$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

3 stars
View map of 337 West 39th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Belle Harbor, New York
Aug 21, 2010

Perfect for an inexpensive getway

Very clean comfortable room with good service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 13, 2010

Great experience to stay at Hamilton Inn

This hotel has a perfect location. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to Time Square, 5 minutes to Macy and Bus station. We also found the street filled with Korean and Japanese Restaurants (W32 str b/ween 5th and 6th Ave). The Hotel serves a fresh and delicious breakfast. We surely will book this hotel again when we come back to NY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
New York
Aug 12, 2010

Disappointed

When we arrived at the hotel, two women who appeared to be prostitutes were sitting on the bench outside the hotel and yelled a profane comment to one of my friends. As I was traveling with a group of girlfriends, this experience understandably made us uncomfortable walking alone in the area, especially at night. The hotel staff moved extremely slow, but we did appreciate that they called up to the room within 15 minutes to check on our satisfaction with the accommodations. Our room had a peculiar smell of either bleach or mold (or both). The temperature was freezing, so we raised the thermostat four degrees. Within five minutes, we smelled a strong burning smell coming from the wall unit. So, we lowered the thermostat by a few degrees and remained cold in the room. Also, there were only two elevators in this rather large hotel and they moved very slowly. We had to wait at least three minutes each time - even when we came to our room at 4:00 a.m. When we arrived on our floor at 4:00 a.m., there was a man walking the hall (we hoped he worked for the hotel, but weren't sure) and he carried a walkie talkie that blasted loud comments that could be heard from inside the room. Lastly, the public restrooms, gym, and vending machines for the hotel are on the basement level. However, when we took the elevator to the basement, there were at least ten unfriendly employees standing around, talking loudly, socializing, crowding the hallway, which forced customers to meander through and walk around them to get to hotel facilities. I have stayed at several hotels in Midtown Manhattan, and this was, by far, the worst hotel experience I have ever had. I have stayed at other Hampton Inns across the country and even in the same part of town, and have always had a much more positive experience. Needless to say, I will never return to this hotel or recommend it. I would much rather pay more money to have a friendlier, cleaner, safer stay while visiting New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you need to store your luggage after checkout, the hotel will put it in a locked room until you need it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, MN
Aug 11, 2010

Great Value, Great Location!

The breakfast was ideal and the main entree changed daily. Everything you could ask for in a breakfast buffet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The coffee shop/bakery half a block down has wonderful pastries!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rhode Island
Aug 10, 2010

Surprised!

My best friend and I booked a last minute trip for my birthday to NYC. We booked this hotel the morning we left and it was the cheapest one in the location we chose, so we werent expecting much. We we arrived, staff was friendly and our room was surprsingly really clean. The room was really small, bed took up most of the room, bathroom really clean but small for two girls to get ready in. In walking distance of all shopping and timesquare. Night shift staff werent familiar with where to go out at night but directed us to a certain area. When we got back, they asked us if we had a good time and were really nice. We were told to call ahead a half hour to get our car from valet in the morning, we still had to wait outside for 15 minutes. Overall, i would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 2, 2010

No complaints

It was a nice hotel close to time square. They had a flee market a block away with some hidden treasures. Not much eating near by. The staff was helpful. wish it would have had a fridge Very small room for three women and 3 suitcases-we were tripping over everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loves-To-Travel
Business
Kansas City, MO
Aug 2, 2010

Great location; super clean

We did not have very high expectations for this price, but the hotel was fantastic. It was within a few blocks from Times Square and subway stations. The room was very clean with new furniture in contemporary style. The breakfast was also far better than expected. We will definitely return to this hotel and recommend it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Trattoria Casa Di Isacco (right around the corner from the hotel) was recommended to us by the hotel staff. It was well worth it! The best gazpacho and sangria in town!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Aug 1, 2010

Comfortable and clean

We didn't spend much time in the room, but it was very nice, the bed was comfy and the bathroom clean and new looking. Really liked the room and location. We walked almost everywhere. The airport transportation arranged by the concierge was more expensive than a taxi, but it was prompt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

A subway pass is the best thing ever. You can go anywhere in New York City for 2.25. Hampton has free breakfast too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cliftram
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 31, 2010

Couldn't Have Asked for More

After years of talking about it, I treated my two daughters to a trip to NYC. I chose the Hampton because of it's proximity to Times Square, the price and the amenities and I loved the hotel! The staff were so friendly, helpful and attentive to our requests. The free breakfast was so much more than I had expected and the dining area was large enough for everyone. The beds were comfortable and clean, big fluffy towels in the bathroom and the room was clean and fresh. The room was plenty spacious for the three of us and the bathroom was updated and modern. As we were on a side street, the view wasn't exciting but you could see the Hudson River from our window. I didn't care about the street the hotel was on. It was only a few blocks to Times Square but the side street it was on was rather dark at night and made walking after dark a little uncertain. There are several other major hotels on the same block so it not isolated. The elevator got crowded around the time the breakfast room closed so just try and go early. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who was traveling on a budget as it gives you a lot for your money. Wireless internet, business center and fitness center. Coffee was fresh and available all day. Usually there is ice cold water or juice in the lobby during the day. Our trip couldn't have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the short walk to Hell's Kitchen. Lovely old, old restored NYC homes, lots of very nice restaurants and a real photo opportunity. We discovered it just walking around the hotel area and thought it was lovely.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seoul Korea
Jul 28, 2010

comfortable and neat stay

I went to Times sqaure on foot and Central Park by subway.Good traffic and easy to enjoy midtown enchantment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top