$218 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
262 reviews
Amazing Hotel in Great Location

The hotel was great and in the perfect location, central to everything I was doing in NYC. Very... See full review

  • JJ83
  • Aug 22, 2014
Wonderful central local

From the first step out of the taxi, the staff was cheerful, happy to assist me and courteous... See full review

  • JackiK
  • Aug 12, 2014
Modern take on Old New York charm at trendy Upper West Side hotel

Dressed in classic New York City architecture and fully renovated, the Excelsior Hotel places guests at the best of the trendy Upper West Side neighborhood in Manhattan. The hotel is less than a block away from the remarkable American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and the subway station. The Art Deco design of Excelsior adds charm and style to a stay, with guest rooms graced in shades of cream and some featuring French doors. In-room Wi-Fi, a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station ensure total comfort. 

Highlights

  • Unwind in the Entertainment Room, with a library, working fireplace, fitness center and surround-sound TV
  • Enjoy Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History right at the doorstep of the hotel
  • Kick back in-room with Wi-Fi (fees apply), a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station

Location

Excelsior brings the hip Upper West Side of Manhattan to life, with a location just a few steps from Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History. The subway is right around the corner.

Rooms

Old Manhattan chic and modern luxury meet at the totally renovated Excelsior, with standard to deluxe guest rooms tailored in dark woods and cream shades. Each includes a host of amenities, including Wi-Fi access (fees apply), a phone with voice mail, a 32-inch LCD TV with LodgeNet On-Demand movies, an iPod docking station with radio, Natura bath products, a hair-dryer and a safe. 

Features

Kick off an adventurous day with breakfast buffet dining (fees apply) at the Excelsior Hotel. Other services include a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, concierge services and express checkout.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Penn Station (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17.9 mi/28.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (19.4 mi/31.3 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Times Square (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (3 mi/4.8 km)

Business


  • Two rooms for small or mid-sized events, plus an event coordinator (fees apply)
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

  • Additional guest: All rates are based on double occupancy unless specified. A $20 USD charge is imposed for all guests 12 years and over.
  • Guests must be 21 years or older to register. Anyone younger than 21 years must be accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7832 -73.9737
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
LaGuardia International, Kennedy International, Newark International
Area description
Nearby Airports * New York LaGuardia International - 9 miles * New York Kennedy International - 17 miles * Newark (NJ) International - 19 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excelsior Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Excelsior Hotel Rooms

Classic Queen
Traditional Queen room is comfortable and decorated with modern elegance; perfect for the business traveler. Accommodations include 1 Queen bed, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V., in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathrooom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 230 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees
Double Double
Beautifully decorated with a modern flair. This spacious guest accommodation includes two double beds, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM and MP3 Alarm docking stations, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 270 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.
Excelsior Superior
Our interpretation of elegance, beautifully decorated with class. Superior guest accommodations include either 1 Queen bed or 2 Double beds, French Doors and a seating parlor, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. This impressive room is spaciously designed with approximately 370 square feet of living space. Has a courtyard view.
Excelsior Deluxe
This elegant room has 1 queen bed or 2 double beds or 1 king with pillow top mattresses. The room offers 470 square feet of living space. The bathroom includes a hair dryer, telephone, and complimentary toiletries. Wireless internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and a flat-screen TV with premium cable channels with pay movies and on demand video is offered Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.for your entertainment. You can relax in a separate seating parlor. A clock radio with an MP3 docking station and a laptop-compatible in-room safe are among the included amenities. Bed size depends upon availability. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.7 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.8 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.8 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.8 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.9 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1.1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms available.

