$197 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Grand Hyatt New York

4 stars
View map of 109 East 42nd St, Park Ave at Grand Central, NEW YORK, NY 10017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt New York

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ikamy
Business
chiberia
Apr 28, 2014

the Hyatt NOT so Grand

We stayed at this hotel because of its proximity to the sights and train. The stay was short, and it was OK overall. The bed was awful, it sunk in the middle and felt like a ton of people had slept in it. Next trip to New York, we will not stay at the Grand Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Evec
Business
Upstate New York
Apr 21, 2014

Stayed during very busy weekend

We stayed over the Easter/Passover weekend, plus all of the sports teams were in town. Our room was not ready upon arrival, but Chris at the front desk was great. Room was really nice, and for being so busy, the hotel was quite. I will be back to stay again. EveC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MJJ Fan James
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Apr 18, 2014

Not so grand

The first room that I went to was slightly dirty until I flipped the duvet cover over and their was blood on the underside. I got a new room that had long blond hair all over the bathroom. I took pictures of both rooms. After getting accusatory looks from the desk, the manager took me to another room. It was acceptable, but not pristine. To top it off I had an early shuttle to the airport and left my gold cross necklace in the room. I only take it off to go to bed. I called and the lost and found department said they would look. After an hour later, I got a call back saying they didn't find it, but the maid hadn't been there. I asked to be contacted after the maid returned, and I never heard from them again, and future voicemails left were never returned. I don't plan a return visit to the NOT SO grand hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mumsedso
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 29, 2014

Grand Hyatt is Grand!

This is always my go-to hotel when I am in NYC and this time to my delight, it has been completely renovated. The rooms are gorgeous and the common and public areas are also gorgeous. This hotel will continue to be my home away from home in NYC. The rooms are very quiet, even the one I just stayed in close to an ice machine - I didn't hear a thing. Some rooms have views of the street scene - others just overlook another high rise building, but how much time does one spend in the room when you're in NYC?!?! Convenient location -a few avenue blocks from Times Square, and right on top of Grand Central Terminal and the food court there. You MUST stay here - you will love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Right below the hotel is Grand Central Terminal, subway stops, and a great food court -

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spontini
Business
Miami, FL
Mar 24, 2014

Nice stay, but.....

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel in March 2014. The 1st night was pretty bad because of a huge group of international students making a lot of noise in the hallways and in their rooms. The worst part was the alarm clock going off at 7am on Saturday morning and not being able to turn it off. The house-keeping staff are supposed to reset the alarm in every room once a guest leaves the hotel but they did not. The manager was nice and gave a complimentary late checkout and a hotel credit to be used in the hotel. It is a nice hotel, just be aware that it is a big hotel with lots of people going in and out at all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toni86
Business
New York, NY, USA
Feb 26, 2014

Awesome first visit to NYC :-)

The hotel was AMAZING!!!! Mostly everyone were warm and friendly. The rooms were grand and the location was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is near enough to walk to.

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Narumon
Business
London
Feb 15, 2014

We found bed bugs

I was so disappointed to find bed bugs in the room. They bit me all over the body. I went down to the manager to complain and they changed my room with no apologies. They also promised to call a pest control company to spray my luggage, since I was afraid the bugs might have gotten inside. For 3 days they never came. I pointed that out to the manager only to get an annoyed expression. Obviously they were aware but prefer to put the health of the customers at risk in order not to admit they have an infestation problem. I would have never expected that from the Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Highly disappointed

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Narumon
Business
London
Feb 15, 2014

BED BUGS galore

Horrible experience. Found a room plenty of bed bugs. Asked the manager to change the room, they seemed to be aware of the problem, but totally indifferent. Shameful for a Hyatt chain hotel. Does the Sanitation Department never visit them? Does Hyatt never train customer service and courtesy? I am very disappointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rickey 60
Business
Annapolis, MD
Jan 27, 2014

Excellent hotel, excellent location

Stayed Friday/Saturday nights for an excellent price. Our room was small, but quite comfortable. Our sink backed up but the problem was handled quickly. Concierge(s) was pleasant and very helpful. We mostly rode cabs, but subway is accessible without even going outside, Lots of things that a tourist wants to do/see are w/in a short walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tracieboneill
Business
new york
Jan 24, 2014

new york

an amazing hotel, brilliant staff upgrade to floor 16, we saved a fortune, stunning . the best hotel in new York loved every minute of it thank you so so much xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

upgrade to floor 16 amazing saved a fortune xx

Back to menu Return to top