$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
302 out of 302
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
Aug 31, 2008

Great hotel

After reading many reviews of hotels in New York, I was very worried about what our room would be like. I was very happy with our room. The room was a good size and clean. The staff were friendly. I would definetely go back to this hotel when I return to New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants 2 blocks west and south of the hotel along Amsterdam street.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marion, S. C.
Feb 16, 2011

Valentine's Trip

My wife and I spent several days around Valentine's day this year at the Excelsior Hotel. We had wanted to stay somewhere on the Upper West side of NYC for some time and we were completely satisfied with the Excelsior Hotel's accomodations, service from the Staff, and convenient location. We will definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Carmine's Italian restaurant was a wonderful experience. This family style restaurant is all about good food and fun. They do not accept reservations on the weekend. If you plan on going, please be hungry!

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Essex
Jul 5, 2008

Always comfortable and great location

I always enjoy staying at the Excelsior. I love the location, which is walking distance to many museums and shops, but which is very quiet. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the bathrooms light and more spacious than most other hotels. The front desk staff is efficient and pleasant. There are excellent restaurants within ten or fifteen blocks of the hotel, as is Lincoln Center. Be sure to catch the flea market on Columbus Avenue on Sundays. Two subway lines are nearby. My only quibble is that the AC/heat units are noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ocean Grill is a wonderful restaurant two blocks down Columbus Avenue.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saxton, PA
Sep 5, 2008

Great safe location for womens

Overall I liked the hotel, we loved the location a little away from things but I short cab ride or a walk away. We loved the residental area, and the location of restaurants closed by. The staff overall were friendly, we had 1 not friendly or helpfull women at the front desk, but 1 bad apple didn,t spoil the trip. We will probably stay there again on a trip to New York. The breakfast was way overpriced even for new york, it would of been nice to have coffee available other than going to the breakfast, we went over to starbucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants right around the corner, were were good and much cheaper, than other places in the city.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Novato
Oct 19, 2008

Pretty hotel in great location

Even though the tiny twin-bedded room I shared with my daughter was expensive, and the location is great: on the Upper West Side around the corner from the Museum of Natural History and just a block from Central Park. The room was immaculate, and it looks like the entire hotel has recently been redone. The bath featured sparkling new ceramic tile and nice toiletries, and the beds had four (!) pillows each, two of which were luxurious linens. You can barely get around one of the beds to get to the good-sized closet which had a safe and plenty of hangers. The TV armoire had several drawers for storage. There is an ominous sign on the mini-bar which warns that you will be charged if you touch anything for more than 20 seconds, so no food storage in that refrigerator! One complaint is that there is no coffee pot in the room, and the continental breakfast is expensive, although I found out that you can purchase a cup of coffee for $2. The independent restaurant 81 and bar in the hotel are wonderful with delicious and imaginative food, much of which is organic or locally sourced, attentive service and a happening bar. The concierge is helpful and very friendly. There is a great craft fair in the park across the street from the hotel in the summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just west of the hotel, Columbus and Amsterdam Avenues are filled with boutiques of all kinds and a wide variety of small restaurants and bars. It is fun to just walk around and explore.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Mar 19, 2008

Great Location

The Excelsior Hotel is in a great location near Central Park and the Subway. We had a dramatic view from the 15th floor over the Natural History Museum grounds of the Manhattan skyline. The room was well furnished, clean and comfortable. There were a few minor snags. The NY network stations had terrible reception and the heating/a/c system didn't function too well. Our room was warm (in March) and we slept with the window open - the a/c didn't work correctly. Nonetheless we were comfortable and will definitely stay at the Excelsior whenever we go to Manhattan from now on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The New Wave Cafe on Broadway between 78th and 79th is our favorite place on this part of the west side for breakfast. It is a couple blocks away but worth the walk- a small local cafe with excellent food and service.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naperville
Oct 13, 2008

Pleasant surprise

I was very surprised by the size of the room, considering it was in NYC (typically tiny and cramped)The room was clean, the beds comfortable, the bathroom large, light and well stocked with toiletries. I wish the windows had screens and there had been one of those handy small grocery stores that one usually finds around the corner. The food in the dining room was excellent but rather pricey. However, the location was great, right across from the park, a short walk to the subway and Natural History Museum. The staff was very helpful and the lobby, very inviting and comfortable. I would definitely stay at the Excelsior again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Natural History was a few minutes away. It may be my new favorite museum in NYC. We went on a tour and had the best docent I've encountered. Central Park is right across the street and there were many small shops in the area.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Petersburg
Sep 10, 2008

Simple improvement

The inroom safe is on the floor of the closet and very inconvenient. Simply by raising the safe, would solve the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Con Leche is one of our favorite places for breakfast. Great cuban coffee and reasonable.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Knoxville
Oct 21, 2008

Visiting Columbia University

Our family was visiting Columbia University. Despite our unexpected late arrival, the staff was helpful and courteous. The room was nicer than I had hoped and the neighborhood was a perfect place to stay; safe to walk around at night. At the last moment, my daughter was able to join us, and the staff found a room larger.They did this quickly and cheerfully. The Excelsior was also a great buy. Finally,I am overly concerned with cleanliness when stay in a hotel and the Excelsior was immaculate. We will absolutely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Excelsior is very close to Central Park. Pack a frisbee in your suitcase !

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 12, 2007

Quiet & Classy

The Excelsior is very well-maintained and the staff is excellent -- very friendly and helpful. It's a terrific location. The room I stayed in was rather small, but certainly not cramped. The fitness center is very small. The room was very quiet. I could not hear anyone above me or next door (except the one evening when teenage girls ran up and down the hall shrieking because Johnny Depp was staying somewhere on our floor.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location, the upper west side. Across the street from the Natural History Museum (Dinosaurs!), and around the corner from the Modern Art Museum. One block from Central Park, and plenty of shops, cafes, bars, and restaurants 1-3 blocks east.

Back to menu Return to top