$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Grand Hyatt New York

4 stars
View map of 109 East 42nd St, Park Ave at Grand Central, NEW YORK, NY 10017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt New York

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
253 out of 253
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stratton
Friends
Glasgow, Scotland
Dec 18, 2013

Cool Hotel

Loved it. Staff excellent and friendly. Superb location and great atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Irish Girl Travels
Family
Raleigh, North Carolina
Jun 10, 2014

Wonderful Weekend in NYC

If real estate is location, location, location, then the Grand Hyatt was perfectly positioned to see all the sights you can imagine in NYC, whether by foot or via the subway at Grand Central Station. You can easily get to the best shopping, Central Park or Times Square (without the nighttime noise of staying in Times Square). The hotel was impeccably modern and clean (lovely lobby). We had an Executive King which was VERY spacious especially for New York, and even came with a large walk in closet!!! The only downside was the bathroom was small, with an oddly low/small sink. Everything made up for it. A nice touch is the fact that 5 elevators are for floors 14 to 24 and 5 are only for floors above 24, so you never have to wait (it's fast). Staff was super friendly. Definitely recommend and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Walk Brooklyn Bridge at sunset. Super easy to get to from Grand Central (take # 4, 5 or 6 train, the green line to Downtown) and exit at Brooklyn Bridge and you are literally right there. Really fast and cheap ($2.5 metro).

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Portland, OR
Aug 20, 2007

Great atmosphere and service

The Grand Hyatt was not only first class, the service was first rate. We were allowed to check-in early (at 8 a.m.!) after flying the red eye. The location was steps away from the subway and the major shopping districts and the hotel staff could not have been more accommodating or friendly...we were also allowed a late check out with no charge. The most comfortable pillow top bed, great bathrooms and very quiet for being directly over 42nd street. We would stay here again, and will look for other Hyatt locations when we travel elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the corner from the hotel is Grand Central station - full of great places to eat and shop.

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Houston, TX
Jul 7, 2011

Great service, newly remodeled room

Centrally located just next door to Grand Central Station, this hotel was great! We would love to go back again. The new room decor is very chic. Even though it is under construction, you never hear anything and the service is wonderful. My husband and I were traveling with our two grown daughters and the two big beds in the room accommodated all four of us,unusual for NYC hotels. Concierge and desk personnel were cheerful, very helpful and informative. A newly installed ceiling light flickered all night after we had turned it off, but we were able to sleep by aiming it sideways. When we reported it the next morning, the front desk treated us all to coffee... and bottled water to take for the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

On the way to Times Square, Bryant Park is a quick couple blocks walk up 42nd St.and is a favorite of locals. Grab an ice cream or a drink and relax under the trees at the tables with chairs around the fountain. Free summer concerts, movies, and other fun events.

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Houston, TX
Sep 17, 2007

Great location!

The Grand Hyatt was great. The location is perfect for sightseeing in NYC. If something wasn't in walking distance, we just hopped on a subway in Grand Central Terminal -- adjacent to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Apr 29, 2007

the grand hyatt in ny ...

the grand hyatt in ny city was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

city crab on park ave was one of the best rest. i have ever ate in

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Morgantown
Jun 25, 2008

Great location

The Grand Hyatt New York is located near grand central station which allows access to anywhere quite easily. The rooms are very nice and comfortable with many amenities. The hotel was close to many of the shopping areas that my wife wanted to visit and was within walking distance to many of these places. There were many resataurants within walking dsitance as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Quite a variety of dining available close by.

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Orlando, Fl
Mar 6, 2011

MY Stay At The GRAND HYATT In NYC

so me and my friends went to the front desk to check in and our king bed wasn't ready for us so they ended up giving us a room with 2 doubles. it was three of us so it was perfect. elevator was amazing, lobby was REALLY pretty, room was a good size with a decent view. i highly recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

we got there from penn station and it was only a $5 cab ride to the hotel.

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Chicago, IL
Jul 11, 2007

Perfect location

The Grand Hyatt New York was in a perfect location. In the Heart of Mid-town Manhattan you couldn't ask for a better location. Right next door to Grand Central Station you could get anywhere in New York that you wanted to go as soon as you figured out the subway system. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. On my next New York trip this is where I will stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

A short subway ride to Broadway. Also, a great variety of very good food next door at Grand Central Station.

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Dallas, TX
Jul 1, 2007

Great location

Our room was ok once we made our way through the smoke-filled hall--some residual smoke smell in room. I loved the fitness center and the lobby is a nice refuge between your daytime activities and the nighttime ones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top