$225 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
425 reviews
Nice Hotel

We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, but it was a cozy, comfortable hotel and the... See full review

  • bvdrummer
  • May 31, 2014
Perfect for overnight stay

This hotel was a perfect! Not only did we get an upgraded room we had an amazing view as well.. The... See full review

  • AmandaMong
  • Apr 8, 2014
Modern take on Old New York charm at trendy Upper West Side hotel

Dressed in classic New York City architecture and fully renovated, the Excelsior Hotel places guests at the best of the trendy Upper West Side neighborhood in Manhattan. The hotel is less than a block away from the remarkable American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and the subway station. The Art Deco design of Excelsior adds charm and style to a stay, with guest rooms graced in shades of cream and some featuring French doors. In-room Wi-Fi, a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station ensure total comfort. 

Highlights

  • Unwind in the Entertainment Room, with a library, working fireplace, fitness center and surround-sound TV
  • Enjoy Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History right at the doorstep of the hotel
  • Kick back in-room with Wi-Fi (fees apply), a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station

Location

Excelsior brings the hip Upper West Side of Manhattan to life, with a location just a few steps from Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History. The subway is right around the corner.

Rooms

Old Manhattan chic and modern luxury meet at the totally renovated Excelsior, with standard to deluxe guest rooms tailored in dark woods and cream shades. Each includes a host of amenities, including Wi-Fi access (fees apply), a phone with voice mail, a 32-inch LCD TV with LodgeNet On-Demand movies, an iPod docking station with radio, Natura bath products, a hair-dryer and a safe. 

Features

Kick off an adventurous day with breakfast buffet dining (fees apply) at the Excelsior Hotel. Other services include a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, concierge services and express checkout.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Penn Station (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17.9 mi/28.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (19.4 mi/31.3 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Times Square (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (3 mi/4.8 km)

Business


  • Two rooms for small or mid-sized events, plus an event coordinator (fees apply)
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

  • Additional guest: All rates are based on double occupancy unless specified. A $20 USD charge is imposed for all guests 12 years and over.
  • Guests must be 21 years or older to register. Anyone younger than 21 years must be accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Excelsior Hotel Rooms

Classic Queen
Traditional Queen room is comfortable and decorated with modern elegance; perfect for the business traveler. Accommodations include 1 Queen bed, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V., in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathrooom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 230 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees
Double Double
Beautifully decorated with a modern flair. This spacious guest accommodation includes two double beds, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM and MP3 Alarm docking stations, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 270 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.
Excelsior Superior
Our interpretation of elegance, beautifully decorated with class. Superior guest accommodations include either 1 Queen bed or 2 Double beds, French Doors and a seating parlor, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. This impressive room is spaciously designed with approximately 370 square feet of living space. Has a courtyard view.
Excelsior Deluxe
This elegant room has 1 queen bed or 2 double beds or 1 king with pillow top mattresses. The room offers 470 square feet of living space. The bathroom includes a hair dryer, telephone, and complimentary toiletries. Wireless internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and a flat-screen TV with premium cable channels with pay movies and on demand video is offered Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.for your entertainment. You can relax in a separate seating parlor. A clock radio with an MP3 docking station and a laptop-compatible in-room safe are among the included amenities. Bed size depends upon availability. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excelsior Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7832 -73.9737
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
LaGuardia International, Kennedy International, Newark International
Area description
Nearby Airports * New York LaGuardia International - 9 miles * New York Kennedy International - 17 miles * Newark (NJ) International - 19 miles

Nearby points of interest

  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.7 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.8 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.8 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.8 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.9 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1.1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms available.

Dining

Breakfast room
Breakfast is available from 7 AM to 11:30 AM for an additional fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (425)

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
425 out of 425
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barb03
Lake Monticello, VA
Feb 9, 2010

Might be the best value in Manhattan

It would be hard to find a more charming hotel at the price of the Excelsior. The staff is helpful and courteous. Our room was larger than we'd had elsewhere in the city at this price, well appointed and spotless. A great location -- near Central Park, so it's a short walk to the East Side. For meals, the hotel serves continental breakfast in a lovely setting, the elegant Cafe 81 is next door, and there different types of restaurants within easy reach. Nearby bus and subway lines get you around the city with ease.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

You can walk to the Metropolitan Musuem of Art, Guggenheim and Museum of Natural History. It's a short bus ride down Columbus Ave. to Lincoln Center.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hairong
Newark, NJ
Aug 5, 2007

Great NYC value

The Excelsior hotel has the greatest location if you like Central Park and Museums. The room we had was not big, but comfortable for two. The bathroom was very clean and the shower was excellent. The bed was clean and very comfortable. The carpet was not new, but clean enough. The hotel has a restaurant serving breakfast only, but we didn't try it since there are so many great places to dine nearby. The only issue we had was the old fashioned aircon which was a little bit loud at night. Nervertheless it is a great valued NYC hotel and highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park is one block away and the American Museum of Natural History is just across the street. Isabella's has the best Sunday Brunch in town is short walk up the street.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Knoxville
Oct 21, 2008

