$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
311 reviews
Wonderful

Everything was terrific except to use hotel internet, there was a charge. See full review

  • ony14047
  • Aug 16, 2015
Great hotel, helpful staff

Had to check in to two rooms, a double for the first night and a much less expensive single the... See full review

  • Sddogg
  • Aug 12, 2015

The Excelsior Hotel is a luxurious four-star hotel in Midtown Manhattan that provides guests with exquisite accommodations and first-class amenities in one of the most popular neighborhoods in New York City.

The hotel boasts classic New York City architecture with rich woods and gleaming granite floors that present guests with a regal atmosphere from the minute they step into the grand lobby.

Location

Excelsior brings the hip Upper West Side of Manhattan to life, with a location just a few steps from Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History. The subway is right around the corner.

Rooms

Old Manhattan chic and modern luxury meet at the totally renovated Excelsior, with standard to deluxe guest rooms tailored in dark woods and cream shades. Each includes a host of amenities, including Wi-Fi access (fees apply), a phone with voice mail, a 32-inch LCD TV with LodgeNet On-Demand movies, an iPod docking station with radio, Natura bath products, a hair-dryer and a safe. 

Property features

Kick off an adventurous day with breakfast buffet dining (fees apply) at the Excelsior Hotel. Other services include a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, concierge services and express checkout.

Highlights

Located on West 81st Street, The Excelsior is only minutes away from Central Park West and is also within walking distance of world-famous museums and public gardens. From Midtown, it is easy for visitors to catch a taxi or one of the metro lines and reach stops such as Fifth Avenue, the Empire State Building and Times Square in under 30 minutes.

The Excelsior's spacious suites are furnished in a signature New York contemporary and fashionable design, with modern comforts such as bathrobes, umbrellas, a 32-inch LCD television with Lodge Net On-Demand Movies, an iPod docking station with radio and wireless high-speed Internet access.

Guests of the Excelsior are also treated to unlimited access to a fully equipped fitness center, a concierge service, a business center, a boardroom for business professionals and express check-out. The Excelsior Hotel in New York also houses Calle Ocho, a renowned Latin fusion restaurant known for its bold dishes, unique cocktails and bright, thematic decor.

Nearby attractions

  • Central Park (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Times Square (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (3 mi/4.8 km)

Business


  • Two rooms for small or mid-sized events, plus an event coordinator (fees apply)
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Penn Station (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17.9 mi/28.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (19.4 mi/31.3 km)

Policies

  • Additional guest: All rates are based on double occupancy unless specified. A $20 USD charge is imposed for all guests 12 years and over.
  • Guests must be 21 years or older to register. Anyone younger than 21 years must be accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excelsior Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$160
4.3 / 5 207 reviews
★★★★
$164
3.7 / 5 286 reviews
★★★★
$169
4.0 / 5 250 reviews
★★★
$188
3.9 / 5 277 reviews
★★★
$99
3.8 / 5 121 reviews
★★
$103
2.9 / 5 136 reviews
★★
$129
2.8 / 5 42 reviews
★★
$141
2.9 / 5 174 reviews
★★★★★
$495
4.5 / 5 2 reviews

Excelsior Hotel Rooms

Classic Queen
Traditional Queen room is comfortable and decorated with modern elegance; perfect for the business traveler. Accommodations include 1 Queen bed, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V., in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathrooom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 230 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees
Double Double
Beautifully decorated with a modern flair. This spacious guest accommodation includes two double beds, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM and MP3 Alarm docking stations, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 270 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.
Excelsior Superior
Our interpretation of elegance, beautifully decorated with class. Superior guest accommodations include either 1 Queen bed or 2 Double beds, French Doors and a seating parlor, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. This impressive room is spaciously designed with approximately 370 square feet of living space. Has a courtyard view.
Excelsior Deluxe
This elegant room has 1 queen bed or 2 double beds or 1 king with pillow top mattresses. The room offers 470 square feet of living space. The bathroom includes a hair dryer, telephone, and complimentary toiletries. Wireless internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and a flat-screen TV with premium cable channels with pay movies and on demand video is offered Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.for your entertainment. You can relax in a separate seating parlor. A clock radio with an MP3 docking station and a laptop-compatible in-room safe are among the included amenities. Bed size depends upon availability. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.7 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Solomon Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.8 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.8 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.8 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.9 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1.1 mi
  • New York Coliseum: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Dining

