$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Sep 20, 2009

it was lovely! We were delighted

I'm not sure what the original room would have been because we were given a complimentary upgrade to the most elegant NYC room we'd ever seen--two huge rooms! Large living room with hide-a-bed and huge bed room. The bed was not the best we'd ever slept on but it was certainly good enough and the location, mostly the charm of an older but perfectly kept up and immaculate hotel with a nice enough restaurant (the breakfast is overpriced but there are so many others near by that it matters not at all) were just too wonderful to be true in NYC for such a reasonable price. It was wonderful!! one of the highlights of our son's wedding weekend! Incredibly comfortable and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

really neither short nor long, just a walk in NYC--marvelous restaurants of all sorts. some fabulous breakfast places, tiny bakery/cafe that was wonderful, on Amsterdam between 81st and 103rd. there are others closer too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Quakertown,Pa
Apr 22, 2009

great service and location!

We were there for a reunion with my oldest daughter that has been overseas for 1 yr. I chose this hotel because it was near her and the location was great! I will definitly stay there again. The staff was very accomodating and even upgraded us to a suite for the same price and it was very clean. I have nothing bad to say about this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

across the street fron the natural museum of history and across central park (short walk) to the Met. museum of art and easy access to subway and buses to go anywhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barb03
Business
Lake Monticello, VA
Feb 9, 2010

Might be the best value in Manhattan

It would be hard to find a more charming hotel at the price of the Excelsior. The staff is helpful and courteous. Our room was larger than we'd had elsewhere in the city at this price, well appointed and spotless. A great location -- near Central Park, so it's a short walk to the East Side. For meals, the hotel serves continental breakfast in a lovely setting, the elegant Cafe 81 is next door, and there different types of restaurants within easy reach. Nearby bus and subway lines get you around the city with ease.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

You can walk to the Metropolitan Musuem of Art, Guggenheim and Museum of Natural History. It's a short bus ride down Columbus Ave. to Lincoln Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patricia Loves to Travel
Business
Long Island, NY
Mar 6, 2011

Best Hotel Experience Ever!

Besides being an avid traveller, I worked at a 5 star hotel when I was younger. My stay at the Excelsior Hotel exceeded my expectations. The hotel was immaculate. The room was a piece of art and warm at the same time. The front staff and the bell staff gave 5 star treatment to us that even impressed ME! (I expect the highest customer service.) I have travelled all over the world as well as my sister and we both agreed that the Excelsior Hotel was the best hotel experience we ever had! We agreed that the next birthday bash we will stay in the city again at the Excelsior Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Myers, FL
Jul 25, 2007

My review of Excelsior Hotel

Large well maintained room with convenient location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

across the street for the Museum of Natural History

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marina del Rey, California
Dec 5, 2009

First Class Everything!

Better than expected facilities. Central Park West; across from The Museum of Natural History. Very safe neighborhood. Friendly Staff. Very clean. The room was very large for a New York Hotel room. Highly recommended. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 17, 2008

Great location

Everything about the Excelsior was top notch. The staff, amenities, and the fabulous location. Right by Central Park and wonderful neighborhoods with great restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to wonderful restaurants of all kinds, and right across the street from the Museum of Natural History.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 7, 2008

Great value.

We were upgraded to a junior suite, so the value for the $ was outstanding. We also looked at a standard room and think it would have been very comfortable as well. The bathrooms for both the junior suite and standard room were very roomy for NY City, and actually had plenty of places to put things. All in all, a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Museum of Natural History. Also, two of our favorite upper west side restaurants, Isabella's and Nice Matin. Also lots of botique shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Aug 15, 2007

Very Nice Hotel

Compared to what else is out there, this was a clean room and good value. Walking distance to several restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice breakfast srea within the hotel on the second floor

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 16, 2008

Beautiful Location

The Excelsior Hotel was one of our favorite places that we have stayed in New York City. The location was perfect - a beautiful area just steps from the Museum of Natural History, Central Park, numerous restaurants, and the subway. Our room was very cozy, comfortable, and spacious. It felt much like a guest room in a gorgeous historic home. The staff was pleasant and extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top