$243 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Gansevoort Park NYC

5 stars
420 Park Ave South, 420 Park Ave South, New York City, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
149 reviews
A good place to stay

The staff was very helpful for two ladies who do not travel very much - first trip for one - The... See full review

  • Amy the Artist
  • Oct 16, 2014
Great Experience

My stay exceeded my expectations. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in NYC. See full review

  • SMBBMW
  • Oct 6, 2014
With only a handful of locations worldwide, Gansevoort Hotels offer lush accommodations meant to exceed the standards of even the most discerning travelers. From its three-story atrium lobby to its impressive bi-level rooftop bar and year-round pool, Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC is a great choice for urban explorers in New York. During your stay, enjoy a cold one while watching the game at Windsor sports bar, or sit down to a sumptuous meal at Ristorante Asellina, the 10,000-square-foot, authentic-style trattoria right on the property. For a sophisticated evening, the Gansevoort Park Rooftop is not to be missed - outdoor fireplaces, back-lit bars, and original artwork by Deborah Anderson make this terrace an extraordinary relaxation spot.
Key facts
  • 249 guestrooms
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center and spa
  • 24-hour room service
  • Restaurants: Asellina and The Windsor
  • Bar/lounge
  • Pets allowed (hotel policy and fees may apply)
  • Business center
  • Meeting, conference and banquet facilities
  • Concierge services
Neighborhood
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC sits in New York's trendy NoMad District, which is best known for its quirky and innovative attractions, as well as being within easy walking distance of attractions like Times Square and Gramercy Park. From the Museum of Sex, to Eataly' a sprawling Italian market of unique food and wine shops' NoMad offers an ideal blend of shopping, dining and entertainment. As night falls, hit Jay-Z's 40/40 Club for an evening of exhilarating sights and sounds.
Hints and tips
Pick up a complimentary PlayStation 4 game console at the front desk to keep kids (and modernized adults) occupied at the end of the day.

If you're traveling with a pet, be sure to avail yourself of the free treats for your four-legged friend.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7439 -73.984
Area served
New York City
Nearby airports
Minutes from all 3 major airports (JFK, Laguardia, and Newark).
Area description
Downtown cool meets uptown classic and centrally situated in the architecturally interesting Murray Hill, we are convenient to uptown and downtown. Walk to Manhattans largest farmers market at Union Square, the Empire State Building, the Theatre District, Grand Central Station, Madison Square Garden or Gramercy Parks. Whatever your destination, we are only a few blocks away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gansevoort Park NYC also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Gansevoort Park NYC Rooms

One-Bedroom Suite
The residentially-appointed One-bedroom Suite measures at least 775 square feet. This suite offers a private bedroom with Juliet balcony, one king size bed, separate living area with Juliet balcony and en-suite five fixture glass tile bathroom with deep soaking tub. The spacious living area features a pull-out sofa and oversized coffee table for entertaining. Gansevoort Park NYC is a smoke-free hotel. Anyone smoking in guest rooms will be charged a $500 deep cleaning fee.
Superior
Located on all floors, our Superior rooms measure 350 square feet and feature either one king or one queen bed with 400 thread count Egyptian cotton linens. Enjoy floor to ceiling windows providing an abundance of natural light, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout hotel, high-speed internet access, interactive 37 LCD flat screen plasma TV, mini bar, alarm clock with Bowers & Wilkins Zeppelin iPod docking station, cordless multi-line telephone, laptop compatible in-room safe, individual climate control, floor to ceiling mirror, bathrobes, slippers, umbrella, iron & ironing board.