Breakfast room
Breakfast is available from 7 AM to 11:30 AM for an additional fee.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 311
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelingHatter
Family
Orlando, FL
Dec 18, 2011

Upper West Side Charm

The Excelsior Hotel is located on W. 81st Street; directly across the street from the Hayden Planetrium (which is a part of the American Museum of National History) and is one-half block from Central Park. Both bus and subway transportation are conveniently located from mere steps to a few short blocks away and provide access to near everywhere in Manhattan. The area is filled with shops, boutiques, and wonderful restaurants of nearly every type of cuisine imaginable. Two of the most enjoyable restaurants are the Ocean Grill for seafood and Bellini for Italian fare. The Magnolia Bakery is within walking distance should one desire specialty cupcakes; and even closer to the hotel is Lalo's which offers an immense selection of desserts. Lalo's was featured in the movie "You've Got Mail." There are two coffee shops within a half block (Starbuck's, and World Coffee which I highly recommend as World is less expensive than Starbuck's and has sandwiches, salads, breakfast items, and pastries on the menu; not to mention the delicious coffee. Andy's deli is a half block away and is handy for freshly made sandwiches, and for purchasing snacks, soda's, and other food items to have on hand in the hotel room. The hotel was recently refurbished, so the decor looks fresh and new. The rooms are tastefully appointed and include comfortable pillow top beds and fluffy pillows. Bath towels and toiletries are plentiful and hot water flowed instantly from the shower and sink. The room has good thermostatic controls and there was always such a blast of hot air that I turned the heat off many times as the room was comfortable even in the middle of December. The staff could not have been more helpful. All of my requests were responded to immediately including sending maintainence to unstop a clogged toilet. A member of my family decided to stay with me at the hotel, so I inquired about upgrading my twin room to accommodate an additional person. They offered me a suite at no extra charge. The suite was wonderful and included spa robes. I was never charged for the few pages that I printed from the guest computer either. Check out was a breeze and my bill was correct. This was my second stay at the Excelsior and I would not stay anywhere else. For those looking for ambiance and charm and a quieter setting than Mid-town Manhattan, this is the place to stay. The only drawbacks of the hotel is that the ice machines are located on the 1st, 3rd and 11th floors only, and the vending machines are only on the 1st floor next to the ice machine. The businness center for guests to access the computer is one computer in the area the size of a closet but the internet was fast. The hotel has a restaurant which offers Spanish cusine that is supposed to be quite good but in the mornings, a continental breakfast is offered for the price of $17.00. However, it is not an issue with the other eateries so close to the hotel. There are no mini refrigerators in the rooms (not even in the suite) but guests can request one for a cost of $10.00 per day or there-a-bouts. However, the wonderful staff and service, the comfortable and newly decorated rooms, and the convenient location are well worth over-looking a few minor details. The Excelsior is a rare find in Manhattan and I look forward to my next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BuckDA
Family
Wadsworth, Ohio
Jul 23, 2012

Excelsior Hotel Great!!

This is the second time I have stayed at the Excelsior, and it is always the best. On this visit, I have two rooms, same floor. The location is fantastic, away from all of the noise of downtown, and close to many inexpensive delis and fine places to dine. Also, the subway is right on the corner. Service is also great, as they kindly printed off my boarding passes for the flight home, and gave us numerous directions to various things. I don't think I will ever stay anywhere else in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYC2013
Family
Boston, MA
Feb 20, 2013

Great Location

Great location near Central Park , Science museum and subway stop

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BonacBelle
Family
Nova Scotia, Canada
Apr 7, 2013

