$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
300 West 22nd Street, New York, NY 10011
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
41 reviews
Great Location, clean hotel

The hotel was clean and staff was friendly. The location was great, I will definitely stay again. See full review

  • Ed the frequent traveler
  • Oct 3, 2014
A GEM of a place

I don't typically stay in NYC (live in an outer suburb) but this was just what I needed for a place... See full review

  • LA116
  • Jun 7, 2014
The GEM Hotel an Ascend Collection hotel is your corner of the world. Newly built boutique hotel offers an intimate atmosphere offering elegant rooms with luxurious amenities. Conveniently located in Chelsea it is a leisurely stroll to the Flatiron District, Greenwich Village, Union Square, New York University (NYU), Times Square and the Broadway Theatre District. Each room includes HDTV, Internet access, IPOD docking station and a cordless phone. Additional amenities include turn-down service, high end bath amenities, bath robes and complimentary shoe-shine service. This property is a sanctuary of comfort in Manhattan with an on-site restaurant, Foragers Market Restaurant.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
Tour desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Joyce Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square: 0.4 mi
  • High Line: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hudson River Park: 0.4 mi
  • Dia Center for the Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Gansevoort Market: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square: 0.4 mi
  • High Line: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hudson River Park: 0.4 mi
  • Dia Center for the Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Gansevoort Market: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Abingdon Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Jefferson Market Library: 0.7 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.7 mi
  • Northern Dispensary: 0.7 mi
  • Cherry Lane Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lower West Side: 0.7 mi
  • The King's College: 0.7 mi
  • Gay Street: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Church of the Ascension, Episcopal: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Garment District: 0.8 mi
  • The Players: 0.8 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.8 mi
  • West 30th Street Heliport: 0.8 mi
  • New York Studio School of Drawing, Painting and Sculpture (building): 0.8 mi
  • Sheridan Square Viewing Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.8 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.9 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.9 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Mews: 0.9 mi
  • Grove Court: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJinLA
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 21, 2013

Watch out for the extra charges they bill your card after checkout

Clean, nice, friendly, convenient location. Paid in advance and got a zero balance due receiipt upon check out. Noticed two days later a $2 charge on my ccard. Called hotel and they said it was for using the safe. I told the rep that I had a zero balance on check out and no one ever said there would be a charge for using the safe. She said it was in the registration card I signed. I told her no one ever reads that thing and that customers should be told or there should be a sign on the safe saying that you'll be charged. I think they just bill people for it figuring no one will ever catch it or call them on it. Charge got reversed. Other than that. Good stay. (FYI - Rooms are Tokyo size.. very, very small. Pack light)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ckts
Business
Delaware
Dec 1, 2013

Thanksgiving parade

Room was small but great, just what the 2 of us needed. Jenny very helpful at front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marktsc
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 1, 2013

Good location

The location for this hotel was great. And the staff were nice. The hotel has no real amenities but there is a really nice specialty grocery store/coffee shop on the ground level, Forager. We didn't have an opportunity to eat at the ground level restaurant but it looked very nice. The room was quite small, and there is no real counter space in the bathroom. But it was clean, and quiet. And a nice break from the hustle and bustle of NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary Moo
Business
San Jose, California
Jul 5, 2013

Small Cozy Room.

Modern Chic small room. Nice for two people. Room was really clean, and the use of space is superb!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mactraveler
Business
Roswell, GA
Jul 4, 2013

Fun Visit

Very pleasant stay at this hotel. Room was small but clean. Staff was friendly and the location is fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
consultant3614
Business
Pittsburgh PA
Jul 1, 2013

Awful

My room was comically tiny. The bed was atrocious. My room was on the second floor so it felt like I was right out on the street. I got to hear everybody's conversations loud and clear, and I especially enjoyed the sound of the garbage trucks in the middle of the night. Needless to say, I didn't get much sleep and I won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smd314
Business
new jersey
Jun 3, 2013

great night out

friendly staff, great location. the room was very small though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thatguy11234
Business
New York
May 12, 2013

Great hotel

I have no complaints about The Gem. After a run of staying in bad hotels, i was very pleased with all The Gem had to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YavGooch
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Mar 25, 2013

Good spot

We enjoyed the location, staff, and room cleanliness. It was a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lori business traveler
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 14, 2013

A true gem of a hotel

When I return to NYC, this is where I'm going to stay. It's in Chelsea, where my trip was focused, but everything about the hotel gets two thumbs up. The low-key staff is pleasant without being obsequious. Staff offered great dining recommendations. My room was very comfortable and had the coolest fixtures AND free Internet service. This is my new favorite hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top