$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Grand Hyatt New York

4 stars
View map of 109 East 42nd St, Park Ave at Grand Central, NEW YORK, NY 10017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt New York

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
262 out of 262
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Shaw
Business
Illinois
May 27, 2014

Anniversary and play

My wife and I chose the Hyatt Regency at Grand Central for our first anniversary and were thoroughly pleased. The rooms are New York chic,meaning they use all available space as best they can. The location is remarkable your a 5min train ride to time square or 10 min walk. The concierge service is great. The maid service was little understaffed one day. She knocked at 10:00 am I told her to comeback because I had a very long night, didn't see her until 11:00 am the next day. Other than that excellent stay at a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jet Setter 2K14
Business
MS
May 13, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed it!

On a recent trip to NYC, we decided to stay here because of its closeness to Grand Central. It was perfect! I found the hotel to be in an excellent location where we were able to walk to many things. The room was clean, the staff was friendly, and there was minimal noise level (always a plus when I'm staying in Manhattan). Would highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Monster37
Business
Florida
May 11, 2014

Left expecting more.

The location of the hotel is great because your minutes away from Grand Central Station. The bed was comfortable but I expected more from the Hyatt. The shower control for the hot/ cold water had 1/4 inch gap where you could see a hole in the wall where the plumbing runs. There was a thump in the toilet that could not be explained, this would happen infrequently but was annoying when trying to sleep. When I called about getting better reception on the television (I hit the wrong button and made the tv grainy), they wanted to send someone from housekeeping to take a look at it. I would have expected someone to be able to talk me through that over the phone. The doormen were not hospitable and could not answer questions on directions to broadway. The folks that checked us in were not hospitable, very business like. The revolving door for the entrance and exit needed maintenance toward the top. Not sure how long it will last based off of the lack of maintenance it had. While we didn't spend alot of time in our hotel, it would have been nice to have your expectations met from a name like Hyatt. Overall, I didn't have the experience I expected from a high end Hotel. I will try some place different next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a map of where the subway runs as it relates to your destination. This will be your biggest asset in saving time and money when traveling from one place to the next. The mom and pop deli's are awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pokemonjc
Business
San Francisco
May 5, 2014

Great location. Old amenities

Just next to Grand Central station. That's the best part. However, room amenities are pretty old. Hot water needs several minutes to kick in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chawlie
Business
Florida
May 5, 2014

EXCELLENT!!!!

Superb location! Clean! Great Staff! Free internet when a passport member! Free coffee, tea, water when a passport member! Near grand central station, short walk to Times Square, close to restaurants, shopping etc. Awesome hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYasldfk jasldf k
Business
Chicago
May 4, 2014

Great Location

Can walk to everything. Staff was friendly and the decorations seemed very modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ziortza
Business
Spain
Apr 29, 2014

Dissapointing staying

I stayed for five nights. The second day I told them i could not sleep because i had had a severe back surgery and the mattress Was too soft. The recepcionist suggested me to either sleep on the floor or buy muselina a wooden board to put under my mattress. On the third day I asked to speak to a manager and he told me to not worry and that by the afternoon i would have a board under my mattress. I went back to the hotel ant talked to the housekeeping to see why they have not done anything yet. They repliedthey knew nothing but would soon call me back. Two hours later i called again, had to explain everything over and finally I Was sent a new matress which Was far better. The thing is that I had to sleep very badly for 3 days due to incompetence and negligence.They actually had new mattresses in stock. When I díd the check out the receptionist dared to tell me that I had had at léast two nights of good sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ikamy
Business
chiberia
Apr 28, 2014

the Hyatt NOT so Grand

We stayed at this hotel because of its proximity to the sights and train. The stay was short, and it was OK overall. The bed was awful, it sunk in the middle and felt like a ton of people had slept in it. Next trip to New York, we will not stay at the Grand Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Evec
Business
Upstate New York
Apr 21, 2014

Stayed during very busy weekend

We stayed over the Easter/Passover weekend, plus all of the sports teams were in town. Our room was not ready upon arrival, but Chris at the front desk was great. Room was really nice, and for being so busy, the hotel was quite. I will be back to stay again. EveC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MJJ Fan James
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Apr 18, 2014

Not so grand

The first room that I went to was slightly dirty until I flipped the duvet cover over and their was blood on the underside. I got a new room that had long blond hair all over the bathroom. I took pictures of both rooms. After getting accusatory looks from the desk, the manager took me to another room. It was acceptable, but not pristine. To top it off I had an early shuttle to the airport and left my gold cross necklace in the room. I only take it off to go to bed. I called and the lost and found department said they would look. After an hour later, I got a call back saying they didn't find it, but the maid hadn't been there. I asked to be contacted after the maid returned, and I never heard from them again, and future voicemails left were never returned. I don't plan a return visit to the NOT SO grand hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top