$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
300 West 22nd Street, New York, NY 10011
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
39 reviews
A GEM of a place

I don't typically stay in NYC (live in an outer suburb) but this was just what I needed for a place... See full review

  • LA116
  • Jun 7, 2014
Very nice, serviceable hotel, good price, great location

My room was small, but very clean and comfortable. I felt that I got good value for my money. I... See full review

  • janerboo
  • Jun 9, 2014
The GEM Hotel an Ascend Collection hotel is your corner of the world. Newly built boutique hotel offers an intimate atmosphere offering elegant rooms with luxurious amenities. Conveniently located in Chelsea it is a leisurely stroll to the Flatiron District, Greenwich Village, Union Square, New York University (NYU), Times Square and the Broadway Theatre District. Each room includes HDTV, Internet access, IPOD docking station and a cordless phone. Additional amenities include turn-down service, high end bath amenities, bath robes and complimentary shoe-shine service. This property is a sanctuary of comfort in Manhattan with an on-site restaurant, Foragers Market Restaurant.

Hotel Map

40.7446 -73.999
Nearby airports
La Guardia Int'l Airport, (LGA), 7.00, MI, SE; John F. Kennedy Int'l Arpt, (JFK), 10.00, MI, SE; Newark Liberty Int'l Arpt., (EWR), 14.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Chelsea Area

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
Tour desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Joyce Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square: 0.4 mi
  • High Line: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hudson River Park: 0.4 mi
  • Dia Center for the Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Gansevoort Market: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square: 0.4 mi
  • High Line: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hudson River Park: 0.4 mi
  • Dia Center for the Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Gansevoort Market: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Abingdon Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Jefferson Market Library: 0.7 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.7 mi
  • Northern Dispensary: 0.7 mi
  • Cherry Lane Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lower West Side: 0.7 mi
  • The King's College: 0.7 mi
  • Gay Street: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Church of the Ascension, Episcopal: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Garment District: 0.8 mi
  • The Players: 0.8 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.8 mi
  • West 30th Street Heliport: 0.8 mi
  • New York Studio School of Drawing, Painting and Sculpture (building): 0.8 mi
  • Sheridan Square Viewing Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.8 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.9 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.9 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Mews: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
a fan of new york
Atlanta
Oct 29, 2012

second stay at hotel

My recent stay was the second time at this hotel. I had a much better experience than the first. The staff is friendly and cooperative. I was upgraded to a larger room, although all rooms in this hotel are small. The room is kept clean, the staff was great, and you will find this to be a convenient location to Manhattan attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TC10014
New York, NY
Oct 26, 2012

Great choice in Chelsea

Always stay here when in Chelsea. Close to trains, restaurants, bars, etc... Good choice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TC10014
New York, NY
Oct 22, 2012

Chelsea Gem is true to its name

Great experience...close to river, midtown, village, restaraunts, bars, shopping. Quiet room. Very clean and nicely laid out for a small room. One on the end is best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TC10014
New York, NY
Oct 15, 2012

Good Chelsea choice

Close to bars, restaurants, trains...solid clean hotel with a great restaurant next door. Nice staff. Rooftop patio is nice to have a coffee in in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
a fan of new york
Atlanta
Sep 16, 2012

very small room

The room was very small even for a NY hotel. Housekeeping did not provide us with more soap and toilet paper after we ran out until we asked so don't expect replacements unless you contact the front desk. Location is great, but I would not stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
visiting playwright
Business
woodstock, ny
Aug 21, 2012

Conveniet to Chelsea meeting

I was there for one night for an evening recepyion within walking distance. Everyone was pleasant and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Shops near the hotel close at 10 p.m. but further downtown and east of the hotel (within walking distance) are medium budget restaurants & bars.,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
badasma
New York
Jul 8, 2012

Great staff

Great hotel,wonderful staff,and nice area. Only problem was that the AC was too loud, and too cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CG6693
Ithaca, N.Y.
Jul 3, 2012

Very Good.

The room was clean; the decoration nice and the front desk polite and helpful. Perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Monstruck Diner is a great place to eat and The Graine Cafe is perfect for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaximumStan
New Hampshire
Jul 2, 2012

Simple elegance

This is a very clean hotel with a helpfull staff. There arent many thrills and the rooms are small but it is a nice place in a great location. The rooftop garden is a good place to meet before going out. or unwind at the end of the evening. This hotel had one of the best prices and it is worth more. The room size would be an issue if you bring a LOT of luggage for a longer stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The front desk helped me find a parking garage 1.5 blocks away. It cost $40 for a 24 hour stay. This is the regular rate in NYC. It makes it easier to bring your car when you know parking is close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CBinVA
Business
Fairfax, VA, USA
Apr 30, 2012

A little oasis

I stayed at the GEM for one night during a business trip. The room was great - it even had a view of the Empire State Building. The staff was wonderful. The entire hotel - lobby, hallways, rooms - had a very soothing feel to it. Once you stepped in, you stepped out of the NYC craze, and that was really nice. I expected a very small room based on other reviews and while it was small, it wasn't any smaller than any other hotel I've stayed in in New York. The neighborhood was fantastic. I wish I'd had more time to enjoy it. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top