$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
300 West 22nd Street, New York, NY 10011
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
40 reviews
Great Location, clean hotel

The hotel was clean and staff was friendly. The location was great, I will definitely stay again. See full review

  • Ed the frequent traveler
  • Oct 3, 2014
A GEM of a place

I don't typically stay in NYC (live in an outer suburb) but this was just what I needed for a place... See full review

  • LA116
  • Jun 7, 2014
The GEM Hotel an Ascend Collection hotel is your corner of the world. Newly built boutique hotel offers an intimate atmosphere offering elegant rooms with luxurious amenities. Conveniently located in Chelsea it is a leisurely stroll to the Flatiron District, Greenwich Village, Union Square, New York University (NYU), Times Square and the Broadway Theatre District. Each room includes HDTV, Internet access, IPOD docking station and a cordless phone. Additional amenities include turn-down service, high end bath amenities, bath robes and complimentary shoe-shine service. This property is a sanctuary of comfort in Manhattan with an on-site restaurant, Foragers Market Restaurant.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
Tour desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Joyce Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square: 0.4 mi
  • High Line: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hudson River Park: 0.4 mi
  • Dia Center for the Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Gansevoort Market: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square: 0.4 mi
  • High Line: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hudson River Park: 0.4 mi
  • Dia Center for the Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Gansevoort Market: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Abingdon Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Jefferson Market Library: 0.7 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.7 mi
  • Northern Dispensary: 0.7 mi
  • Cherry Lane Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lower West Side: 0.7 mi
  • The King's College: 0.7 mi
  • Gay Street: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Church of the Ascension, Episcopal: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Garment District: 0.8 mi
  • The Players: 0.8 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.8 mi
  • West 30th Street Heliport: 0.8 mi
  • New York Studio School of Drawing, Painting and Sculpture (building): 0.8 mi
  • Sheridan Square Viewing Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.8 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.9 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.9 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Mews: 0.9 mi
  • Grove Court: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 40
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ed the frequent traveler
Business
Los Angeles, California
Oct 3, 2014

Great Location, clean hotel

The hotel was clean and staff was friendly. The location was great, I will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA116
Business
Westchester County NY
Jun 7, 2014

A GEM of a place

I don't typically stay in NYC (live in an outer suburb) but this was just what I needed for a place to lay my head after a long conference and night out on the town. The rooms are small but very efficient. Not necessarily a place for long term stay or for someone with a lot of luggage. But I was quite content. Our room was not located near a street (no view) either so it was quiet, which I like. Pricey - but hey, it's NYC. Overall a great place and I'd stay here again. Oh and a fantastic neighborhood near the subway and High Line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shnew
Business
Media, PA
Feb 19, 2014

Great Staff!

The hotel was in the process of renovation, which might have been a problem but wasn't, because everyone working there was so pleasant and responsive. I was new to New York, and the hotel staff were extremely generous with their time and suggestions. The accommodations were clean and comfortable, with lots of places for our new millennium need for plugs! The room was small, too small for even a desk, which would be a problem for many. The insulation was poor- sounds were everywhere. All in all, I'd stay again, but I'd bring something to lean my computer on in the bed and ear plugs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bmoreartist
Business
Baltimore
Feb 16, 2014

Great for an Art vacation

Perfectly located hotel, right over Foragers grocery and restaurant. Short walk to Chelsea galleries, and Bottinos sandwich shop, right by the A C E. Comfortable, clean, small rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bottinos!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
consultant3614
Business
Pittsburgh PA
Jul 1, 2013

Awful

My room was comically tiny. The bed was atrocious. My room was on the second floor so it felt like I was right out on the street. I got to hear everybody's conversations loud and clear, and I especially enjoyed the sound of the garbage trucks in the middle of the night. Needless to say, I didn't get much sleep and I won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lori business traveler
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 14, 2013

A true gem of a hotel

When I return to NYC, this is where I'm going to stay. It's in Chelsea, where my trip was focused, but everything about the hotel gets two thumbs up. The low-key staff is pleasant without being obsequious. Staff offered great dining recommendations. My room was very comfortable and had the coolest fixtures AND free Internet service. This is my new favorite hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Work Savvy
Business
Minnesota
Nov 19, 2012

Great location!

Perfect spot in Chelsea, close to train, close to shopping and located on corner of busy street and quiet street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery store/deli at street level perfect to grab healthy bit to eat. Murray's Bagels across the street a must stop!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
visiting playwright
Business
woodstock, ny
Aug 21, 2012

Conveniet to Chelsea meeting

I was there for one night for an evening recepyion within walking distance. Everyone was pleasant and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Shops near the hotel close at 10 p.m. but further downtown and east of the hotel (within walking distance) are medium budget restaurants & bars.,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CBinVA
Business
Fairfax, VA, USA
Apr 30, 2012

A little oasis

I stayed at the GEM for one night during a business trip. The room was great - it even had a view of the Empire State Building. The staff was wonderful. The entire hotel - lobby, hallways, rooms - had a very soothing feel to it. Once you stepped in, you stepped out of the NYC craze, and that was really nice. I expected a very small room based on other reviews and while it was small, it wasn't any smaller than any other hotel I've stayed in in New York. The neighborhood was fantastic. I wish I'd had more time to enjoy it. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jordan121
Business
Denver
Feb 27, 2012

great little place

A nice place. Small room but it has everything you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top