$292 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Gansevoort Park NYC

5 stars
420 Park Ave South, 420 Park Ave South, New York City, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
175 reviews
100%

Flawless hotel with great service and really comfortable rooms. See full review

  • charliesefi
  • Jul 21, 2014
Definitely recommend

I stayed at this hotel last week for my 30th and had a fantastic time. The Staff were great and... See full review

  • Manchester shopaholic
  • Jul 14, 2014
With only a handful of locations worldwide, Gansevoort Hotels offer lush accommodations meant to exceed the standards of even the most discerning travelers. From its three-story atrium lobby to its impressive bi-level rooftop bar and year-round pool, Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC is a great choice for urban explorers in New York. During your stay, enjoy a cold one while watching the game at Windsor sports bar, or sit down to a sumptuous meal at Ristorante Asellina, the 10,000-square-foot, authentic-style trattoria right on the property. For a sophisticated evening, the Gansevoort Park Rooftop is not to be missed - outdoor fireplaces, back-lit bars, and original artwork by Deborah Anderson make this terrace an extraordinary relaxation spot.
Key facts
  • 249 guestrooms
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center and spa
  • 24-hour room service
  • Restaurants: Asellina and The Windsor
  • Bar/lounge
  • Pets allowed (hotel policy and fees may apply)
  • Business center
  • Meeting, conference and banquet facilities
  • Concierge services
Neighborhood
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC sits in New York's trendy NoMad District, which is best known for its quirky and innovative attractions, as well as being within easy walking distance of attractions like Times Square and Gramercy Park. From the Museum of Sex, to Eataly' a sprawling Italian market of unique food and wine shops' NoMad offers an ideal blend of shopping, dining and entertainment. As night falls, hit Jay-Z's 40/40 Club for an evening of exhilarating sights and sounds.
Hints and tips
Pick up a complimentary PlayStation 4 game console at the front desk to keep kids (and modernized adults) occupied at the end of the day.

If you're traveling with a pet, be sure to avail yourself of the free treats for your four-legged friend.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7439 -73.984
Area served
New York City
Nearby airports
Minutes from all 3 major airports (JFK, Laguardia, and Newark).
Area description
Downtown cool meets uptown classic and centrally situated in the architecturally interesting Murray Hill, we are convenient to uptown and downtown. Walk to Manhattans largest farmers market at Union Square, the Empire State Building, the Theatre District, Grand Central Station, Madison Square Garden or Gramercy Parks. Whatever your destination, we are only a few blocks away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gansevoort Park NYC also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Gansevoort Park NYC Rooms

One-Bedroom Suite
The residentially-appointed One-bedroom Suite measures at least 775 square feet. This suite offers a private bedroom with Juliet balcony, one king size bed, separate living area with Juliet balcony and en-suite five fixture glass tile bathroom with deep soaking tub. The spacious living area features a pull-out sofa and oversized coffee table for entertaining. Gansevoort Park NYC is a smoke-free hotel. Anyone smoking in guest rooms will be charged a $500 deep cleaning fee.
Superior
Located on all floors, our Superior rooms measure 350 square feet and feature either one king or one queen bed with 400 thread count Egyptian cotton linens. Enjoy floor to ceiling windows providing an abundance of natural light, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout hotel, high-speed internet access, interactive 37 LCD flat screen plasma TV, mini bar, alarm clock with Bowers & Wilkins Zeppelin iPod docking station, cordless multi-line telephone, laptop compatible in-room safe, individual climate control, floor to ceiling mirror, bathrobes, slippers, umbrella, iron & ironing board.

