$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

3 stars
View map of 337 West 39th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
charlotte, nc
Oct 19, 2010

Weekend sightseeing in NYC

The staff at the hotel were very personable, and genuinely nice. The location is fantastic, it's within walking distance of some really cool things. On Saturday we ran across this market selling ink stamps, clothing, jewelry, etc. If I had known about this hotel before I went to another I would have definitely stayed here for more than one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Oct 18, 2010

New York Trip

We took a getaway trip for the weekend to New York City. The hotel was very nice. Nice, Friendly staff. Hotel was nice and clean and also included a free hot breakfast-that was a bonus! It was very close to a lot of attractions. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of fun things to do nearby. Short walk to times square where you can eat catch a broadway show or comedy show. Some many things to do. Just bring good walking shoes!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tampa fla
Oct 18, 2010

the good and the bad

it was room dirty the bathroom was cloged i prefer hampton inn north

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom taking a break
Business
Indiana
Oct 17, 2010

Hampton Inn Times Square South

The staff was very friendly and was able to accomadate needs. They even went above and beyond in that they helped with directions and gave tips on good places to eat. We didn't spend much time in the room but the time spent there was great. The location was awesome as it gave easy access to the subway lines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pick one fancy, casual or just to buy a slice they are all within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rometti
Business
Toronto, Canada
Oct 14, 2010

The housekeeping was not up to par

The front desk service was very good,the cleaning staff was not up to par they did not make up our bed one evening, and another it took two phone calls to get new towels which they forgot to put in the room when they made the bed.Breakfast could have had more variety.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A map of stores in nearby area would be useful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hhiryu
Business
Quakertown, PA
Oct 11, 2010

Long wait - unimpressive.

We booked this hotel because it had the best value/location for the price at such a short notice time. Staff was unimpressive and not very helpful. They were very polite, but fell short in providing adequate explanation for the two hour delay for our check in. Their only explanation was that someone was "supervising the final stages" of cleaning the room. When we got to the room, it was clean, but not perfectly tidy at all (especially considering the long wait). The bed sheets were crampled and wouldn't fit the entire bed. If you are on a budget, this is a good value for the money, but for a little bit more, you can get a better experience. Breakfast was free, but other than that nothing special. Free high speed internet was a nice addition though - however we did not use it so I can't really say whether it was a good offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
susi super mom
Business
Saint Cloud, MN
Oct 9, 2010

Not Times Square

We booked this hotel because we wanted to be close to Times Square. We assumed that Hampton Inn Times Square meant that it was in Times Square. What we know now is that it should be called Hampton Inn Garmet District. Anything under 40th Street should not be called Times Square. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not get into a black cab. They will tell you that they are "about" the same price as a yellow cab. NOT TRUE!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Tx
Oct 6, 2010

Convenient NY Location

Very good hotel for the price in a good location on the edge of Times Square and the Garment District.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
washington state traveler
Business
Spokane, Washington
Oct 5, 2010

Hampton Inn Times Square South

We enjoyed our hotel. The staff was very helpful and all were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bec_A
Business
Wilmington, DE
Sep 24, 2010

Pretty decent hotel

The room was decently clean, but not spotless. The room was a decent size for Manhattan, and I liked the decor - it was light and white, which is a nice color scheme for hotels. I didn't notice any bags of trash in the halls (mentioned by other reviewers) nor did I have to wait a long time for the elevator (also mentioned by other reviewers), so it seem they have addressed those issues. Weirdly, I don't think the curtains closed over the window (there were sheers), which I didn't like as I sleep much better in a pitch dark room. There were no bed bugs as far as I could tell, which is a MAJOR plus. The front desk staff was exceptionally friendly (especially for NYC) and the fitness center was really nice, albeit small. The breakfast provided was great -- I didn't try the hot items but the breads and cereal and fruit provided were more than enough. The location was fine for daytime, but at night I felt much more comfortable in a cab. I'd definitely consider being a guest again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top