$278 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
313 out of 313
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Sep 1, 2007

great value and comfort

The Excelsior was very comfortable, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly and the location was terrific. The room and the bathroom were huge! We were staying for the US Open and the proximity to the Metro was perfect. Lots of area boutiques and shopping as well as good restaurants. Neighborhood was a quiet, family friendly area with a museum across the street. I would pick this neighborhood over Times Square or other populated areas in a heartbeat...less noise for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York, NY
Oct 5, 2007

Very pleasant hotel in good location - one block away from subway;

Nice room, good staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Next to Museum of Natural History. Easy to get cabs.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Resi
Family
Wilton, CT
Mar 3, 2009

Great family hotel

This hotel is gorgeous. The rooms were very nice, clean. The staff was very nice. The location is awesome. The breakfast was delicious our kids loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Natural history is right across the street :-)

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 2, 2007

Classy and Clean!

The Excelsior exceeded my expectations. It was clean, classy, convenient and quiet. I chose it because my boyfriend is a light sleeper and I wanted somewhere quiet to slumber and being on the Upper West Side near the park I thought this would guarantee us a good night's rest. We both slept like rocks! The decor was classical (chairs, desk and night stand) the bedding comfortable and luxurious (jaquard and down comforter) and the bathroom (a separate room from the bedroom with bathtub) spotless and quaint. If you want the hustle and bustle of Downtown and Greenwich Village, stay down there. But then again, who stays in their hotel rooms when in NYC? One block from Central Park, the B Train and 3 blocks from the 1 & 2 trains, which take you everywhere. Lastly, the staff was very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fabulous Deli - Leni's Deli on Columbus @ 83rd St. Nonna's - Italian Restaurant on 520 Colubmus Avenue - Great outdoor dining - must eat the antipasto platter

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Dallas, TX
Aug 11, 2007

My review of Excelsior Hotel

We had a lovely suite that was comfortable and had a good shower. Great location and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Natural History Museum across the street.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Aug 2, 2007

Great Location and Reasonable

This hotel was just what we were looking for. A quite, clean and reasonably priced place on the Upper West Side. Staff were not overly friendly but, hey, it's New York. They were, however, professional and efficient. The restaurant was over priced but that was not important given that there's hundreds of good places within walking distance. I would stay there again without a doubt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There's museums, restaurants, subway grocery and etc.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Oct 17, 2008

My review of Excelsior Hotel

The Excelsior Hotel in New York City was very comfortable, clean well maintained. Located within a five-ten minute, safe, walking distance from subways, buses, Central Park, and several eating and drinking places. Parking is a major problem, the hotel has none. Parking is across the street at a major museum at a discount, 25.00 per day, and no in and out. My only complaint is with the desk staff. Mainly the afternoon male. He is not friendly and acts like he is king. We asked a couple of questions and direction and it was like, who are you to ask me questions. He was snooty and almost rude to the point we did not deal with the desk staff again. The doorman was great and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You don,t need a car. Public transportation can take you anywhere and cabs are used mostly. Subways are safe and efficient.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
seniors who love the ny scene
Couples
mass.
Jun 22, 2009

The nicest small hotel in New York

Great location. Easy to cab from, or walk to the Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

breakfast available in hotel

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Lawrence, KS
Sep 9, 2008

Great hotel and location

The Excelsior is a lovely, older (but refurbished)hotel in the best neighborhood in the city, I think.I grew up in NY but now come as a tourist and have stayed in other areas but I love the upper West side--lots of great restaurants, shops,access to the subway, bus and and block away from Central park! I would have liked a coffee maker in the room but there are plenty of places nearby. would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Too many great places to name on Columbus Ave., Amsterdam Ave. and Broadway. Take your pick of any ethnic food and its there! I will mention Land Thai and Celeste's (italian) on Amsterdam and Arti's Deli on Broadway.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hairong
Couples
Newark, NJ
Aug 5, 2007

Great NYC value

The Excelsior hotel has the greatest location if you like Central Park and Museums. The room we had was not big, but comfortable for two. The bathroom was very clean and the shower was excellent. The bed was clean and very comfortable. The carpet was not new, but clean enough. The hotel has a restaurant serving breakfast only, but we didn't try it since there are so many great places to dine nearby. The only issue we had was the old fashioned aircon which was a little bit loud at night. Nervertheless it is a great valued NYC hotel and highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park is one block away and the American Museum of Natural History is just across the street. Isabella's has the best Sunday Brunch in town is short walk up the street.

Back to menu Return to top