocre, extremely expensive (even for New York), and the waitress was inattentive. I will say that their menu options were tremendous so it is certainly possible they have great food but what we tried was just so-so. We ordered the Reuben open-faced sandwich, certainly enough for 2 people to share as the corned beef is piled high. Unfortunately, the corned beef had little flavor. For $25.00 plus a $3.00 split plate fee, I expected more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Local Stuck In Manhattan
Business
Little Neck, New York
Feb 7, 2011

Hamptons Inn on 39th Street

This Hamptons Inn like many of these budget chain hotels in Manhattan offers a very small room but this was better than others I have stayed in. I was given a room on a high floor so street noise was not an issue and the view was actually excellent. The layout of the room is built on practicality and it was practical. The 24 hour coffee is a plus and the breakfast is a real breakfast. Convenient to Broadway theatres and Madison Square Garden. Restaurants are plentiful in the theatre district a few blocks north but limited in the immediate area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway theatres a few short blcoks away and dining is plentiful in theatre district but a scarce right around hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top