Dining

Breakfast room
Breakfast is available from 7 AM to 11:30 AM for an additional fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (262)

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
262 out of 262
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Louisville, KY
Jun 21, 2009

Great place, great location, great value

Our stay at the Excelsior Hotel was wonderful. The staff is friendly, courteous, and accommodating. The continental breakfast is plentiful and a bargain. The room was clean and spacious. A complimentary copy of The New York Times can be delivered to your room door every weekday morning. The Excelsior is located within a short walking distance of Central Park, the Museum of Natural History, and subway stations. We highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Numerous shops and services on Columbus Avenue near the hotel.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado Springs
Nov 15, 2008

Best location

Had a very positive experience, nice stuff, beautiful interior of the hall and room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Roswell, GA
Apr 22, 2009

Charm and Comfort

We checked in with "lost" baggage...they were kind enough to be on the look out for it... and when they finally delivered it, kept it safe until we could take it up. The room was great..they upgraded us to a larger room because Orbitz did not offer us the accomodation that fit our number of people when we booked the room. The Jr. Suite was a sitting room/pull out couch with a queen(2 beds)bedroom. The bathroom was the prettiest , cleanest white tile with little pastel flowers...the towels were large and fluffy and the bathrobes were comfy! We liked the old world comfort of the hotel---it was like a "Hotel"...and the staff was very nice;; they gave us directions to a diner for breakfast and to the subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway entry at the end of the block...subways take dollar bills, Buses take only change...beware!

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cotuit
Aug 22, 2008

Awesome location, very clean!

This hotel was very clean and the location was perfect. They were polishing all the lobby woodwork when we were leaving. The reistration staff was not particularly friendly, but we were just happy to be in New York and forgave his bad mood!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

visit Nonna restaurant on 85 and Columbus...amazing food!

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Mar 16, 2008

Great Hotel in NYC

The Excelsior Hotel on W 81st street close to Central Park is a real find. Located in a great neighborhood in the Upper West Side, it has a lot of wonderful shops and restaurants on Columbus and Amsterdam Avenues--within easy walking distance of the hotel. It is very easy to walk through the park to get to the Metrolpolitan Museaum of Art and other top-notch museums on the East side of the Park-- on Fifth Avenue. The room was fine and the service was excellent. We will stay there whenever we come to New York in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two great restaurants, Scaletta's and Isabel's, are located less than ten minutes away on 77th Street and Columbus Avenue.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Carolina
Sep 20, 2009

it was lovely! We were delighted

I'm not sure what the original room would have been because we were given a complimentary upgrade to the most elegant NYC room we'd ever seen--two huge rooms! Large living room with hide-a-bed and huge bed room. The bed was not the best we'd ever slept on but it was certainly good enough and the location, mostly the charm of an older but perfectly kept up and immaculate hotel with a nice enough restaurant (the breakfast is overpriced but there are so many others near by that it matters not at all) were just too wonderful to be true in NYC for such a reasonable price. It was wonderful!! one of the highlights of our son's wedding weekend! Incredibly comfortable and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

really neither short nor long, just a walk in NYC--marvelous restaurants of all sorts. some fabulous breakfast places, tiny bakery/cafe that was wonderful, on Amsterdam between 81st and 103rd. there are others closer too.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelingHatter
Orlando, FL
Dec 18, 2011

