$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
View map of 300 West 22nd Street, New York, NY 10011

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shnew
Business
Media, PA
Feb 19, 2014

Great Staff!

The hotel was in the process of renovation, which might have been a problem but wasn't, because everyone working there was so pleasant and responsive. I was new to New York, and the hotel staff were extremely generous with their time and suggestions. The accommodations were clean and comfortable, with lots of places for our new millennium need for plugs! The room was small, too small for even a desk, which would be a problem for many. The insulation was poor- sounds were everywhere. All in all, I'd stay again, but I'd bring something to lean my computer on in the bed and ear plugs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bmoreartist
Business
Baltimore
Feb 16, 2014

Great for an Art vacation

Perfectly located hotel, right over Foragers grocery and restaurant. Short walk to Chelsea galleries, and Bottinos sandwich shop, right by the A C E. Comfortable, clean, small rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bottinos!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DKathleen
Business
New England
Jan 10, 2014

Good Value for Price; Great Staff

My second stay at the GEM. It's a good, no-frills hotel; rooms are very small and basic but clean and well designed. Temperature in the room can take a while to adjust and control, and hallways are noisy - room doors seem to slam on their own. However, the location is great (right on train and bus lines and across from Murray's Bagels), and the staff is terrific - they were up to fix a non-working shower within minutes of my call to the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJinLA
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 21, 2013

Watch out for the extra charges they bill your card after checkout

Clean, nice, friendly, convenient location. Paid in advance and got a zero balance due receiipt upon check out. Noticed two days later a $2 charge on my ccard. Called hotel and they said it was for using the safe. I told the rep that I had a zero balance on check out and no one ever said there would be a charge for using the safe. She said it was in the registration card I signed. I told her no one ever reads that thing and that customers should be told or there should be a sign on the safe saying that you'll be charged. I think they just bill people for it figuring no one will ever catch it or call them on it. Charge got reversed. Other than that. Good stay. (FYI - Rooms are Tokyo size.. very, very small. Pack light)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ckts
Business
Delaware
Dec 1, 2013

Thanksgiving parade

Room was small but great, just what the 2 of us needed. Jenny very helpful at front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marktsc
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 1, 2013

Good location

The location for this hotel was great. And the staff were nice. The hotel has no real amenities but there is a really nice specialty grocery store/coffee shop on the ground level, Forager. We didn't have an opportunity to eat at the ground level restaurant but it looked very nice. The room was quite small, and there is no real counter space in the bathroom. But it was clean, and quiet. And a nice break from the hustle and bustle of NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary Moo
Business
San Jose, California
Jul 5, 2013

Small Cozy Room.

Modern Chic small room. Nice for two people. Room was really clean, and the use of space is superb!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mactraveler
Business
Roswell, GA
Jul 4, 2013

Fun Visit

Very pleasant stay at this hotel. Room was small but clean. Staff was friendly and the location is fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
consultant3614
Business
Pittsburgh PA
Jul 1, 2013

Awful

My room was comically tiny. The bed was atrocious. My room was on the second floor so it felt like I was right out on the street. I got to hear everybody's conversations loud and clear, and I especially enjoyed the sound of the garbage trucks in the middle of the night. Needless to say, I didn't get much sleep and I won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smd314
Business
new jersey
Jun 3, 2013

great night out

friendly staff, great location. the room was very small though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top