$240 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Gansevoort Park NYC

4 stars
View map of 420 Park Ave South, 420 Park Ave South, New York City, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gansevoort Park NYC

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BostonTravelingGirl
Business
Boston
Aug 6, 2013

Not as good as last time

The hotel is gorgeous. The staff is so friendly. The room was so clean, and much bigger than the Meatpacking location. BUT I never take the train when visiting NYC, due to construction streets were closed so we were told it would be faster, easier, & cheaper to take the train. So we did. The front desk gave us exact stops and directions - which were wrong. It took time to go back and forth between stops and get to our destination. Next time, I will hae to do further investigation myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom Who Loves New York
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jun 9, 2013

New York Shopping Trip

First of all, the service at the hotel was great. We arrived several hours early and were able to check into our room. The staff was so helpful. One morning I even inquired about a drugstore to purchase a bandage. One of the staff members asked me to wait and emerged with a few bandages! They were similarly helpful providing subway directions and even a very useful map. Our room was spacious and comfortable. As mentioned by several other guests, we did have a room on the 12th floor on the 29th Street side of the hotel and it was nice and quiet. I do agree that the bathroom could use better lighting. The location was perfect for shopping and with a subway station a block from the hotel, Soho and the Upper East Side were just a short ride away. I would be remiss in not mentioning the courtesy of the staff at Windor and Anselina restaurants. We went to Windsor one night after dinner. While my daughter ordered a glass of wine, I was just really in the mood for coffee. A fresh pot was brewed without complaint. In fact our server apologized to me for the wait! On our last afternoon in the city, we asked if we could just have a drink on the patio of Anselina until it was time to leave for the airport. (There were few customers at the time.) The service was still attentive and we never felt rushed. Overall just a great experience and would definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JWGIII
Business
New York
May 31, 2013

5/31

I stay in a lot of hotels during the year and by far, this was my best experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roy family
Business
Cambridge, Massachusetts
May 28, 2013

Memorial day weekend in NYC

Everything was perfect. We stayed on the 11th floor and had an awesome room facing Park Ave. I would highly recommend Gansevoort to anyone visiting NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tavern29

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
peter2
Business
new york
May 16, 2013

business traveler

great east side midtown location boutique hotel with a modern and hip vibe. Young cool dudes and beautiful diva's need apply. Swanky roop top bar with DJ lends a NYC vibrancy to the typical martini. Conceriege and desk staff are all relaxed and attentive in the customer service department.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like Indian food, there are many great choices within a short walk from the hotel to Lexington Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mn48
Business
Florida
Apr 26, 2013

Great stay!!

Love the Gansevoort. Always looking forward to comin back to nyc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SussexUKTraveller
Business
Lewes, UK
Mar 14, 2013

Good but not 5 star!

I stayed in Gansevoort Park Avenue 17th to 22nd February. We booked two rooms as I was travelling with my parents. The hotel was in good condition and the rooms and public areas were well kept. The rooftop swimming pool with the view of the Empire State building was amazing. We had our rooms upgraded, which were very spacious. The staff on reception and the in the swimming pool were very hospitable and welcoming. I have a few niggles, which normally I wouldn't bother about, but I just want to illustrate why I don't think it is worth the 5* rating: • One of our two rooms wasn't ready until 4pm on the day of arrival. • The elevators on the first two days were very unresponsive and often we had to wait for 5-15 minutes. • The lighting in the hotel and particularly in the elevators was too dim. • The rooms had no tea/coffee making facilities and when I asked housekeeping they said they would try to get a coffee making machine for us, but this wasn’t forthcoming. • The mini bar contents were very over-priced. • There was some noise in the room from the rooftop bar late at night. • On ordering coffees from the rooftop bar at 2pm we had to wait 25 minutes for them to arrive. • Staff in the rooftop bar didn’t provide an attentive service. • The gentleman on the concierge desk was patronising and rude to his colleague. • On leaving, the concierge offered to call a taxi, I said I would get one myself, he insisted and then charged our taxi driver $5 without informing us. All in all the hotel was lovely, but I felt the service was sometimes lacking and some staff were more interested in tips than accommodating the guests needs. I do not feel the hotel warrants a 5 star rating. It is a very modern and minimalist in style and seems to be catering towards a young, wealthy clientele. I did give the hotel management the opportunity to respond to my comments before posting this and they were sorry that it fell short of my expectations and have offered 10% off my next stay and an upgrade to a suite if there's one available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BostonBlonde
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 11, 2013

Great Hotel

Stayed here over the weekend of 3/8. Great hotel! Great staff! Great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daughter and Mom Trip
Business
Southern California
Feb 18, 2013

Great Hotel Service During a NYC Blizzard!

The team at Gansevoort Park did a wonderful job of taking care of us during a recent weekend blizzard. Our room was warm and inviting, the front lobby support was wonderful and the concierge team was outstanding in planning and replanning our events and dining. Everyone was helpful at a moment’s notice. We had a very positive experience at the Gansevoort Park!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jack ked
Business
Miami Florida
Jan 22, 2013

NO HOT WATER

THE HOTEL AT FIRST SIGHT LOOKS GOOD BUT THEN YOU WALK IN THE ROOM THE SMELL AND THE DIRTY SHOWER. THE NOISE AT NIGHT FROM THE ROOM NEXT DOOR VERY THIN WALLS. SATURDAY NO HOT WATER CALLED THE THE STAFF AND WAS TOLD THE ARE WORKING ON IT THE TRUTH IS WHEN THE HOTEL IS FULL WAKE UP EARLY SO THEY DON'T RUN OUT HOT WATER WE SPENT 4 DAYS AND IT RECURRED EVERY DAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

HILLSTONE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top