$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
300 West 22nd Street, New York, NY 10011
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
40 reviews
Great Location, clean hotel

The hotel was clean and staff was friendly. The location was great, I will definitely stay again. See full review

  • Ed the frequent traveler
  • Oct 3, 2014
A GEM of a place

I don't typically stay in NYC (live in an outer suburb) but this was just what I needed for a place... See full review

  • LA116
  • Jun 7, 2014
The GEM Hotel an Ascend Collection hotel is your corner of the world. Newly built boutique hotel offers an intimate atmosphere offering elegant rooms with luxurious amenities. Conveniently located in Chelsea it is a leisurely stroll to the Flatiron District, Greenwich Village, Union Square, New York University (NYU), Times Square and the Broadway Theatre District. Each room includes HDTV, Internet access, IPOD docking station and a cordless phone. Additional amenities include turn-down service, high end bath amenities, bath robes and complimentary shoe-shine service. This property is a sanctuary of comfort in Manhattan with an on-site restaurant, Foragers Market Restaurant.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
Tour desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Joyce Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square: 0.4 mi
  • High Line: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hudson River Park: 0.4 mi
  • Dia Center for the Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Gansevoort Market: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square: 0.4 mi
  • High Line: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hudson River Park: 0.4 mi
  • Dia Center for the Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Gansevoort Market: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Abingdon Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Jefferson Market Library: 0.7 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.7 mi
  • Northern Dispensary: 0.7 mi
  • Cherry Lane Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lower West Side: 0.7 mi
  • The King's College: 0.7 mi
  • Gay Street: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Church of the Ascension, Episcopal: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Garment District: 0.8 mi
  • The Players: 0.8 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.8 mi
  • West 30th Street Heliport: 0.8 mi
  • New York Studio School of Drawing, Painting and Sculpture (building): 0.8 mi
  • Sheridan Square Viewing Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.8 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.9 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.9 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Mews: 0.9 mi
  • Grove Court: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ed the frequent traveler
Business
Los Angeles, California
Oct 3, 2014

Great Location, clean hotel

The hotel was clean and staff was friendly. The location was great, I will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Qx01
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 29, 2014

Not the worst

Very very tiny rooms, hardly any amenities. Decent price, good for a quick trip alone. The location is the best selling point-easy to find, on subway lines, restaurants and shopping are close. The hotel itself is an afterthought.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
janerboo
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 9, 2014

Very nice, serviceable hotel, good price, great location

My room was small, but very clean and comfortable. I felt that I got good value for my money. I wanted to be in Chelsea, so this location was perfect for me. The staff (at registration and housekeeping) was very friendly, polite, personable, and helpful. I love the shampoo and bath gel dispensers in the shower (which was REALLY nice), and the free bottle of water every day was also a nice touch. I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Rail Line diner on 23rd (?) between 9th and 10th has very good food at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA116
Business
Westchester County NY
Jun 7, 2014

A GEM of a place

I don't typically stay in NYC (live in an outer suburb) but this was just what I needed for a place to lay my head after a long conference and night out on the town. The rooms are small but very efficient. Not necessarily a place for long term stay or for someone with a lot of luggage. But I was quite content. Our room was not located near a street (no view) either so it was quiet, which I like. Pricey - but hey, it's NYC. Overall a great place and I'd stay here again. Oh and a fantastic neighborhood near the subway and High Line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ExNYCBoy
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 29, 2014

Great location

Nice hotel. However,construction going on in lobby. No gym available as advertised and rcoected. No alternative offered at check-in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Century 21. (Great designer outlet shopping in the city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
physics dad
Business
State College, PA
Mar 17, 2014

Friendly boutique hotel in Chelsea

The hotel is always clean and comfortable, even though the rooms are small (as expected in Manhattan). The staff was always very helpful in recommending travel routes and restaurants. Since I really like Chelsea, this is an ideal hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shnew
Business
Media, PA
Feb 19, 2014

Great Staff!

The hotel was in the process of renovation, which might have been a problem but wasn't, because everyone working there was so pleasant and responsive. I was new to New York, and the hotel staff were extremely generous with their time and suggestions. The accommodations were clean and comfortable, with lots of places for our new millennium need for plugs! The room was small, too small for even a desk, which would be a problem for many. The insulation was poor- sounds were everywhere. All in all, I'd stay again, but I'd bring something to lean my computer on in the bed and ear plugs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bmoreartist
Business
Baltimore
Feb 16, 2014

Great for an Art vacation

Perfectly located hotel, right over Foragers grocery and restaurant. Short walk to Chelsea galleries, and Bottinos sandwich shop, right by the A C E. Comfortable, clean, small rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bottinos!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DKathleen
Business
New England
Jan 10, 2014

Good Value for Price; Great Staff

My second stay at the GEM. It's a good, no-frills hotel; rooms are very small and basic but clean and well designed. Temperature in the room can take a while to adjust and control, and hallways are noisy - room doors seem to slam on their own. However, the location is great (right on train and bus lines and across from Murray's Bagels), and the staff is terrific - they were up to fix a non-working shower within minutes of my call to the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJinLA
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 21, 2013

Watch out for the extra charges they bill your card after checkout

Clean, nice, friendly, convenient location. Paid in advance and got a zero balance due receiipt upon check out. Noticed two days later a $2 charge on my ccard. Called hotel and they said it was for using the safe. I told the rep that I had a zero balance on check out and no one ever said there would be a charge for using the safe. She said it was in the registration card I signed. I told her no one ever reads that thing and that customers should be told or there should be a sign on the safe saying that you'll be charged. I think they just bill people for it figuring no one will ever catch it or call them on it. Charge got reversed. Other than that. Good stay. (FYI - Rooms are Tokyo size.. very, very small. Pack light)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top