Delighted! ~ Central Park Classic ~ Will Return

Loved this place. Certainly the nicest hotel for mid-$250 range you could find in the heart of Manhattan. It is a classic hotel, with white-tiled bathrooms (immaculate!), plush bedding, and north or south views over the skyline. We were surprised to be upgraded to a junior suite, which we had for three nights, and were totally delighted with. (The separate sitting room meant that we parents could watch a movie and look at the lights of the city after the kids went to bed.) The hotel faces the American Museum of Natural History, across 81st Street, so it's an ideal spot for a family with kids. You're more or less in Central Park, a short walk to Belvedere Castle, the Boathouse, playgrounds, etc. We found the staff to be extremely nice, and very friendly and helpful. I'm actually a New Yorker, but moved out of the city several years ago . . . I've bounced around various hotels over the years, when visiting family. I also like the Hotel Wales, on the opposite side of the park -- but that one and the Excelsior are the two hotels I'd actually make a point to return to. Note: no pool, no room service -- but with all the zillion cafes and restaurants at your footsteps on Columbus Avenue, who really cares?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Families: The Excelsior is on Central Park, a thirty-seconds' walk from the dinosaur halls of the American Museum of Natural History (and the delights of Cental Park). The subway is also steps from the hotel door. (Not sure why any family would instead choose a Times Square hotel. Having to drag kids thru Times Square is basically a drag.)

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wis visitor
Family
wisconsin
May 13, 2013

nice place to stay

good location-reasonable size rooms-quiet-near central park and the B/C subway lines. very good value for NYC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Santa Clara, CA
May 27, 2011

Great location

First time in New York city and it was a great experience. The Excelsior hotel was very good for us. Location was fantastic; next to Central Park, bus stops and subway. We used public transportation and we felt safe to walk late in the evening to our hotel. There are also good restaurants close by. Hotel staff was also helpful with directions and recommendations. We will use this hotel again and we highly recommend it. Hotel Amenities: we gave "4" stars because the hotel does not have restaurant, nor coffee in the room; it does offer water for a price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro Citron @ 473 Columbus Ave. Great food at a good price; elegant and relaxing.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Marion, S. C.
Feb 16, 2011

Valentine's Trip

My wife and I spent several days around Valentine's day this year at the Excelsior Hotel. We had wanted to stay somewhere on the Upper West side of NYC for some time and we were completely satisfied with the Excelsior Hotel's accomodations, service from the Staff, and convenient location. We will definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Carmine's Italian restaurant was a wonderful experience. This family style restaurant is all about good food and fun. They do not accept reservations on the weekend. If you plan on going, please be hungry!

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Saxton, PA
Sep 5, 2008

Great safe location for womens

Overall I liked the hotel, we loved the location a little away from things but I short cab ride or a walk away. We loved the residental area, and the location of restaurants closed by. The staff overall were friendly, we had 1 not friendly or helpfull women at the front desk, but 1 bad apple didn,t spoil the trip. We will probably stay there again on a trip to New York. The breakfast was way overpriced even for new york, it would of been nice to have coffee available other than going to the breakfast, we went over to starbucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants right around the corner, were were good and much cheaper, than other places in the city.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Novato
Oct 19, 2008

Pretty hotel in great location

Even though the tiny twin-bedded room I shared with my daughter was expensive, and the location is great: on the Upper West Side around the corner from the Museum of Natural History and just a block from Central Park. The room was immaculate, and it looks like the entire hotel has recently been redone. The bath featured sparkling new ceramic tile and nice toiletries, and the beds had four (!) pillows each, two of which were luxurious linens. You can barely get around one of the beds to get to the good-sized closet which had a safe and plenty of hangers. The TV armoire had several drawers for storage. There is an ominous sign on the mini-bar which warns that you will be charged if you touch anything for more than 20 seconds, so no food storage in that refrigerator! One complaint is that there is no coffee pot in the room, and the continental breakfast is expensive, although I found out that you can purchase a cup of coffee for $2. The independent restaurant 81 and bar in the hotel are wonderful with delicious and imaginative food, much of which is organic or locally sourced, attentive service and a happening bar. The concierge is helpful and very friendly. There is a great craft fair in the park across the street from the hotel in the summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just west of the hotel, Columbus and Amsterdam Avenues are filled with boutiques of all kinds and a wide variety of small restaurants and bars. It is fun to just walk around and explore.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Norm , Uncle
Family
Cleveland Ohio
Jun 20, 2009

Outstanding Hotel

Perfect Location, Perfect Service, Quiet, and Clean and great price . Highly Recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top