$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Grand Hyatt New York

4 stars
109 East 42nd St, Park Ave at Grand Central, NEW YORK, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
235 reviews
Fantastic

This hotel is in a very good location, and it's comfortable and clean. See full review

  • ssskk
  • Dec 2, 2014
Great hotel

Hotel was great. Room was a little small but still a great deal for the price. Are was great next... See full review

  • Adriana58
  • Oct 20, 2014
With more than 1,300 feature-packed rooms and personalized service, the Grand Hyatt New York epitomizes the quality that the Hyatt Hotels Corporation is famed for. Enjoy exquisite farm-to-table fare with Western European panache at the New York Central restaurant, which includes a self-service wine gallery, or grab a quick bite to eat at Market, the 24-hour grab-and-go snack bar in the lobby. Special sculptures designed by artist Jaume Plensa greet you in the lobby of the Grand Hyatt New York, and guests can book a View Room to enjoy the architecture of the city and the tiny cars and people below.
Key facts
  • 1,306 guestrooms
  • 43 suites
  • 60-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gym
  • Restaurants and cafes: New York Central, Market, The Lounge at New York Central
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • In-room spa services
  • YogaAway
  • 24-hour fitness complex
  • Valet parking
  • Concierge
Neighborhood
Built on East 42nd Street and well connected to Grand Central Terminal, the Grand Hyatt offers a convenient Midtown East location. Luxury boutiques can be found on nearby Madison Avenue or Fifth Avenue, while the exotic scent of international foods lingers in the air of Times Square's Restaurant Row. Everything from French Le Rivage to Italian Fiorentina and Japanese Oyishi Sushi is available to visitors. All major subway lines are accessible at Grand Central Terminal, so it's easy to plan excursions to Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty from the Hyatt.
Hints and tips
Find tickets for Broadway musicals, museums and other locations and events throughout the city at the theater and tour desk.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Grand Hyatt New York Rooms

Business Plan
Description not provided
Concierge
For an additional $100, guests receive access to exclusive private floor and Grand Club Lounge service such as continental breakfast, coffee and snacks, as well as evening cocktails. Club lounge is open from Monday to Sunday. 1 King Bed only.
Deluxe
1 King or 2 Double beds
Deluxe
Oversized, corner guestroom with contemporary theme. Features flat panel LCDs, pillow top mattresses. Geneva Sound System iPod docking station, marble showers and June Jacobs bath products.
Standard
Spacious room with contemporary theme featuring flat panel LCDs, pillow top mattresses, Geneva sound system with iPod docking station, marble showers and June Jacobs bath products. As part of the hotel's 2011 $130 million complete renovation, each room f

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.1 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.1 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.5 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.5 mi
  • East Side: 0.5 mi
  • GE Building: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.5 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.6 mi
  • Lever House: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.6 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.6 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.6 mi

Dining

New York Central
New York Central, the new restaurant of Grand Hyatt New York, features a diverse menu inspired by the flavors of Western Europe. Chef Christian Ragano joins New York Central from Chicago's famed NoMi Restaurant. The restaurant features a stunning custom c
Market
24 hour Grab n' Go Market.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (235)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt New York

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 235
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
samuel c.
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

great hotel

great place to stay in heart of new York city, nice location for a stay to go to yankee game. also right by times square

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ana m
Business
Ft. myers, Florida
Dec 1, 2014

Family weekend

We went for thanksgiving weekend hotel was very clean and close to shops and subways walking distance to attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places to shop

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reany Beany
Business
Gasport, New York
Jul 28, 2014

Great Mother Daughter Weekend

We had a wonderful time, very comfortable, I would only have one bad thing to add..the shower handle came off and landed on my foot in room 1644, left a good bruise but otherwise everything was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Saxe
Business
Yorktown heights
Jul 14, 2014

Hotel with a NYC vibe

The hotel room was updated. Very comfortable and clean. If you are arriving at grand central station and have baggage to unload its right next door. We were able to check in at noon which was nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SunnySideOut
Business
Burke, Virginia
Jul 1, 2014

Grand Hyatt, Grand Experience

This was a short stay but generally speaking the things most important to us - mid-town location, useful amenities, cleanliness, helpful staff - were perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Irish Girl Travels
Business
Raleigh, North Carolina
Jun 10, 2014

Wonderful Weekend in NYC

If real estate is location, location, location, then the Grand Hyatt was perfectly positioned to see all the sights you can imagine in NYC, whether by foot or via the subway at Grand Central Station. You can easily get to the best shopping, Central Park or Times Square (without the nighttime noise of staying in Times Square). The hotel was impeccably modern and clean (lovely lobby). We had an Executive King which was VERY spacious especially for New York, and even came with a large walk in closet!!! The only downside was the bathroom was small, with an oddly low/small sink. Everything made up for it. A nice touch is the fact that 5 elevators are for floors 14 to 24 and 5 are only for floors above 24, so you never have to wait (it's fast). Staff was super friendly. Definitely recommend and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Walk Brooklyn Bridge at sunset. Super easy to get to from Grand Central (take # 4, 5 or 6 train, the green line to Downtown) and exit at Brooklyn Bridge and you are literally right there. Really fast and cheap ($2.5 metro).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sherrea
Business
Memphis
May 27, 2014

Room charge

So at the time when I was searching for the best price for the Grand Hyatt I checked going through them directly first because I am a Hyatt Passport member. Then I checked other travel sites.. Each site listed different prices for each different size room (bed). So I selected double bed and was charged that rate. However, my sister booked a King bed and then when she arrived they asked her would she like a King bed or double bed, of course she opted for the double bed, but she was not charged the double bed rate. I have a HUGE problem with the fact that on Hyatt's site and the other reservation sites the rooms are prices by room (bed) size and prices accordingly, but of the hotel upon your arrival is going to offer you a King or double at the cheaper rate then they showed be listed for the same price on the sites. I will be contacting Hyatt directly as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ziortza
Business
Spain
Apr 29, 2014

Dissapointing staying

I stayed for five nights. The second day I told them i could not sleep because i had had a severe back surgery and the mattress Was too soft. The recepcionist suggested me to either sleep on the floor or buy muselina a wooden board to put under my mattress. On the third day I asked to speak to a manager and he told me to not worry and that by the afternoon i would have a board under my mattress. I went back to the hotel ant talked to the housekeeping to see why they have not done anything yet. They repliedthey knew nothing but would soon call me back. Two hours later i called again, had to explain everything over and finally I Was sent a new matress which Was far better. The thing is that I had to sleep very badly for 3 days due to incompetence and negligence.They actually had new mattresses in stock. When I díd the check out the receptionist dared to tell me that I had had at léast two nights of good sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ikamy
Business
chiberia
Apr 28, 2014

the Hyatt NOT so Grand

We stayed at this hotel because of its proximity to the sights and train. The stay was short, and it was OK overall. The bed was awful, it sunk in the middle and felt like a ton of people had slept in it. Next trip to New York, we will not stay at the Grand Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Evec
Business
Upstate New York
Apr 21, 2014

Stayed during very busy weekend

We stayed over the Easter/Passover weekend, plus all of the sports teams were in town. Our room was not ready upon arrival, but Chris at the front desk was great. Room was really nice, and for being so busy, the hotel was quite. I will be back to stay again. EveC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top