Upper West Side Charm

The Excelsior Hotel is located on W. 81st Street; directly across the street from the Hayden Planetrium (which is a part of the American Museum of National History) and is one-half block from Central Park. Both bus and subway transportation are conveniently located from mere steps to a few short blocks away and provide access to near everywhere in Manhattan. The area is filled with shops, boutiques, and wonderful restaurants of nearly every type of cuisine imaginable. Two of the most enjoyable restaurants are the Ocean Grill for seafood and Bellini for Italian fare. The Magnolia Bakery is within walking distance should one desire specialty cupcakes; and even closer to the hotel is Lalo's which offers an immense selection of desserts. Lalo's was featured in the movie "You've Got Mail." There are two coffee shops within a half block (Starbuck's, and World Coffee which I highly recommend as World is less expensive than Starbuck's and has sandwiches, salads, breakfast items, and pastries on the menu; not to mention the delicious coffee. Andy's deli is a half block away and is handy for freshly made sandwiches, and for purchasing snacks, soda's, and other food items to have on hand in the hotel room. The hotel was recently refurbished, so the decor looks fresh and new. The rooms are tastefully appointed and include comfortable pillow top beds and fluffy pillows. Bath towels and toiletries are plentiful and hot water flowed instantly from the shower and sink. The room has good thermostatic controls and there was always such a blast of hot air that I turned the heat off many times as the room was comfortable even in the middle of December. The staff could not have been more helpful. All of my requests were responded to immediately including sending maintainence to unstop a clogged toilet. A member of my family decided to stay with me at the hotel, so I inquired about upgrading my twin room to accommodate an additional person. They offered me a suite at no extra charge. The suite was wonderful and included spa robes. I was never charged for the few pages that I printed from the guest computer either. Check out was a breeze and my bill was correct. This was my second stay at the Excelsior and I would not stay anywhere else. For those looking for ambiance and charm and a quieter setting than Mid-town Manhattan, this is the place to stay. The only drawbacks of the hotel is that the ice machines are located on the 1st, 3rd and 11th floors only, and the vending machines are only on the 1st floor next to the ice machine. The businness center for guests to access the computer is one computer in the area the size of a closet but the internet was fast. The hotel has a restaurant which offers Spanish cusine that is supposed to be quite good but in the mornings, a continental breakfast is offered for the price of $17.00. However, it is not an issue with the other eateries so close to the hotel. There are no mini refrigerators in the rooms (not even in the suite) but guests can request one for a cost of $10.00 per day or there-a-bouts. However, the wonderful staff and service, the comfortable and newly decorated rooms, and the convenient location are well worth over-looking a few minor details. The Excelsior is a rare find in Manhattan and I look forward to my next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Novato
Oct 19, 2008

Pretty hotel in great location

Even though the tiny twin-bedded room I shared with my daughter was expensive, and the location is great: on the Upper West Side around the corner from the Museum of Natural History and just a block from Central Park. The room was immaculate, and it looks like the entire hotel has recently been redone. The bath featured sparkling new ceramic tile and nice toiletries, and the beds had four (!) pillows each, two of which were luxurious linens. You can barely get around one of the beds to get to the good-sized closet which had a safe and plenty of hangers. The TV armoire had several drawers for storage. There is an ominous sign on the mini-bar which warns that you will be charged if you touch anything for more than 20 seconds, so no food storage in that refrigerator! One complaint is that there is no coffee pot in the room, and the continental breakfast is expensive, although I found out that you can purchase a cup of coffee for $2. The independent restaurant 81 and bar in the hotel are wonderful with delicious and imaginative food, much of which is organic or locally sourced, attentive service and a happening bar. The concierge is helpful and very friendly. There is a great craft fair in the park across the street from the hotel in the summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just west of the hotel, Columbus and Amsterdam Avenues are filled with boutiques of all kinds and a wide variety of small restaurants and bars. It is fun to just walk around and explore.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Mar 19, 2008

Great Location

The Excelsior Hotel is in a great location near Central Park and the Subway. We had a dramatic view from the 15th floor over the Natural History Museum grounds of the Manhattan skyline. The room was well furnished, clean and comfortable. There were a few minor snags. The NY network stations had terrible reception and the heating/a/c system didn't function too well. Our room was warm (in March) and we slept with the window open - the a/c didn't work correctly. Nonetheless we were comfortable and will definitely stay at the Excelsior whenever we go to Manhattan from now on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The New Wave Cafe on Broadway between 78th and 79th is our favorite place on this part of the west side for breakfast. It is a couple blocks away but worth the walk- a small local cafe with excellent food and service.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 10, 2007

Great location

The hotel is located a half block from Central Park, across the street from the Natural History Museum with a subway stop on the corner and the #1 line 3 blocks away. This made it easy to get around. The room we had was small but it was on the top floor with a fantastic view of the Park and the city skyline. The room and hotel were very well appointed and maintained. There are many fine restaurants and pubs in the neighborhood in all price ranges. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search