Glass-tiled bathrooms offer plenty of counter space and a generous supply of hand and bath towels. All bathrooms feature Cutler bath products (shower gel, moisturizing body milk, shampoo and conditioner). Twice daily maid service. Gansevoort Park NYC is a smoke-free hotel. Anyone smoking in guest rooms will be charged a $500 deep cleaning fee.
Deluxe
Located on all floors, our Deluxe rooms measure 370 square feet and located and feature one king size bed, one queen or two double beds with 400 thread count Egyptian cotton linens. Enjoy floor to ceiling windows providing an abundance of light, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout hotel, interactive LCD 37 flat screen plasma TV, mini bar, alarm clock with Bowers & Wilkins Zeppelin iPod docking station, cordless multi-line telephone, laptop compatible in-room safe, individual climate control, floor to ceiling mirror, bathrobes, slippers, umbrella, iron & ironing board. Twice daily maid service. Gansevoort Park NYC is a smoke-free hotel. Anyone smoking in guest rooms will be charged a $500 deep cleaning fee.
Grand Deluxe
Distinguished Grand Deluxe rooms measure 450-525 square feet and offer one king bed, seating area with sleeper sofa (upon request), and oversized five fixture bathroom with Juliet balcony. Premium amenities include 400 thread count luxury Egyptian cotton linens, bathrobe, and slippers; interactive Hi definition LCD flat screen televisions, a fully stocked private bar; and Bowers and Wilkins Zeppelin Mini iPod Docking Station with Apple iPod Touch. For your convenience, Grand Deluxe Rooms offer individual climate control, cordless multi-line telephone, laptop compatible in-room safe, an umbrella, and iron and ironing board. Gansevoort Park NYC is a smoke-free hotel. Anyone smoking in guest rooms will be charged a $500 deep cleaning fee.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.1 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.4 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.1 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.4 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • The Players: 0.5 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.5 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.6 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.6 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.7 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.7 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.7 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.7 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.8 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.8 mi
  • Garment District: 0.8 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.8 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.8 mi

Dining

Asellina
Conjuring thoughts of Italian countryside imbued with sophisticated city flavor, Ristorante Asellina includes sumptous homemade pasta, inventive spins on traditional appetizers, award-winning desserts and more. Risorante Asellina's open layout and charming decor provides the ideal setting for special occasions, casual dates, friendly gatherings and more.
The Windsor
Ease your mind with a hand-crafted cocktail at Windsor Bar and Restaurant. Park Avenue South's outpost of the West Village favorite high-class water hole. Taking a public house experience to the next level, choose one of our iconic American cocktails (Old Fashioned) or sip an in-house creation such as the fan-favorite Half Windsor (Vodka, Fresh Cucumber, Lime Juice). A selection of hand-chosen beers complements the array of cocktails, as do gourmet snacks from House Made Chili Bowl to Truffle Grilled Cheese or classic wings.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Book our ballroom, restaurant or any of our unique spaces, to make your next event an unforgettable affair. Business and pleasure happily co-exist in our modern facilities equipped with state of the art audiovisual systems designed by infinite Audio Systems. Stylish amenities for up to 500 guests feature full service spa, signaute pool, five-star service and destination restaurants and lounges. Reserve our stunning rooftop space, featuring our unique slider menu, our two-story infusion bar, or our Italian-style restaurant Asellina

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (149)

Ratings and reviews for Gansevoort Park NYC

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PETERS MOM
Business
NEW ORLEANS, LA
Sep 9, 2013

US OPEN

GREAT HOTEL! THE STAFF WAS AMAZING! WILL DEFINTLEY BE GOING BACK!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

TEGA MEXICAN RESTAURANT WAS FABULOUS!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bqworc
Business
Worcester, MA
Aug 8, 2013

Great Experience

Great hotel, location, pool, roof bar, staff & amenities! Only suggestion for other travelers is to shop for best rate. Superior room prices can range from $350-$600.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BostonTravelingGirl
Business
Boston
Aug 6, 2013

Not as good as last time

The hotel is gorgeous. The staff is so friendly. The room was so clean, and much bigger than the Meatpacking location. BUT I never take the train when visiting NYC, due to construction streets were closed so we were told it would be faster, easier, & cheaper to take the train. So we did. The front desk gave us exact stops and directions - which were wrong. It took time to go back and forth between stops and get to our destination. Next time, I will hae to do further investigation myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom Who Loves New York
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jun 9, 2013

