$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Grand Hyatt New York

4 stars
109 East 42nd St, Park Ave at Grand Central, NEW YORK, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
263 reviews
Excellent choice

We found ourselves unexpectedly in need of a hotel room in NYC for one night and found an excellent... See full review

  • CRossi
  • Aug 4, 2014
Great 4th of July Weekend

The Grand Hyatt's central Manhattan location is great for walking to or catching a cab or a subway... See full review

  • Brooklynite in Ohio
  • Jul 7, 2014
With more than 1,300 feature-packed rooms and personalized service, the Grand Hyatt New York epitomizes the quality that the Hyatt Hotels Corporation is famed for. Enjoy exquisite farm-to-table fare with Western European panache at the New York Central restaurant, which includes a self-service wine gallery, or grab a quick bite to eat at Market, the 24-hour grab-and-go snack bar in the lobby. Special sculptures designed by artist Jaume Plensa greet you in the lobby of the Grand Hyatt New York, and guests can book a View Room to enjoy the architecture of the city and the tiny cars and people below.
Key facts
  • 1,306 guestrooms
  • 43 suites
  • 60-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gym
  • Restaurants and cafes: New York Central, Market, The Lounge at New York Central
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • In-room spa services
  • YogaAway
  • 24-hour fitness complex
  • Valet parking
  • Concierge
Neighborhood
Built on East 42nd Street and well connected to Grand Central Terminal, the Grand Hyatt offers a convenient Midtown East location. Luxury boutiques can be found on nearby Madison Avenue or Fifth Avenue, while the exotic scent of international foods lingers in the air of Times Square's Restaurant Row. Everything from French Le Rivage to Italian Fiorentina and Japanese Oyishi Sushi is available to visitors. All major subway lines are accessible at Grand Central Terminal, so it's easy to plan excursions to Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty from the Hyatt.
Hints and tips
Find tickets for Broadway musicals, museums and other locations and events throughout the city at the theater and tour desk.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7521 -73.9763
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 8.00, MI, E; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 17.00, MI, SW; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 16.20, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Grand Hyatt New York Rooms

Business Plan
Description not provided
Concierge
For an additional $100, guests receive access to exclusive private floor and Grand Club Lounge service such as continental breakfast, coffee and snacks, as well as evening cocktails. Club lounge is open from Monday to Sunday. 1 King Bed only.
Deluxe
1 King or 2 Double beds
Deluxe
Oversized, corner guestroom with contemporary theme. Features flat panel LCDs, pillow top mattresses. Geneva Sound System iPod docking station, marble showers and June Jacobs bath products.
Standard
Spacious room with contemporary theme featuring flat panel LCDs, pillow top mattresses, Geneva sound system with iPod docking station, marble showers and June Jacobs bath products. As part of the hotel's 2011 $130 million complete renovation, each room f

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.1 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.1 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.5 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.5 mi
  • East Side: 0.5 mi
  • GE Building: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.5 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.6 mi
  • Lever House: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.6 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.6 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.6 mi

Dining

New York Central
New York Central, the new restaurant of Grand Hyatt New York, features a diverse menu inspired by the flavors of Western Europe. Chef Christian Ragano joins New York Central from Chicago's famed NoMi Restaurant. The restaurant features a stunning custom c
Market
24 hour Grab n' Go Market.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (263)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt New York

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
263 out of 263
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canny Scotsman
Scotland, UK
Apr 15, 2012

Enjoyable But Expensive

We enjoy staying at this hotel mainly because of its location. It is spotlessly clean and staff are very efficient. Our only disappointment is how expensive it is to stay there, considering we spend most of our time away from the hotel - it is just somewhere to sleep. Breakfast and Dinner are very expensive and outwith our budget, but there are many good restaurants, cafes and delicatessens in the vicinity. This was the second time we have stayed at the Grand Hyatt and would not hesitate to stay there again - it's just a shame that you don't get more for your money - but that's New York!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Choose to visit the Rockefeller Center's 'Top of the Rock' viewing levels rather than the Empire State Building. The views are better, the price is considerably less, and you get the Empire State in your photographs. Would also recommend taking the subway to City Hall and walking across the Brooklyn Bridge. Great experience (and free).

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rovermike
London
Apr 8, 2012

Perfect location

After a quick check-in we were pointed to the lifts, nobody to take our luggage up, we were booked "Grand Club" floor 32!! The room was on the small side and the bathroom was extraordinary small, prob 1,50 m by 1,80m incl shower. That is well below standart. The walk-in-closet was probaly bigger. There was only one chair and no table, just a desk. After check-out we had to pay for luggage deposit and there was no room to get changed after collection. All in all it is not worth the money we paid for the stay. The location is fantastic. Just around the corner is Lexington Metro Station, Times Square 10 mins walk and Central Park about 20 mins

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smooth1972
Raleigh, NC
Apr 2, 2012

Grand Hyatt. NYC

We enjoyed our stay at the Grand Hyatt. It is very convenient and with Grand Central in the basement, it is easy to move around. We especially enjoyed the club benefit at the Hyatt. Breakfast and snacks were very good and offered variety. We saved several hundred dollars in food costs because the club room offered quality choices for afternoon and late night snacks that each family member enjoyed. We had a great visit to NYC, saw a show and enjoyed the museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We saw an off Broadway show: Million Dollar Quartet. It was a fun and exciting show. Tickets were 1/2 price at TKS-TKS and we found it to be a real value in NYC

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
skhewh
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Mar 12, 2012

wkend in the city

Very nice accomadations and a great location. Would have been nice to have access to a whirlpool/indoor pool after a long day of sightseeing in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gonzo the Great
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Great location

The location of this hotel can't be beat. Right next to Grand Central Terminal and easy access to anywhere. The recent renovations are great, including easy access to all outlets - important for recharging all those electronics. The addition of the Market quick service is a nice touch, allowing for access to food at reasonable prices 24-hours a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good selection of New York favorites in the food court at Grand Central Terminal next door.

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LoTo
West Hartford, CT, USA
Feb 6, 2012

easy in, easy out

Received complimentary room upgrade. Room and bathroom were clean and nicely appointed. White bedding always appreciated. Breakfast was costly, even for NYC, but was also delicious. Location perfect for easy transportation access. Despite being located *at* Grand Central station, room was very quiet. Staff were helpful. We did not use amenities, but I would expect them to be good and did not want to "ding" them on this. We would stay at the Grand Hyatt at Grand Central again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

near theaters, Nocello for very good Italian food and a nice atmosphere. Had a great experience there. Will likely return.

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PMOM 82
Business
Lod Angeles, CA
Jan 23, 2012

Driving Test

Perfect location for me. Room was clean, bed was comfortable. Quiet even though next to Grand Central.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
doomsday J
Washington, DC, USA
Jan 16, 2012

*** Great location***

I just stayed there over the weekend. The hotel is near shops and four blocks from time square. had a great time good value for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is connected to GC Station nice dining and a few shops. metro is on the coner

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sticko
Madison, WI, USA
Jan 6, 2012

Very strategic location

The location is very good. It's ony few blocks to times square, and it's not far to uptown and soho as well. Most importantly, it next to subway station (Grand Central Station).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AmandaV
Clinton, South Carolina
Dec 21, 2011

Wonderful Experience

The Grand Hyatt in NY is the best hotel ever!! This was my second visit to this hotel and everything was perfect. The staff was very helpful with anything we needed. The rooms and location are awesome!! I will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search