$220 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 19, 2014

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
268 reviews
Great hotel in Manhattan

It is an older hotel but has been well taken care of. Some of the living room furniture looked well... See full review

  • A happy vactioner
  • Oct 15, 2014
Central Park West - Excelsior Hotel

This hotel is in a great location. Not all the noise connected to the Times Square area. We were... See full review

  • Linda Sasha Mom
  • Sep 15, 2014
Modern take on Old New York charm at trendy Upper West Side hotel

Dressed in classic New York City architecture and fully renovated, the Excelsior Hotel places guests at the best of the trendy Upper West Side neighborhood in Manhattan. The hotel is less than a block away from the remarkable American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and the subway station. The Art Deco design of Excelsior adds charm and style to a stay, with guest rooms graced in shades of cream and some featuring French doors. In-room Wi-Fi, a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station ensure total comfort. 

Highlights

  • Unwind in the Entertainment Room, with a library, working fireplace, fitness center and surround-sound TV
  • Enjoy Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History right at the doorstep of the hotel
  • Kick back in-room with Wi-Fi (fees apply), a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station

Location

Excelsior brings the hip Upper West Side of Manhattan to life, with a location just a few steps from Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History. The subway is right around the corner.

Rooms

Old Manhattan chic and modern luxury meet at the totally renovated Excelsior, with standard to deluxe guest rooms tailored in dark woods and cream shades. Each includes a host of amenities, including Wi-Fi access (fees apply), a phone with voice mail, a 32-inch LCD TV with LodgeNet On-Demand movies, an iPod docking station with radio, Natura bath products, a hair-dryer and a safe. 

Features

Kick off an adventurous day with breakfast buffet dining (fees apply) at the Excelsior Hotel. Other services include a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, concierge services and express checkout.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Penn Station (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17.9 mi/28.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (19.4 mi/31.3 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Times Square (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (3 mi/4.8 km)

Business


  • Two rooms for small or mid-sized events, plus an event coordinator (fees apply)
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

  • Additional guest: All rates are based on double occupancy unless specified. A $20 USD charge is imposed for all guests 12 years and over.
  • Guests must be 21 years or older to register. Anyone younger than 21 years must be accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7832 -73.9737
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
LaGuardia International, Kennedy International, Newark International
Area description
Nearby Airports * New York LaGuardia International - 9 miles * New York Kennedy International - 17 miles * Newark (NJ) International - 19 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excelsior Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Excelsior Hotel Rooms

Classic Queen
Traditional Queen room is comfortable and decorated with modern elegance; perfect for the business traveler. Accommodations include 1 Queen bed, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V., in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathrooom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 230 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees
Double Double
Beautifully decorated with a modern flair. This spacious guest accommodation includes two double beds, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM and MP3 Alarm docking stations, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 270 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.
Excelsior Superior
Our interpretation of elegance, beautifully decorated with class. Superior guest accommodations include either 1 Queen bed or 2 Double beds, French Doors and a seating parlor, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. This impressive room is spaciously designed with approximately 370 square feet of living space. Has a courtyard view.
Excelsior Deluxe
This elegant room has 1 queen bed or 2 double beds or 1 king with pillow top mattresses. The room offers 470 square feet of living space. The bathroom includes a hair dryer, telephone, and complimentary toiletries. Wireless internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and a flat-screen TV with premium cable channels with pay movies and on demand video is offered Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.for your entertainment. You can relax in a separate seating parlor. A clock radio with an MP3 docking station and a laptop-compatible in-room safe are among the included amenities. Bed size depends upon availability. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.7 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.8 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.8 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.8 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.9 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1.1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Dining

Breakfast room
Breakfast is available from 7 AM to 11:30 AM for an additional fee.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (268)

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 268
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AstroKen
Business
Marshall, NC
May 24, 2012

Location was exemplary for my work trip.

The staff was very helpful since my flight arrived late at night and not all the train lines and subway lines were running. So, I had a very late check in. I was working at the American Museum of Natural History the following day and the location was perfect...out the door and across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent food choices just west of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kahea
Business
Nashville, TN
Oct 8, 2013

Best Upper Westside Hotel for the $$

I love the Excelsior Hotel! I have stayed here before and plan to again. The location is central and perfect for my business on the Upper Westside. Hotel is clean and staff very helpful. I even got a room upgrade. Bathroom a little small but rest of room spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Petersburg
Sep 10, 2008

Simple improvement

The inroom safe is on the floor of the closet and very inconvenient. Simply by raising the safe, would solve the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Con Leche is one of our favorite places for breakfast. Great cuban coffee and reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Knoxville
Oct 21, 2008

Visiting Columbia University

Our family was visiting Columbia University. Despite our unexpected late arrival, the staff was helpful and courteous. The room was nicer than I had hoped and the neighborhood was a perfect place to stay; safe to walk around at night. At the last moment, my daughter was able to join us, and the staff found a room larger.They did this quickly and cheerfully. The Excelsior was also a great buy. Finally,I am overly concerned with cleanliness when stay in a hotel and the Excelsior was immaculate. We will absolutely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Excelsior is very close to Central Park. Pack a frisbee in your suitcase !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
Jun 8, 2008

Pleasantly surprised. Excellent

The Excelsior Hotel is particularly convenient for me because I have relatives on the upper west side. But more important, the location, parking facilities, size of room, and wireless Internet service were far better than I would have expected in New York City. For New York it is also relatively quiet and very convenient to get any place in the City or the neighboring states. The in house breakfast was more than ample and a little expensive, but outside the prices were simlar so I guess they were not out of line. The parking at the American Museum of Natural History was a unique attraction and very valuable and a good value for the money in NYC. Next time I come to NYC, I will try to stay there again. The doormen were mostly helpful with regard to local restaurants, etc. I will recommend the Excelsior to all my friends who go to New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The American Museum of Natural History is right across the street and is a must see in New York. The Excelsior is also convenient to cross city buses to the Metropolitan Museum for example or elsewhere on the East Side.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, Virginia
Jul 18, 2009

Wonderful New York Hotel

there for a brief visit. Hotel is perfect, staff very helpful and accommodating. Quiet. Easy access to public transit. A great restaurant, Eighty-one, is attached, though independent, accessible through the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eighty-one... actually attached rather than in-hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bowie, MD
Feb 27, 2011

Really enjoyed my stay

I grew up in this neighborhood and have never understood what it was to stay in a hotel in my neighborhood. I felt as if I was at home again. very clean room great feel and the staff were great. Will always look for this stay the rate was fantastic also. Would recommend to all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 8, 2008

Old-fashioned & comfortable

Great spot if you have business at the American Museum of Natural History!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 12, 2007

very accomodating

I was very pleased with the timely manner they addressed any concerns. Everybody was very friendly and helpful. If I had to be in the area again, I would definitely stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park is at the end of the block and the other side of the block is Columbus Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 22, 2010

A great experience

We arrived early. The room (upgraded) was ready. The space was great. Shower was wonderful (good water pressure). Everything was clean. There was no view in our room, but I can go out to see the sights. The staff were great. The breakfast on the 2nd floor was lovely. They have a really helpful guide in the room to local places plus all the big attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The MOMA and Natural History Musem are really close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top