New York Shopping Trip

First of all, the service at the hotel was great. We arrived several hours early and were able to check into our room. The staff was so helpful. One morning I even inquired about a drugstore to purchase a bandage. One of the staff members asked me to wait and emerged with a few bandages! They were similarly helpful providing subway directions and even a very useful map. Our room was spacious and comfortable. As mentioned by several other guests, we did have a room on the 12th floor on the 29th Street side of the hotel and it was nice and quiet. I do agree that the bathroom could use better lighting. The location was perfect for shopping and with a subway station a block from the hotel, Soho and the Upper East Side were just a short ride away. I would be remiss in not mentioning the courtesy of the staff at Windor and Anselina restaurants. We went to Windsor one night after dinner. While my daughter ordered a glass of wine, I was just really in the mood for coffee. A fresh pot was brewed without complaint. In fact our server apologized to me for the wait! On our last afternoon in the city, we asked if we could just have a drink on the patio of Anselina until it was time to leave for the airport. (There were few customers at the time.) The service was still attentive and we never felt rushed. Overall just a great experience and would definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JWGIII
Business
New York
May 31, 2013

5/31

I stay in a lot of hotels during the year and by far, this was my best experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roy family
Business
Cambridge, Massachusetts
May 28, 2013

Memorial day weekend in NYC

Everything was perfect. We stayed on the 11th floor and had an awesome room facing Park Ave. I would highly recommend Gansevoort to anyone visiting NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tavern29

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
peter2
Business
new york
May 16, 2013

business traveler

great east side midtown location boutique hotel with a modern and hip vibe. Young cool dudes and beautiful diva's need apply. Swanky roop top bar with DJ lends a NYC vibrancy to the typical martini. Conceriege and desk staff are all relaxed and attentive in the customer service department.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like Indian food, there are many great choices within a short walk from the hotel to Lexington Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mn48
Business
Florida
Apr 26, 2013

Great stay!!

Love the Gansevoort. Always looking forward to comin back to nyc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SussexUKTraveller
Business
Lewes, UK
Mar 14, 2013

Good but not 5 star!

I stayed in Gansevoort Park Avenue 17th to 22nd February. We booked two rooms as I was travelling with my parents. The hotel was in good condition and the rooms and public areas were well kept. The rooftop swimming pool with the view of the Empire State building was amazing. We had our rooms upgraded, which were very spacious. The staff on reception and the in the swimming pool were very hospitable and welcoming. I have a few niggles, which normally I wouldn't bother about, but I just want to illustrate why I don't think it is worth the 5* rating: • One of our two rooms wasn't ready until 4pm on the day of arrival. • The elevators on the first two days were very unresponsive and often we had to wait for 5-15 minutes. • The lighting in the hotel and particularly in the elevators was too dim. • The rooms had no tea/coffee making facilities and when I asked housekeeping they said they would try to get a coffee making machine for us, but this wasn’t forthcoming. • The mini bar contents were very over-priced. • There was some noise in the room from the rooftop bar late at night. • On ordering coffees from the rooftop bar at 2pm we had to wait 25 minutes for them to arrive. • Staff in the rooftop bar didn’t provide an attentive service. • The gentleman on the concierge desk was patronising and rude to his colleague. • On leaving, the concierge offered to call a taxi, I said I would get one myself, he insisted and then charged our taxi driver $5 without informing us. All in all the hotel was lovely, but I felt the service was sometimes lacking and some staff were more interested in tips than accommodating the guests needs. I do not feel the hotel warrants a 5 star rating. It is a very modern and minimalist in style and seems to be catering towards a young, wealthy clientele. I did give the hotel management the opportunity to respond to my comments before posting this and they were sorry that it fell short of my expectations and have offered 10% off my next stay and an upgrade to a suite if there's one available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gansevoort Park NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BostonBlonde
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 11, 2013

Great Hotel

Stayed here over the weekend of 3/8. Great hotel! Great staff! Great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top