$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
View map of 300 West 22nd Street, New York, NY 10011

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
44 reviews
Look no further

Clean, comfortable room. Yes the rooms are small but it has EVERYTHING you would need (safe, robes,... See full review

  • Lynette P.
  • Mar 9, 2015
Great Location, clean hotel

The hotel was clean and staff was friendly. The location was great, I will definitely stay again. See full review

  • Ed the frequent traveler
  • Oct 3, 2014
The GEM Hotel an Ascend Collection hotel is your corner of the world. Newly built boutique hotel offers an intimate atmosphere offering elegant rooms with luxurious amenities. Conveniently located in Chelsea it is a leisurely stroll to the Flatiron District, Greenwich Village, Union Square, New York University (NYU), Times Square and the Broadway Theatre District. Each room includes HDTV, Internet access, IPOD docking station and a cordless phone. Additional amenities include turn-down service, high end bath amenities, bath robes and complimentary shoe-shine service. This property is a sanctuary of comfort in Manhattan with an on-site restaurant, Foragers Market Restaurant.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
Tour desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Joyce Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square: 0.4 mi
  • High Line: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hudson River Park: 0.4 mi
  • Dia Center for the Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Gansevoort Market: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square: 0.4 mi
  • High Line: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hudson River Park: 0.4 mi
  • Dia Center for the Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Gansevoort Market: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Abingdon Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Jefferson Market Library: 0.7 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.7 mi
  • Northern Dispensary: 0.7 mi
  • Cherry Lane Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lower West Side: 0.7 mi
  • The King's College: 0.7 mi
  • Gay Street: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Church of the Ascension, Episcopal: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Garment District: 0.8 mi
  • The Players: 0.8 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.8 mi
  • West 30th Street Heliport: 0.8 mi
  • New York Studio School of Drawing, Painting and Sculpture (building): 0.8 mi
  • Sheridan Square Viewing Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.8 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.9 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.9 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Mews: 0.9 mi
  • Grove Court: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CBinVA
Business
Fairfax, VA, USA
Apr 30, 2012

A little oasis

I stayed at the GEM for one night during a business trip. The room was great - it even had a view of the Empire State Building. The staff was wonderful. The entire hotel - lobby, hallways, rooms - had a very soothing feel to it. Once you stepped in, you stepped out of the NYC craze, and that was really nice. I expected a very small room based on other reviews and while it was small, it wasn't any smaller than any other hotel I've stayed in in New York. The neighborhood was fantastic. I wish I'd had more time to enjoy it. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul C.
Business
studio city
May 24, 2015

Solo trip to see family

Very nice hotel with great staff. Rooms are very small. More than one person would not do well in a standard room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paola R.
Business
ALEXANDRIA
Apr 18, 2015

NYC Rendez-Vous

Great location! Rooms are small but quaint clean and comfortable. Awesome awesome location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lynette P.
Business
N/A
Mar 9, 2015

Look no further

Clean, comfortable room. Yes the rooms are small but it has EVERYTHING you would need (safe, robes, coffee, iron, hair dryer, desk, tv, etc). Great value for the money. Staff was very friendly. Lots of noise from the street but that's expected. They do have rooms facing the interior of the building that are probably quieter. Really cool rooftop space that would be nice to take advantage of in the winter. I will stay here again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Justine
Business
Fairfax
Jan 28, 2015

A good place to stay in such a cute Chelsea neighborhood

First of all, if you're going in knowing and expecting that the rooms are small and cozy, and you don't need all the bells and whistles of a fancy hotel, then I'd say the GEM is a great hotel! The front desk staff was very polite and friendly, and made some helpful suggestions for our stay. The cleaning lady was wonderful, and we tipped her well for not just her service but her friendliness, too. And the bellhop guys were nice and helpful, too. Like I said, it's a small room but we were only there to sleep -- the rest of the time, we were out and about exploring the cuteness of the Chelsea area. And the room rate was very decent -- the savings we made was put toward our meals, cocktails, manis/pedis, cab rides, etc. as we explored and enjoyed the area. For the low rate and friendly staff, I'd definitely come back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

While this hotel is in a residential area and not commercial like Times Square, there are still many things to do right around the hotel-- and personally, I like that it's in a residential and not commercial. If half a mile (6-9 blocks) is not too far a walk for you, you can explore great places nearby such as the Chelsea Market, Highline, and Penn Station. Of course, there are cute restaurant and shops even within 1-3 blocks from the hotel. There's also the option of hopping on the subway to get to places even further away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ed the frequent traveler
Business
Los Angeles, California
Oct 3, 2014

Great Location, clean hotel

The hotel was clean and staff was friendly. The location was great, I will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Qx01
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 29, 2014

Not the worst

Very very tiny rooms, hardly any amenities. Decent price, good for a quick trip alone. The location is the best selling point-easy to find, on subway lines, restaurants and shopping are close. The hotel itself is an afterthought.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
janerboo
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 9, 2014

Very nice, serviceable hotel, good price, great location

My room was small, but very clean and comfortable. I felt that I got good value for my money. I wanted to be in Chelsea, so this location was perfect for me. The staff (at registration and housekeeping) was very friendly, polite, personable, and helpful. I love the shampoo and bath gel dispensers in the shower (which was REALLY nice), and the free bottle of water every day was also a nice touch. I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Rail Line diner on 23rd (?) between 9th and 10th has very good food at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA116
Business
Westchester County NY
Jun 7, 2014

A GEM of a place

I don't typically stay in NYC (live in an outer suburb) but this was just what I needed for a place to lay my head after a long conference and night out on the town. The rooms are small but very efficient. Not necessarily a place for long term stay or for someone with a lot of luggage. But I was quite content. Our room was not located near a street (no view) either so it was quiet, which I like. Pricey - but hey, it's NYC. Overall a great place and I'd stay here again. Oh and a fantastic neighborhood near the subway and High Line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ExNYCBoy
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 29, 2014

Great location

Nice hotel. However,construction going on in lobby. No gym available as advertised and rcoected. No alternative offered at check-in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Century 21. (Great designer outlet shopping in the city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
physics dad
Business
State College, PA
Mar 17, 2014

Friendly boutique hotel in Chelsea

The hotel is always clean and comfortable, even though the rooms are small (as expected in Manhattan). The staff was always very helpful in recommending travel routes and restaurants. Since I really like Chelsea, this is an ideal hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top