$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

3 stars
337 West 39th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
145 reviews
Chosen for location

Staff could not have been more helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Hotel was like new! All round... See full review

  • JGIBN
  • Aug 2, 2014
Awesome trip to N.Y

Everything was excellent, the room, the Breakfast, walking distant to everything. Expesive parking,... See full review

  • BOSS2011
  • Mar 27, 2014
Times Square budget-friendly hotel with free hot breakfast, Wi-Fi
Convenient location and free amenities draw travelers to this Times Square hotel. The hotel is about four blocks from Times Square and Broadway theaters. It's a short walk to Macy's and Madison Square Garden. There is a free hot breakfast buffet and free in-room Wi-Fi. A fitness center and concierge desk are among the other hotel services.
Highlights
  • Complimentary hot breakfast buffet daily
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Walk to Times Square

 

Location

The hotel puts guests just a few short blocks from Times Square and Broadway theaters. The hotel is in the middle of the Garment District, the fashion center of New York. Parsons the New School for Design is a couple of blocks away, and the surrounding streets are filled with specialty fabric shops.

 

Rooms

The 184 rooms come with either one king or two double beds. Slate-blue accent walls provide a vibrant touch in the otherwise neutral-colored rooms.  Rooms come with 32-inch LCD TVs, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, bath amenities and free Wi-Fi.

Features

The hotel provides a fitness center and concierge desk. Complimentary coffee and tea are available in the lobby. The hotel provides a daily complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Travelers will find plenty of nearby restaurants from which to choose, including local delis, national chains, four-star cuisine and ethnic food of all varieties.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 42nd St. - Port Authority (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Penn Station (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)

 

Attractions
  • Madison Square Garden (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Times Square (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Central Park (1.2 mi/ 2 km)

 

Business
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

40.7563 -73.993
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 15.00, MI, W; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 17.00, MI, W; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 18.00, MI, NE;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Exercise gym
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (145)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
viajeras
mexico
Sep 3, 2013

amazing service and great locattion

we spent 9 nights at this hotel and the staff was extremelly friendly and helpfull , the breakfast was good enough and helped to start the day in a good way. The locattion is very good and there is pleny of restaurants pretty close in the nine st. The rooms are very small but there have everything they neen. I recomend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

MERCATO, great food super amazing staff ACELUCK , Thai food really good BARN JOO, Korean food best restaurant we went to in N.Y , not so close but is great.

Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ABeckett
Philadelphia
Aug 27, 2013

Great Customer Service, Musty room.

The customer service at the hotel was amazing. I sat in the lobby and watched the front desk staff interact with guest and they were great. Front Desk Agent Jennifer especially should be commended. She was excellent. She was pleasant and patient with her guest and a pleasure for customers to interact with. As far as the hotel… Our room unfortunately was very musty and cramped for a double. It was good in a pinch but uncomfortable to stay in. Breakfast is a Zoo! Maybe a small charge would cut down on the traffic. I like to get my butter for my bagel and not have everyone think I'm cutting the line. Too crowded. Overall the location made it worth the value. It's just a shame that the great customer service didn't match the level of the overall hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

TKTS

Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nurse Dena
Manhattan Time Square South
Jul 17, 2013

Time for New York

We have stayed at the Hampton Inn Time square North and loved it, but what a mistake Time square South was. Our sheets smelled of urine. We had called down to the front desk at 0800 and asked to have our room cleaned early. We were told house keeping doesnt come until 10:00. I said ok, well the if we could have it cleaned ASAP after 10:00. We left for several hours and reurned at 1600 to find our room not cleaned. We called the front desk again and complained, as we had hoped to come in and rest before we were to get ready for a Play. Instead we waited in the lobby another hour, ad when I went to see if our room was it still had not been cleaned. We complained and requested to switch to Time Square North. We stayed there the remaining two nights and had a fantastic stay there. Very disatisified with Hapmton Inn Time square South.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allenski from Russia
Asheboro, NC
Jul 8, 2013

Nice holiday weekend

Very enjoyable hotel in a good location, only 11 blocks from Rockefeller Center and 10 blocks from the Highline. The subway was within a resonable walking distance. The breakfast was quite adequate and we enjoyed the water and Germ_X provided in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

French restaurant about 5 blocks away on 42nd Street West.

Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nags
Wilmington, Delaware
Jun 27, 2013

Excellent location & Great price!!!

We really enjoyed our stay at Hampton Inn. Great location & excellent staff!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC33
Business
NYC
Jun 11, 2013

Great staff

Welcoming staff, clean rooms, good breakfast and great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square

Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Midwest Rob
Milwaukee, WI
Apr 30, 2013

Nice NY Experience

This was a great place stay for a last minute NY trip. The rooms are not large but they are clean and serve well for setting up base-camp for exploring the city. I was solo so it worked out perfectly. There was some construction going on but the staff made up for it by being friendly and accommodating. They even delivered breakfast to my room for free! I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr Clic
Business
Lebanon, PA
Apr 17, 2013

Location was perfect

Close to Port Authority, Javitz Convention center and so many eating and nightlife option. Perfect for the trip I had planned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Saved on cab fare by being centrally located to where I needed to go

Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
W101
Green River Wyoming
May 3, 2012

Great time was had by my daughter and I

The rooms were very small, but everything was clean.and you have to remember your not ther to stay in your room. It is close to everything so you can just walk take a good pair of walking shoes. The people were very helpful and friendly. They have a airport shuddle. And breakfast early so you can get up and running.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cimba
Manhattan, Kansas
Mar 19, 2012

Comfort in the garmet district

This turned out to be a great location for us with easy access to both the garmet district and the theatres. The hotel room was small (it IS NYC) but comfortable and clean with plenty of amenities. The staff was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search