$208 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 11, 2010

Great location!

We were in NYC to take in several museum exhibits. All we had to do to get to the MET was walk across Central Park. The AMNH was a block away. The 81st street subway stop was one block away. For our objectives, this was a great location. The restaurant in the hotel is very good (excellent service and food -- a bit pricey , however) , but, within a few blocks on both Columbus and Amsterdam Avenues there are plenty of other good places. We breakfasted at Sarabeth's. We dined at Kefi. Good spots. Our room, obviously in keeping with our bargain price was small but fine. It was clean, the bed excellent. The bathroom was attractive (nice tiles) and clean. The one aspect of the room that might concern some is the heat control. The room was warm and when we cooled it , the heat pump would eventually recycle to warm again. Now, one wouldn't want the room to cool too much since only one thin blanket was provided. For us the room was warm enough that no extra blankets were needed, and not so warm that we were uncomfortable. We loved the view of the NYC skyline.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We joined friends in the East Village for dinner at a Brazilian restaurant, Esperanto. We loved the food. From the Excelsior all we had to do was walk one block to the 81st St subway station, take the A line to 14th street, the L to 1st Ave. and walk about 5 blocks. It was worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Columbia Travelers
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Mar 27, 2011

great location

rooms small but well kept. Desk staff definitely not warm and fuzzy - rather cold and aloof.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very good boutique cafes nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super Dave58
Business
Columbus Ohio
May 17, 2014

Just Okay.

I am not one of those who needs alot but paying $250 a night with no free Wi-Fi, ice machine 15 floors away,no free coffee ect. Location and neighbor hood was nice, good subway access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pa.
Mar 16, 2011

Opera trip

One of four trips to the Met Opera. Room and hallways recently refurbrished. Room was small but well layed out and very clean.Location i is convenient for getting a cab and nice to walk around. One of the two hotels we stay at, never disappoints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cakeko
Business
Asia
Jun 13, 2009

inconsitent housekeeping

We paid a discounted price on our weekday stay and we were happy with minimum service, but on the weekends where we paid normal price, the service was worse! The housekeeping did not clean our glasses and the broken one is not replaced. There weren't enough towels either. A nice place if it's on offer, but watch out for the housekeeping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Sep 25, 2010

Beautiful neighborhood!

Front desk service was lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro Citron is right around the corner. Wonderful service and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tjpt
Business
cincinnati ohio
May 15, 2009

european style hotel

room was very small. hotel was clean and the bed was very comfortable. would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PCF
Business
NC
Mar 31, 2010

Excelsior review

Overall, good experience and we would go back due to the location and room size. Staff not very helpful and were often rude (I am from NYC, so know when this is over the line). When checking in, we were upgraded to a larger room at the expense of being on a floor under construction. We then had to argue to get a regular room on a floor that was finished (only 3 floors were not being redone). By being persistent we were able to get what we wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trangers
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 30, 2009

family trip

Safe and clean enough. Noisy AC and broken elevator. OK with kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 22, 2009

No Customer Service at the Excelsior

The hotel was Ok, great location. The staff was not helpful and sometimes very rude. The air conditioner leaked and the rug was wet. The wallpaper was peeling. They didn't have a shower cap or conditioner for your hair. There were no screens on the windows, so being on the 13th floor isn't something you would want to do with small children. Book on the internet through Orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a cab to the airport , it's faster and about the same cost as the shuttle service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top