Glass-tiled bathrooms offer plenty of counter space and a generous supply of hand and bath towels. All bathrooms feature Cutler bath products (shower gel, moisturizing body milk, shampoo and conditioner). Twice daily maid service. Gansevoort Park NYC is a smoke-free hotel. Anyone smoking in guest rooms will be charged a $500 deep cleaning fee.
Deluxe
Located on all floors, our Deluxe rooms measure 370 square feet and located and feature one king size bed, one queen or two double beds with 400 thread count Egyptian cotton linens. Enjoy floor to ceiling windows providing an abundance of light, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout hotel, interactive LCD 37 flat screen plasma TV, mini bar, alarm clock with Bowers & Wilkins Zeppelin iPod docking station, cordless multi-line telephone, laptop compatible in-room safe, individual climate control, floor to ceiling mirror, bathrobes, slippers, umbrella, iron & ironing board. Twice daily maid service. Gansevoort Park NYC is a smoke-free hotel. Anyone smoking in guest rooms will be charged a $500 deep cleaning fee.
Grand Deluxe
Distinguished Grand Deluxe rooms measure 450-525 square feet and offer one king bed, seating area with sleeper sofa (upon request), and oversized five fixture bathroom with Juliet balcony. Premium amenities include 400 thread count luxury Egyptian cotton linens, bathrobe, and slippers; interactive Hi definition LCD flat screen televisions, a fully stocked private bar; and Bowers and Wilkins Zeppelin Mini iPod Docking Station with Apple iPod Touch. For your convenience, Grand Deluxe Rooms offer individual climate control, cordless multi-line telephone, laptop compatible in-room safe, an umbrella, and iron and ironing board. Gansevoort Park NYC is a smoke-free hotel. Anyone smoking in guest rooms will be charged a $500 deep cleaning fee.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.1 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.4 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.1 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.4 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • The Players: 0.5 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.5 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.6 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.6 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.7 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.7 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.7 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.7 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.7 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.8 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.8 mi
  • Garment District: 0.8 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.8 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Book our ballroom, restaurant or any of our unique spaces, to make your next event an unforgettable affair. Business and pleasure happily co-exist in our modern facilities equipped with state of the art audiovisual systems designed by infinite Audio Systems. Stylish amenities for up to 500 guests feature full service spa, signaute pool, five-star service and destination restaurants and lounges. Reserve our stunning rooftop space, featuring our unique slider menu, our two-story infusion bar, or our Italian-style restaurant Asellina

Dining

Asellina
Conjuring thoughts of Italian countryside imbued with sophisticated city flavor, Ristorante Asellina includes sumptous homemade pasta, inventive spins on traditional appetizers, award-winning desserts and more. Risorante Asellina's open layout and charming decor provides the ideal setting for special occasions, casual dates, friendly gatherings and more.
The Windsor
Ease your mind with a hand-crafted cocktail at Windsor Bar and Restaurant. Park Avenue South's outpost of the West Village favorite high-class water hole. Taking a public house experience to the next level, choose one of our iconic American cocktails (Old Fashioned) or sip an in-house creation such as the fan-favorite Half Windsor (Vodka, Fresh Cucumber, Lime Juice). A selection of hand-chosen beers complements the array of cocktails, as do gourmet snacks from House Made Chili Bowl to Truffle Grilled Cheese or classic wings.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (175)

Ratings and reviews for Gansevoort Park NYC

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 2, 2011

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

This is a small hotel compared to other "5 star " hotels and it does not even come close to a " 5 star" . you should not have advertised this hotel as a 5 star. it was such a bad experience not only as far as the hotel and the amenities , we could not go to sleep at all. there was lots of noise from the next door and hall ways. thin walls or no sound proofing made this a terrible experience and the room was not maintained properly, shower was not working properly, no air circulation and water was staying above your knees. Bathroom water tank leaked constantly. request for room change was ignored by the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed in DC
Washington, DC, USA
Dec 4, 2011

Not worth the money

Very unhelpful front desk, made no effort to accomodate our request for double beds. The entire hotel is one big party scene so if you were planning to be asleep at 3AM, then you're not hip enough to stay here. Trying to be trendy they fell off a cliff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 2, 2011