Visiting Columbia University

Our family was visiting Columbia University. Despite our unexpected late arrival, the staff was helpful and courteous. The room was nicer than I had hoped and the neighborhood was a perfect place to stay; safe to walk around at night. At the last moment, my daughter was able to join us, and the staff found a room larger.They did this quickly and cheerfully. The Excelsior was also a great buy. Finally,I am overly concerned with cleanliness when stay in a hotel and the Excelsior was immaculate. We will absolutely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Excelsior is very close to Central Park. Pack a frisbee in your suitcase !

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 17, 2008

My review of Excelsior Hotel

The Excelsior Hotel in New York City was very comfortable, clean well maintained. Located within a five-ten minute, safe, walking distance from subways, buses, Central Park, and several eating and drinking places. Parking is a major problem, the hotel has none. Parking is across the street at a major museum at a discount, 25.00 per day, and no in and out. My only complaint is with the desk staff. Mainly the afternoon male. He is not friendly and acts like he is king. We asked a couple of questions and direction and it was like, who are you to ask me questions. He was snooty and almost rude to the point we did not deal with the desk staff again. The doorman was great and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You don,t need a car. Public transportation can take you anywhere and cabs are used mostly. Subways are safe and efficient.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 12, 2007

Quiet & Classy

The Excelsior is very well-maintained and the staff is excellent -- very friendly and helpful. It's a terrific location. The room I stayed in was rather small, but certainly not cramped. The fitness center is very small. The room was very quiet. I could not hear anyone above me or next door (except the one evening when teenage girls ran up and down the hall shrieking because Johnny Depp was staying somewhere on our floor.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location, the upper west side. Across the street from the Natural History Museum (Dinosaurs!), and around the corner from the Modern Art Museum. One block from Central Park, and plenty of shops, cafes, bars, and restaurants 1-3 blocks east.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 17, 2008

My review of Excelsior Hotel

The Excelsior Hotel in New York City was very comfortable, clean well maintained. Located within a five-ten minute, safe, walking distance from subways, buses, Central Park, and several eating and drinking places. Parking is a major problem, the hotel has none. Parking is across the street at a major museum at a discount, 25.00 per day, and no in and out. My only complaint is with the desk staff. Mainly the afternoon male. He is not friendly and acts like he is king. We asked a couple of questions and direction and it was like, who are you to ask me questions. He was snooty and almost rude to the point we did not deal with the desk staff again. The doorman was great and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You don,t need a car. Public transportation can take you anywhere and cabs are used mostly. Subways are safe and efficient.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marion, S. C.
Feb 16, 2011

Valentine's Trip

My wife and I spent several days around Valentine's day this year at the Excelsior Hotel. We had wanted to stay somewhere on the Upper West side of NYC for some time and we were completely satisfied with the Excelsior Hotel's accomodations, service from the Staff, and convenient location. We will definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Carmine's Italian restaurant was a wonderful experience. This family style restaurant is all about good food and fun. They do not accept reservations on the weekend. If you plan on going, please be hungry!

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Mar 19, 2008

Great Location

The Excelsior Hotel is in a great location near Central Park and the Subway. We had a dramatic view from the 15th floor over the Natural History Museum grounds of the Manhattan skyline. The room was well furnished, clean and comfortable. There were a few minor snags. The NY network stations had terrible reception and the heating/a/c system didn't function too well. Our room was warm (in March) and we slept with the window open - the a/c didn't work correctly. Nonetheless we were comfortable and will definitely stay at the Excelsior whenever we go to Manhattan from now on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The New Wave Cafe on Broadway between 78th and 79th is our favorite place on this part of the west side for breakfast. It is a couple blocks away but worth the walk- a small local cafe with excellent food and service.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Aug 11, 2007

My review of Excelsior Hotel

We had a lovely suite that was comfortable and had a good shower. Great location and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Natural History Museum across the street.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Naperville
Oct 13, 2008

Pleasant surprise

I was very surprised by the size of the room, considering it was in NYC (typically tiny and cramped)The room was clean, the beds comfortable, the bathroom large, light and well stocked with toiletries. I wish the windows had screens and there had been one of those handy small grocery stores that one usually finds around the corner. The food in the dining room was excellent but rather pricey. However, the location was great, right across from the park, a short walk to the subway and Natural History Museum. The staff was very helpful and the lobby, very inviting and comfortable. I would definitely stay at the Excelsior again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Natural History was a few minutes away. It may be my new favorite museum in NYC. We went on a tour and had the best docent I've encountered. Central Park is right across the street and there were many small shops in the area.

Back to menu Return to top