$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
View map of 300 West 22nd Street, New York, NY 10011

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thatguy11234
Business
New York
May 12, 2013

Great hotel

I have no complaints about The Gem. After a run of staying in bad hotels, i was very pleased with all The Gem had to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YavGooch
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Mar 25, 2013

Good spot

We enjoyed the location, staff, and room cleanliness. It was a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lori business traveler
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 14, 2013

A true gem of a hotel

When I return to NYC, this is where I'm going to stay. It's in Chelsea, where my trip was focused, but everything about the hotel gets two thumbs up. The low-key staff is pleasant without being obsequious. Staff offered great dining recommendations. My room was very comfortable and had the coolest fixtures AND free Internet service. This is my new favorite hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary Night Out
Business
Long Island, NY
Nov 19, 2012

Night Out in the City

Short but great location and cute hotel. Room was small but didn't bother us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Work Savvy
Business
Minnesota
Nov 19, 2012

Great location!

Perfect spot in Chelsea, close to train, close to shopping and located on corner of busy street and quiet street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery store/deli at street level perfect to grab healthy bit to eat. Murray's Bagels across the street a must stop!

Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
a fan of new york
Business
Atlanta
Oct 29, 2012

second stay at hotel

My recent stay was the second time at this hotel. I had a much better experience than the first. The staff is friendly and cooperative. I was upgraded to a larger room, although all rooms in this hotel are small. The room is kept clean, the staff was great, and you will find this to be a convenient location to Manhattan attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TC10014
Business
New York, NY
Oct 26, 2012

Great choice in Chelsea

Always stay here when in Chelsea. Close to trains, restaurants, bars, etc... Good choice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TC10014
Business
New York, NY
Oct 22, 2012

Chelsea Gem is true to its name

Great experience...close to river, midtown, village, restaraunts, bars, shopping. Quiet room. Very clean and nicely laid out for a small room. One on the end is best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TC10014
Business
New York, NY
Oct 15, 2012

Good Chelsea choice

Close to bars, restaurants, trains...solid clean hotel with a great restaurant next door. Nice staff. Rooftop patio is nice to have a coffee in in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
a fan of new york
Business
Atlanta
Sep 16, 2012

very small room

The room was very small even for a NY hotel. Housekeeping did not provide us with more soap and toilet paper after we ran out until we asked so don't expect replacements unless you contact the front desk. Location is great, but I would not stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top