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

This is a small hotel compared to other "5 star " hotels and it does not even come close to a " 5 star" . you should not have advertised this hotel as a 5 star. it was such a bad experience not only as far as the hotel and the amenities , we could not go to sleep at all. there was lots of noise from the next door and hall ways. thin walls or no sound proofing made this a terrible experience and the room was not maintained properly, shower was not working properly, no air circulation and water was staying above your knees. Bathroom water tank leaked constantly. request for room change was ignored by the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BOZI
Business
DETROIT
Apr 5, 2012

Noise

The Hotel could best be described as an all night party. Everything else does not matter...the place was too doggone NOISY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kasch
Morristown, TN
Nov 27, 2011

Good room but loud

This hotel is in good location. The stuff is very friendly and reliable. So, I want to recommend this hotel everyone. But when I was going to sleep, loud noise came from next room. So I complained to front desk. Then next room became calm, but noisy sound did not stop!! Sound from elevator. Maybe other floor's guests make the sound. It was like disco. So we could not sleep well two days. This is reason I rank 2star on this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jack ked
Miami Florida
Jan 22, 2013

NO HOT WATER

THE HOTEL AT FIRST SIGHT LOOKS GOOD BUT THEN YOU WALK IN THE ROOM THE SMELL AND THE DIRTY SHOWER. THE NOISE AT NIGHT FROM THE ROOM NEXT DOOR VERY THIN WALLS. SATURDAY NO HOT WATER CALLED THE THE STAFF AND WAS TOLD THE ARE WORKING ON IT THE TRUTH IS WHEN THE HOTEL IS FULL WAKE UP EARLY SO THEY DON'T RUN OUT HOT WATER WE SPENT 4 DAYS AND IT RECURRED EVERY DAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

HILLSTONE

Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Sep 6, 2010

Gansevoort Hotel, 420 Madison Avenue

There were numerous customer service mistakes and inefficiencies. (1) [...] Anticipating a late registration I called from the highway. Resolution occurred after my wife (in Boston) coordinated while I was in transit. (2) Poor communication about parking options resulting in an unanticipated $55 parking charge for 7 hours (I am accustom to exhorbitant parking in NYC but typically understand my options. (3) Poor housekeeping services. Room untouched at 3:30 PM when I returned from meetings. I am accustomed to five star service, having stayed at the Four Seasons, Taj, Ritz Carlton. I read about the Gansevoort and elected to stay base on curiosity. I would rate my experience 3.5-4.0, describing it as a great facility and infrastructure with poor to mediocre service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Meigling
Business
Miami
Oct 5, 2010

Just ok

The hotel is nice, my only complaint was that security kept on stopping me. They would not believe me i was staying there. This happened at least 5 times. I only stayed there for 2 nights

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jenesaisrich
New York, NY, USA
Feb 28, 2012

Too cool for me ...

I've stayed here several times. Room 601 not nearly as good as the others I've had and not sure why. I've stayed at hip cool hotels everywhere for way too long. I've finally grown up. I need service, I need proper eggs for breakfast, I need complimentary coffee in the room not a club on the roof and a champagne bar off the lobby. It is a good example of what it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eatly any time of the day. Go see.

Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Sep 6, 2010

Gansevoort Hotel, 420 Madison Avenue

There were numerous customer service mistakes and inefficiencies. (1) [...] Anticipating a late registration I called from the highway. Resolution occurred after my wife (in Boston) coordinated while I was in transit. (2) Poor communication about parking options resulting in an unanticipated $55 parking charge for 7 hours (I am accustom to exhorbitant parking in NYC but typically understand my options. (3) Poor housekeeping services. Room untouched at 3:30 PM when I returned from meetings. I am accustomed to five star service, having stayed at the Four Seasons, Taj, Ritz Carlton. I read about the Gansevoort and elected to stay base on curiosity. I would rate my experience 3.5-4.0, describing it as a great facility and infrastructure with poor to mediocre service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top