$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2014 Check-out: Apr 29, 2014

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
243 reviews
Perfect for overnight stay

This hotel was a perfect! Not only did we get an upgraded room we had an amazing view as well.. The... See full review

  • AmandaMong
  • Apr 8, 2014
The best "3 star" hotel you'll ever find

The staff were great. The room was CLEAN. And pretty spacious compared to what I've heard about... See full review

  • adoramiranda
  • Feb 14, 2014
Modern take on Old New York charm at trendy Upper West Side hotel

Dressed in classic New York City architecture and fully renovated, the Excelsior Hotel places guests at the best of the trendy Upper West Side neighborhood in Manhattan. The hotel is less than a block away from the remarkable American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and the subway station. The Art Deco design of Excelsior adds charm and style to a stay, with guest rooms graced in shades of cream and some featuring French doors. In-room Wi-Fi, a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station ensure total comfort. 

Highlights

  • Unwind in the Entertainment Room, with a library, working fireplace, fitness center and surround-sound TV
  • Enjoy Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History right at the doorstep of the hotel
  • Kick back in-room with Wi-Fi (fees apply), a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station

Location

Excelsior brings the hip Upper West Side of Manhattan to life, with a location just a few steps from Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History. The subway is right around the corner.

Rooms

Old Manhattan chic and modern luxury meet at the totally renovated Excelsior, with standard to deluxe guest rooms tailored in dark woods and cream shades. Each includes a host of amenities, including Wi-Fi access (fees apply), a phone with voice mail, a 32-inch LCD TV with LodgeNet On-Demand movies, an iPod docking station with radio, Natura bath products, a hair-dryer and a safe. 

Features

Kick off an adventurous day with breakfast buffet dining (fees apply) at the Excelsior Hotel. Other services include a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, concierge services and express checkout.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Penn Station (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17.9 mi/28.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (19.4 mi/31.3 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Times Square (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (3 mi/4.8 km)

Business


  • Two rooms for small or mid-sized events, plus an event coordinator (fees apply)
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

Additional guest: All rates are based on double occupancy unless specified. A $20 USD charge is imposed for all guests 12 years and over.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Excelsior Hotel Rooms

Double Double
Beautifully decorated with a modern flair. This spacious guest accommodation includes two double beds, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM and MP3 Alarm docking stations, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 270 square feet of living space.
Classic Queen
Traditional Queen room is comfortable and decorated with modern elegance; perfect for the business traveler. Accommodations include 1 Queen bed, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V., in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathrooom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 230 square feet of living space.
Excelsior Superior
Our interpretation of elegance, beautifully decorated with class. Superior guest accommodations include either 1 Queen bed or 2 Double beds, French Doors and a seating parlor, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. This impressive room is spaciously designed with approximately 370 square feet of living space. Has a courtyard view.
Excelsior Deluxe
Our interpretation of elegance, beautifully decorated with class. Excelsior Deluxe guest accommodation includes One Queen Bed, Two Double Beds or One King Bed with French Doors separating a seating parlor. This beautifully stylish decorated room has it all, flat screen T.V. in room movies, bath robe, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and bathroom amenities including hair dryer, This luxurious room is spaciously designed with approximately 470 square feet of living space. This room is perfect for the savvy business traveler or families needing the extra room at added value

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excelsior Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7832 -73.9737
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
LaGuardia International, Kennedy International, Newark International
Area description
Nearby Airports * New York LaGuardia International - 9 miles * New York Kennedy International - 17 miles * Newark (NJ) International - 19 miles

Nearby points of interest

  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.7 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.8 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.8 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.8 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.9 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1.1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms available.

Dining

Breakfast room
Breakfast is available from 7 AM to 11:30 AM for an additional fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (243)

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
34 out of 243
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Colorado Springs
Nov 15, 2008

Best location

Had a very positive experience, nice stuff, beautiful interior of the hall and room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
island view
connecticut
Apr 23, 2012

very friendly and polite hotel employees//wonderful hotel

Rooms very comfortable...nice sitting room with French doors...comfortable beds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

French Roast Restaurant excellent food....good prices

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Naperville
Oct 13, 2008

Pleasant surprise

I was very surprised by the size of the room, considering it was in NYC (typically tiny and cramped)The room was clean, the beds comfortable, the bathroom large, light and well stocked with toiletries. I wish the windows had screens and there had been one of those handy small grocery stores that one usually finds around the corner. The food in the dining room was excellent but rather pricey. However, the location was great, right across from the park, a short walk to the subway and Natural History Museum. The staff was very helpful and the lobby, very inviting and comfortable. I would definitely stay at the Excelsior again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Natural History was a few minutes away. It may be my new favorite museum in NYC. We went on a tour and had the best docent I've encountered. Central Park is right across the street and there were many small shops in the area.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
AmandaMong
New Jersey
Apr 8, 2014

Perfect for overnight stay

This hotel was a perfect! Not only did we get an upgraded room we had an amazing view as well.. The beds were comfortable and the room was big especially for New York! There were absolutly no interruptions the overall experience was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Louisville, KY
Jun 21, 2009

Great place, great location, great value

Our stay at the Excelsior Hotel was wonderful. The staff is friendly, courteous, and accommodating. The continental breakfast is plentiful and a bargain. The room was clean and spacious. A complimentary copy of The New York Times can be delivered to your room door every weekday morning. The Excelsior is located within a short walking distance of Central Park, the Museum of Natural History, and subway stations. We highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Numerous shops and services on Columbus Avenue near the hotel.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Toronto
Aug 31, 2008

Great hotel

After reading many reviews of hotels in New York, I was very worried about what our room would be like. I was very happy with our room. The room was a good size and clean. The staff were friendly. I would definetely go back to this hotel when I return to New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants 2 blocks west and south of the hotel along Amsterdam street.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Aug 21, 2008

great location

This was a very good New York experience. Great location. Will go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Patricia Loves to Travel
Long Island, NY
Mar 6, 2011

Best Hotel Experience Ever!

Besides being an avid traveller, I worked at a 5 star hotel when I was younger. My stay at the Excelsior Hotel exceeded my expectations. The hotel was immaculate. The room was a piece of art and warm at the same time. The front staff and the bell staff gave 5 star treatment to us that even impressed ME! (I expect the highest customer service.) I have travelled all over the world as well as my sister and we both agreed that the Excelsior Hotel was the best hotel experience we ever had! We agreed that the next birthday bash we will stay in the city again at the Excelsior Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Roswell, GA
Apr 22, 2009

Charm and Comfort

We checked in with "lost" baggage...they were kind enough to be on the look out for it... and when they finally delivered it, kept it safe until we could take it up. The room was great..they upgraded us to a larger room because Orbitz did not offer us the accomodation that fit our number of people when we booked the room. The Jr. Suite was a sitting room/pull out couch with a queen(2 beds)bedroom. The bathroom was the prettiest , cleanest white tile with little pastel flowers...the towels were large and fluffy and the bathrobes were comfy! We liked the old world comfort of the hotel---it was like a "Hotel"...and the staff was very nice;; they gave us directions to a diner for breakfast and to the subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway entry at the end of the block...subways take dollar bills, Buses take only change...beware!

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Fort Myers, FL
Jul 25, 2007

My review of Excelsior Hotel

Large well maintained room with convenient location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

across the street for the Museum of Natural History

Back to menu Return to top