$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 20, 2014

Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

3 stars
337 West 39th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
141 reviews
Chosen for location

Staff could not have been more helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Hotel was like new! All round... See full review

  • JGIBN
  • Aug 2, 2014
Awesome trip to N.Y

Everything was excellent, the room, the Breakfast, walking distant to everything. Expesive parking,... See full review

  • BOSS2011
  • Mar 27, 2014
Times Square budget-friendly hotel with free hot breakfast, Wi-Fi
Convenient location and free amenities draw travelers to this Times Square hotel. The hotel is about four blocks from Times Square and Broadway theaters. It's a short walk to Macy's and Madison Square Garden. There is a free hot breakfast buffet and free in-room Wi-Fi. A fitness center and concierge desk are among the other hotel services.
Highlights
  • Complimentary hot breakfast buffet daily
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Walk to Times Square

 

Location

The hotel puts guests just a few short blocks from Times Square and Broadway theaters. The hotel is in the middle of the Garment District, the fashion center of New York. Parsons the New School for Design is a couple of blocks away, and the surrounding streets are filled with specialty fabric shops.

 

Rooms

The 184 rooms come with either one king or two double beds. Slate-blue accent walls provide a vibrant touch in the otherwise neutral-colored rooms.  Rooms come with 32-inch LCD TVs, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, bath amenities and free Wi-Fi.

Features

The hotel provides a fitness center and concierge desk. Complimentary coffee and tea are available in the lobby. The hotel provides a daily complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Travelers will find plenty of nearby restaurants from which to choose, including local delis, national chains, four-star cuisine and ethnic food of all varieties.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 42nd St. - Port Authority (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Penn Station (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)

 

Attractions
  • Madison Square Garden (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Times Square (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Central Park (1.2 mi/ 2 km)

 

Business
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

40.7563 -73.993
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 15.00, MI, W; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 17.00, MI, W; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 18.00, MI, NE;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Exercise gym
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rhode Island
Aug 10, 2010

Surprised!

My best friend and I booked a last minute trip for my birthday to NYC. We booked this hotel the morning we left and it was the cheapest one in the location we chose, so we werent expecting much. We we arrived, staff was friendly and our room was surprsingly really clean. The room was really small, bed took up most of the room, bathroom really clean but small for two girls to get ready in. In walking distance of all shopping and timesquare. Night shift staff werent familiar with where to go out at night but directed us to a certain area. When we got back, they asked us if we had a good time and were really nice. We were told to call ahead a half hour to get our car from valet in the morning, we still had to wait outside for 15 minutes. Overall, i would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loves-To-Travel
Kansas City, MO
Aug 2, 2010

Great location; super clean

We did not have very high expectations for this price, but the hotel was fantastic. It was within a few blocks from Times Square and subway stations. The room was very clean with new furniture in contemporary style. The breakfast was also far better than expected. We will definitely return to this hotel and recommend it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Trattoria Casa Di Isacco (right around the corner from the hotel) was recommended to us by the hotel staff. It was well worth it! The best gazpacho and sangria in town!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 2, 2010

No complaints

It was a nice hotel close to time square. They had a flee market a block away with some hidden treasures. Not much eating near by. The staff was helpful. wish it would have had a fridge Very small room for three women and 3 suitcases-we were tripping over everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City, MO
Aug 1, 2010

Comfortable and clean

We didn't spend much time in the room, but it was very nice, the bed was comfy and the bathroom clean and new looking. Really liked the room and location. We walked almost everywhere. The airport transportation arranged by the concierge was more expensive than a taxi, but it was prompt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

A subway pass is the best thing ever. You can go anywhere in New York City for 2.25. Hampton has free breakfast too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cliftram
Atlanta, GA
Jul 31, 2010

Couldn't Have Asked for More

After years of talking about it, I treated my two daughters to a trip to NYC. I chose the Hampton because of it's proximity to Times Square, the price and the amenities and I loved the hotel! The staff were so friendly, helpful and attentive to our requests. The free breakfast was so much more than I had expected and the dining area was large enough for everyone. The beds were comfortable and clean, big fluffy towels in the bathroom and the room was clean and fresh. The room was plenty spacious for the three of us and the bathroom was updated and modern. As we were on a side street, the view wasn't exciting but you could see the Hudson River from our window. I didn't care about the street the hotel was on. It was only a few blocks to Times Square but the side street it was on was rather dark at night and made walking after dark a little uncertain. There are several other major hotels on the same block so it not isolated. The elevator got crowded around the time the breakfast room closed so just try and go early. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who was traveling on a budget as it gives you a lot for your money. Wireless internet, business center and fitness center. Coffee was fresh and available all day. Usually there is ice cold water or juice in the lobby during the day. Our trip couldn't have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the short walk to Hell's Kitchen. Lovely old, old restored NYC homes, lots of very nice restaurants and a real photo opportunity. We discovered it just walking around the hotel area and thought it was lovely.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seoul Korea
Jul 28, 2010

comfortable and neat stay

I went to Times sqaure on foot and Central Park by subway.Good traffic and easy to enjoy midtown enchantment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
Jul 26, 2010

Great service and good location!

We were a group of four friends in town to see shows and visit museums. The staff was super friendly and helpful throughout our stay. For the price, the location was great. We were about 4 blocks from Times Square, and easily walked to both shows we saw. It was a short walk to the subway, and a very short walk to a cab stand on 8th Ave. The selection for breakfast was much more than your standard continental - eggs, bacon, french toast, and waffles were available, in addition to the standard cereals, breads and pastries. Also, I had been traveling extensively and needed to do laundry. Although the Hampton itself did not have laundry facilities, the hotel next door is managed by the same group and they have a great laundry room available - brand new machines and they were all FREE! The rooms were very clean, but pretty small. It was a tight squeeze with four adults and the assorted luggage, but we made it work. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stand in line at TKTS, ask the local guys who are offering theater advice for restaurant advice. We enjoyed "Bourbon Street" and "Vnyl" based on their recommendations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Two moms and their sons
Greensboro, NC
Jul 23, 2010

Small, but nice. Centrally located.

The rooms were small. The breakfast was awesome!! We traveled with two 10 year old boys and it worked great. Not a far walk to lots of places including the subway and bus terminal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Converseman
Wisconsin
Jul 20, 2010

Great Place to Stay In NYC!

Awesome Hotel! Very helpful staff. Rooms are attractively decorated. Rooms are small but great use of space and remember you are in NYC! Excellent continental breakfast! Eat early! Hotel is three blocks from Times Square. Great location to everything. The street is a not well lit so it would be a little creepy walking there by yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
camera bug
South Jordan, Utah
Jul 20, 2010

Great Place to stay

This is a great place to stay while in New York. It is in walking distance of time square, the bus terminal,the subway, shopping and bus tours. The staff is ready to help and are always so friendly. The rooms are not huge but are adequate and very clean. The continental breakfast had a lot to choose from and was fantastic. And at times an added bonus of lemonade and cookies in the lobby. We would so stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Shake shop in time square has great hamburgers, fries, fresh lemonaide and shakes. There is usually a line outside but it moves fast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search