$147 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 3, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
304 out of 304
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC frequent traveler
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Great value

Excellent location near park and museum. Very good price. Very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
XwordMan
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 19, 2012

Great NYC weekend

The hotel is half a block from a subway stop. And it is right by Central Park and an area loaded with restaurants, etc. The room was not huge, but it was bigger than some NYC hotels we've stayed at, and it was big enough. The staff was friendly and efficient, the room was very clean, and the bathroom was nice. What's not to like (although Internet was $10 for 24 hrs.)? I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a place on the Upper West Side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Amsterdam Ave., west of where the hotel is. Lots to chose from.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minnesota Chick
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Apr 3, 2012

loved this hotel

wonderful location; nice room with excellent lighting (often found lighting to be poor in many other hotels so I wanted to comment on the excellent lighting); only negative were the towels in the bathroom which had a very rough texture --- I really did not like that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Josie's

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lindas
Business
Chico, CA
Apr 2, 2012

Perfect location

This hotel was great, the only disappointment was not being able to use the "library with the chess board" in the photo as it was also the breakfast room and was closed at 11:00 a.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus stop for Crosstown bus right across the street, and the Starbucks was across the corner street.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
West Philly Family
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Clean room, great location

Room was small, but in excellent shape, and the location--right across from the Amercian Natural History Museum and Central Park--can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get gourmet groceries at Zabar's--2 blocks to the west of the hotel--and have a picnic in the park.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ilowe
Business
Ohio
May 7, 2012

Perfect to Explore Manhattan

The accommodations and location are perfect for exploring the city! The staff was helpful, and the free upgrade to a suite made our stay even better. While a view of the Hayden Planetarium would have been nice, the suite more than made up for the lack of view. This hotel has a fantastic modern with art deco ambiance, and is the perfect location for seeing and doing Manhattan! Just steps away from Central Park and the subway, it is nestled in a very nice, upscale residential neighborhood with good local eateries. Great place to come back to after a long day of battling the crowds! Loved that it was not in a tourist area, and got to feel like a local (almost)! Bathrooms are clean and nice, but sized for what you would expect in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WICmom
Business
Florida
May 16, 2012

graduation trip

Good location , near subway stops. One of few hotels wit 2 beds in a room. Clean, nice exercise room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
highschool friends
Business
north carolina
May 20, 2012

Loved the Excelsior

Having stayed previous visits at small apartment rentals, I was a bit nervous the Excelsior rooms would be too small and noise from the street and hallways would be a bother. Not so! My friend and I stayed 6 nights on the 15th floor in a room on the back side. There was some day time street noise even on the 15th floor and I suspect rooms facing 81 Street would be quite noisy. The room had two comfortable double beds (no bedbugs), a small closet with plenty of hangers and a surprisingly big well stocked bathroom. We never heard noise from the adjoining rooms or the hallway. The location on the C line and crosstown bus is ideal for getting to both the theatre district and museum mile. Highly recommend the Excelsior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lindle
Business
Fircrest, WA
May 24, 2012

Great location to Central Park!

My mother, daughter (3year old) and I enjoyed this hotel greatly! The staff were friendly and helpful in navigating in the Big City!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MPBs Mom
Business
Boca Raton, Florida
Jul 8, 2012

Fantastic Location

The hotel is located in between Central Park West and Columbus ave. Lots of restaurants, shops, pharmacies and grocers. Central to all the activities we were wanting to do including museums, Central Park and a cab ride to Time Square. Great hotel for the location but there were no amenities. Breakfast was available for a fee as well as the refrigerator we needed in our room for insulin. Coffee in the room would have been nice. The front desk staff kept conversation to a minimum if they spoke at all. i would recommend the hotel for location and cleanliness but for the price it should have more amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top